Dr. David Cohen MD Patient Reviews

  • Dermatology New York, NY

Overall Rating

3.7
  • 59 patient ratings
  • 16 comments

Last 12 months:

2.4 (-1.3)

16 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    58%
  • Satisfied
    7%
  • Neutral
    5%
  • Dissatisfied
    10%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    20%
  • Wait Time 42.6 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

2.0 of 5
April 24th, 2017
Staff Lack of Responsiveness / Follow Up
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor is very friendly and personable and makes you feel comfortable in the office. The three biggest problems are: (1) office staff, particularly Pamela, does not follow up or address or answer follow up questions. There is a complete failure of responsiveness. When the office staff (Pamela) finally did get back to me, they accidentally sent me another patient's data which made me feel concerned for the security of my own medical information. (2) They do not accept any insurance so you have to pay several thousand out of pocket and it is not worth it given the lack of office staff responsiveness. (3) The wait time is often an hour or more after your scheduled appointment time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 17th, 2017
Horrible on follow up appointments
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Has no consideration for follow up appointments. I traveled out of state and waited 3 hours for my appointment and was still not acknowledged. Very costly out of pocket charges for each appointment as well and didn't get any other information that I was getting from local dermatologist.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
June 10th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was so disappointed. After driving 22 hours one way, to see Dr. Cohen. I had already been dx with multiple skin allergies and needed more extensive patch testing, and I wanted a confirmed dx of chronic Irritant contact dermatitis. I also have multiple chemical sensitivity and had to sleep in my car, all 4 nights. I developed irritation and allergies after a yag laser, on face, neck, chest and tops of arms, that damaged my face, and cause ICD and ACD, and I needed help. I didn't get a dx or more patch testing, and no derm, in the southern US, does patch test extensively. He knew this was the reason I came to see him. He did do a biopsy and it took 5 weeks to get the results. He did do a skin biopsy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
March 31st, 2016
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
The worst part is the wait time. Not only do they call you about 20mins before your appointment to tell you they are running about an hour behind, when you get there, you have to wait another hour!!! This is ridiculous and has happened EVERY appointment (of which I had about 6). Will not be seeing him again especially since he doesn't accept my insurance.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 27th, 2016
Great Doctor
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. David Cohen is the most caring and likable and smart doctor anyone could have. He is worth the sometimes longer wait.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 7th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very friendly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 4th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This office is horrible! Ive been to the office twice and waiting an hr and a half each time. They are extremely rude and do not care about their patients or time management. Don't go to this office!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 20th, 2014
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have multiple chronic diseases and conditions, which can be a turnoff to many doctors. These individuals don't want to deal with a patient taking medications that may be contraindicated with their "usual" way of treating what I'm being seen for. Dr. Cohen looks at me as a whole person. Yes, I have other issues, but that's just part of me, and something he's going to work around, even if he has to say " I don't know, " and look something up while I'm sitting there. Extremely reassuring. I have contact dermatitis, and SEVERE Allergies to some products commonly found in topical medications. That's no problem for him- he always checks the ingredients in what he prescribes- again, looking it up with me sitting in his office. When something can't be found in that class, I see the wheels spinning in his brain so to speak, as he's already thinking how to use that active ingredient from a product that he wanted to use, and how to compound it. Every mile I travel to see him is worth it. He is a gem.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 13th, 2014
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
one of the best doctors I've ever gone to--warm, compassionate, and caring and a great diagnostician

5.0 of 5
August 12th, 2012
Wonderful doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr.Cohen is a wonderful doctor and human being. I have been seeing him for over three years and although he is consistently behind schedule because of his compassion towards his patients and reluctance to turn down any last minute patient who calls for help, the office staff helps me out to minimize my waiting time. I call the office for scheduling updates before I hop on the train to come in from NJ. In addition to Dr. Cohen's gifts as a diagnostician for difficult cases, he is superb at allaying fears and giving hope.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 24th, 2012
love him
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
ive had only a couple of visits with him, and so far he had changed my life!!! it took me hours choosing for the right doctor online... and traveled to nyc just to see him... so far i am really happy with the results... finally i got an answer to my problem... ive been to a lot of doctors before him, and i didnt have any long term results, because i was misdiagnosed... so glad i found him!! and the staff is amazing as well... had to wait a little... but only because they managed to sqeeze me into his busy scheedule in such short notice...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 18th, 2012
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr.Cohen is one of the most compassionate doctors I have ever encountered. He is treating me for psoriasis that I have been battling for quite some time. He has prescribed medication for me that is actually working, after struggling with many that have not. Although you do wait an exceptionally long time in the office, it is completely worth the wait. He is the first dermatologist to actually give me hope and make me feel as though I can beat this horrible disease.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. David Cohen, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near New York, NY.