advertisement
Browse Health
Physiatrist (physical, rehabilitation), Pain Management Specialist
17 years of experience
Video profile
Accepting new patients

Patient Reviews

Patient Reviews ?

Overall Rating:
2.5
  •  
Total Ratings

31

Total Reviews

14

Ratings
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Ease of Appointment:
  •  
Promptness:
  •  
Courteous Staff:
  •  
Accurate Diagnosis:
  •  
Bedside Manner:
  •  
Spends Time with Me:
  •  
Follows Up After Visit:
  •  
Average Wait: 33 minutes
Ease of Appointment:
  •  
Promptness:
  •  
Courteous Staff:
  •  
Accurate Diagnosis:
  •  
Bedside Manner:
  •  
Spends Time with Me:
  •  
Follows Up After Visit:
  •  
Average Wait: 33 minutes
Some ratings provided by DrScore.
Write a Review
  •  
Stay away show details Stay away
by Patient on Jun 25th, 2015

Emotionally unstable and indifferent to patients. Try a different clinic. I'm dead serious.

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Utterly incompetent and rude physician show details Utterly incompetent and rude physician
by Jen on May 31st, 2015

Nothing. The staff is abrupt and the waiting room is depressing. Lots of disgruntled patients! I'd give Fish a zero if I could. He spent less than one minute with me, said he'd read my chart but had know idea why I was there. He ordered a steroid injection. When I asked why he said it would help my Sacro iliac pain. I stood up and said I'd been referred to him for HIP pain. This literally had know idea why I was there stay away, this is a chop shop.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Terrible show details Terrible
Feb 12th, 2015

The worst...he talked to me for 2 minutes at the most, wasn't the least bit interested in my medical issues. A caring, concerned doctor he is not. What a waste of time!!

Mark as Helpful  | 4 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Expensive and inneffectual show details Expensive and inneffectual
by Randy Brown on Apr 19th, 2014

Dr. Fish charged me over $500 just for a referral to a physical therapist. I went to him with lower back pain. He talked to me briefly, he barely looked at me and ran no tests. Without assessment or diagnosis, he sent me to a physical therapist. Then he charged me over $500 for the 15-minute visit. And that's after insurance discounted some of it. His full billing rate was over $3500/hr. It might have been worth it if the physical therapy had solved the problem, but it didn't. When I called back to ask about possibly getting an MRI, I was told that I'd have to come in for another appointment (and presumably another $500). By the way, although the outgoing voicemail message promises to return your call by the same business day if you call before 3, they frequently don't. When I did talk to the assistant, and she promised to get back to me within a couple days, I didn't hear from her until six days later when I called her. Unresponsive. Ineffectual. Excessively expensive.

Mark as Helpful  | 5 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
UCLA RIP OFF show details UCLA RIP OFF
Nov 23rd, 2012

Worst experience I have ever had with a physician. This doctor and the UCLA Spine program is a huge rip off, their goal is to perform as many tests and procedures as possible. Dr Fish looked at my MRI and performed a 1 minute exam. He said I needed a piriformis block (I should have NEVER agreed to this procedure). Two weeks later at UCLA's St. John outpatient center I waited for three hours for the block. The OR was chaotic and out of control, nurses complaining nonstop about their hours, the resident stated that happily this was his last day. In the procedure room ( it is now 7 PM) Dr Fish jabs me in the upper back and leaves. Two weeks later I call him and complain about the chaotic environment and that my back is worse! What does he recommend? Another injection! DO NOT GO TO THIS DOCTOR! I have written a letter to the hospital administration and the chief of orthopedics. No response, no surprise.

Mark as Helpful  | 3 people found this helpful Report Abuse
Oct 22nd, 2012

I thought his bedside manner was fine. He was reassuring during the procedure. He was training an intern, but I didn't feel like that hindered the care. He is efficient and didn't spend a lot of extra time with me, but I don't think it's because he doesn't care (as some of these reviews suggest). He addressed all of my concerns.

Mar 17th, 2012

Dr Fish was quick and efficient. He gave me a thorough explanation of my problem and possible treatments with expected outcomes. I was pleased with my visit.

  •  
no time for me show details no time for me
Dec 22nd, 2011

This guy was obviously in a hurry and didn't want to listen to me. I was very disappointed to say the least. I've been in pain for a long time and it's ruined my life and he's no help.

Mark as Helpful  | 4 people found this helpful Report Abuse
Nov 3rd, 2011

Dr Fish is the perfect example of why doctors in the US have a bad name. His assistant was the one that gave me the exam, he showed up for 1 minute tops and wasn't even friendly. I don't think he even knew what my history was or really anything about me and yet he felt that he could diagnose me in 2 seconds with a complete cocky attitude. Plus, I was the last patient of the day and he still needed to rush out, which is just plan rude. Thanks for caring Dr. Fish. I definitely do not recommend him to anyone, go to someone who will show some compassion.

Mark as Helpful  | 3 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Worth my wait... show details Worth my wait...
Jun 6th, 2011

Yes, it takes a long time to get an appointment but... I've traveled the world for help and Dr Fish figured out a way to make my pain manageable. He is the best doctor I've ever found...

  •  
Excellent physician show details Excellent physician
Jan 8th, 2011

i had an appointment and an MRI the same day as Dr. Fish's staff was able to get all the information that I needed very quickly. A professional staff and a courteous physician. I liked the interaction with the resident. I would definitely go to this doctor again.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Patient Paralyzed show details Patient Paralyzed
Jan 3rd, 2011

I would stay away from this doctor. Patient went in for an epidural injection, got paralyzed.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
He couldn't care less show details He couldn't care less
Aug 31st, 2010

He declined to look at the MRI he had ordered with me, and begrudged answers to questions. And...he was training an intern...not a good role model.

Mark as Helpful  | 3 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Publications do not a good clinician make show details Publications do not a good clinician make
Oct 14th, 2009

On a follow-up visit, Dr. Fish wasn't interested in looking at the MRI films he had ordered and wasn't interested in answering my questions. He even tried to tell me that he thought the computer in the examining room would not work to display the film disc, which (after I insisted he try) it did. Lousy treatment. I'll never go back.