The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. David Chen Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. David Chen?

Ratings and Reviews

31 Ratings with 7 Comments

  • Excellent
    10
  • Great
    6
  • Good
    4
  • Poor
    4
  • Bad
    7
  • Excellent
    10
  • Great
    6
  • Good
    4
  • Poor
    4
  • Bad
    7

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
34.6 min

Showing 31 Ratings with 7 Comments

4.0 Rating

May 17th, 2016

Dr. Chen took the time to explain to me the options for my hernia repair, and why he thought the approach he suggested would be the safest for me. He explained about the surgery he would do, and answered my questions about using mesh, potential complications, and how he would minimize the risk in my particular case. I really appreciated that.

Wait time
55 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 19th, 2015

Very arrogant, uncaring surgeon.

Dr. Chen performed a laproscopic surgery on me. Although the surgery was successful I had a few complications during my recovery. Dr.Chen does not return phone calls or emails. Once the surgery is over he could care less. Not sure why a fabulous facility like UCLA would employ such Dr.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 29th, 2015

Excellent surgeon, excellent results

Dr. Chen was called in to assist in my Da Vinci Robotically assisted surgery at UCLA Santa Monica Hospital. I did not meet Dr. Chen until after his participation in my surgery. Dr. Chen was professional, knowledgeable and empathetic. Due to his involvement in my surgery, potentially severe complications were totally avoided. Dr. Chen and his staff made many visits to my hospital room in the days following my procedure. He explained his involvement and stayed extremely involved in my follow up care. Approximately two weeks post surgery I met with him for a post op appointment and once again he was extremely professional and helpful in answering all of my questions. I have the highest praise for Dr. Chen, his associates and the entire staff at UCLA Santa Monica Hospital.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 25th, 2015

Negligence And Bad Decisions

Dr. Chen performed a surgical procedure on my mother, who was a very fragile patient at 83 years old, with COPD. Because of bad decisions on his part, in conjunction with her pre-existing condition, bad post op supervision, and hospital negligence, she passed away 5 days after the procedure. I decided not to sue him or the hospital, as because of the technicalities, success was improbable, and I am not litigenous. Post-op, her case was supervised almost exclusively by inept residents who were working under him. On the day that she passed away, Dr. Chen elected to go to a speaking engagement rather than be present in the ICU. When I called recently to discuss his handling of the case, he never called me back. Obviously, I would recommend that anyone considering using him as a surgeon strongly reconsider their decision.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 27th, 2014

Unresponsive
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

March 28th, 2013

Dr. Chen is an incredibly talented, warm hearted and caring surgeon. He performed an emergency cecal volvulus for me (removing a portion of my intestines) laparoscopically. I cannot recommend Dr. Chen enough - he's just an incredible doctor and person.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 15th, 2012

I am the caregiver and rep for my adult son who has special needs. My son has had over 2 years of critical health issues including pain from a scar. Dr Chen was compassionate,sensitive and very professional in agreeing to explore the cause of severe pain in an old scar for my son. Today he proved that young.brilliant...inquisitive..and compassionate are the best trait to have to care for patients.I wish I had a bull horn to yell his praises.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

January 31st, 2017

4.0 Rating

January 31st, 2017

3.0 Rating

December 19th, 2016

2.0 Rating

December 15th, 2016

2.0 Rating

October 28th, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. David Chen is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Los Angeles, CA.

  • Dr. Mu Xu

    General Surgery, Residency

    Los Angeles, CA 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (1)
  • Dr. Tamara Grisales

    Dr. Tamara Grisales

    Obstetrics and Gynecology, General Surgery, Residency

    Los Angeles, CA 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (3)
    10
  • Dr. Hassan Khalil

    General Surgery

    Los Angeles, CA 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    7