Dr. David Markowitz, MD
Gastroenterologist
25 years of experience
Video profile
Accepting new patients
Washington Heights
Columbia Univ. Med Ctr
161 Fort Washington Ave
New York, NY 10032
212-305-1024
Locations and availability (3)

Patient Reviews ?

Overall Rating:
3.5
  • Currently 3.5 of 4 stars
Total Ratings

20

Total Reviews

9

Ratings
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Ease of Appointment:
  • Currently 2.875 of 4 stars
Promptness:
  • Currently 3.0769230769231 of 4 stars
Courteous Staff:
  • Currently 3.25 of 4 stars
Accurate Diagnosis:
  • Currently 3.5625 of 4 stars
Bedside Manner:
  • Currently 3.4375 of 4 stars
Spends Time with Me:
  • Currently 3.4375 of 4 stars
Follows Up After Visit:
  • Currently 3.5 of 4 stars
Average Wait: 20 minutes
Some ratings provided by DrScore.
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
May 25th, 2014

best doctor ive ever been to. excellent bedside manner, very calm and compassionate. highly recommend dr markowitz

  • Currently 2 of 4 stars
 |  too focused on his science  |  show details
Mar 22nd, 2014

An absolutist when it comes to evidence. If he can't prove you have something, you don't have it. Does not accept the diagnosis of laryngopharyngeal reflux disease.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Great Doctor! Not so great Insurance carriers accepted!  |  show details
Aug 26th, 2012

Dr Markowitz is a brilliant doctor. I only wish he accepted more insurance carriers.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Jul 22nd, 2012

Dr. Markowitz is, by far, the best doctor I have ever met. He is brillant in his work and is bedside manner is so kind and caring that you forget he is a doctor. Would absolutely recommend him to family and friends.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Excellent Doctor!  |  show details
Jan 1st, 2011

I highly recommend Dr. Markowitz.I have been using him for years and find him extremely pleasant to deal with. He has excellent bedside manner. He is extremely knowledgeable on all the latest procedures/medications out there.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Jun 22nd, 2010

I have used Dr. Markowitz since 2004. He was the only doctor who could cure my C Diff. He thinks out of the box. He found a drug that was recently approved. It was used in Italy. He added it to my antibiotic and cured me. Have had several Diverticulitis attacks he treated. Efficient kind staff always arranged for tests immediately.He returns calls to patients within 15 to 30 minutes. He is the Best Doctor I have ever had.He is very kind. He is a gem

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Jun 20th, 2010

the best! very patient and compassionate.

  • Currently 3 of 4 stars
 |  Fine medical skills but long wait and not that personable  |  show details
Dec 17th, 2009

As mentioned, I believe you will be medically in fine hands. A little consideration and explaining would go a long way. Seems like he's a "procedure machine".

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Colonoscopy  |  show details
Mar 25th, 2008

I underwent a colonoscopy today. It was a very pleasant experience. This is the 3rd colonoscopy I have had with this physician. He has always been kind and provided more than appropriate sedation, information and a caring manner. The nursing staff was also professional and caring.