The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. David Fehnel Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. David Fehnel?

Asthma

More than 22 million Americans of all ages have asthma. Prepare to talk to your doctor about symptoms, diagnosis and treatment options.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. David Fehnel?

Ratings and Reviews

24 Ratings with 14 Comments

  • Excellent
    11
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    9
  • Excellent
    11
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    9

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
28.8 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 24 Ratings with 14 Comments

5.0 Rating

June 22nd, 2015

Shoulder Surgery-Torn Labrum

This review is long overdue. I was living with intense pain for several years, had gone to see an "expert" in the field of shoulders who was affiliated with a prominent Boston hospital. After and MRI, she told me there was no tear and gave me a cortisone shot. I couldn't move my arm for three days. I went to a second doctor at another Boston hospital months later and he told me that there was nothing he could do, but I should keep making appointments to see him!? I thought I would have to live with the pain and not be able to move my arm beyond my waist forever when a friend insisted I go see Dr. Fehnel. I brought my MRI that I had done and he saw the tear. He told me that he thought it was more than what the MRI showed and he was right. I decided to have the surgery and it turned out my shoulder was a mess. After the recovery and physical therapy, I I got my life back. I now exercise fully, and have even started doing yoga! I don't know what I would have done if I had not gone to Dr. Fehnel. He is no nonsense and gets the job done. I am now sending my husband to him because he has a shoulder injury.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 24th, 2012

Trust this doctor totally.

Your seen by a PA first which I don't like but Dr. Fennel himself is totally competent and professional. He fixed my shoulder and listened to my concerns around pain management. Very caring!

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 9th, 2012

After seeing two "experts" in the field of shoulder issues who told me that I had to live with intense pain every day and take medication or have shots, I was told about Dr. Fehnel. He was amazing. I had surgery two months ago and I am no longer in pain and almost done with my physical therapy. I could not be happier and would recommend him to anyone. His staff is excellent and their surgical center is a well oiled machine.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 6th, 2012

Two operations - great results

Dr. Fehnel has preformed two operations on me. The first was a frozen left shoulder - excellent results. The second was a serious meniscus of my right knee - again - excellent results.I am now seeing him for a meniscus problem of my left knee. I am sixty-five years old. I do athletic style of yoga, commonly refereed to as power yoga. I have full range of motion in my shoulder and the strength in both my shoulder and knee returned completely.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 29th, 2012

Excellent physician and surgeon

I experienced a very traumatic knee injury due to sports over a weekend and Dr. Fehnel saw me immediately on Monday when the office opened. This was my first serious injury ever and first surgery. Dr. Fehnel has been absolutely FANTASTIC as well as everyone else at Sports Medicine (including his surgical scheduler Karen and the PA's). Beverly Hospital was absolutlely terrible, but thankfully, I had an amazing doctor so it didn't matter. I have not been left in the dark about any questions I've had (and I've asked plenty) and he has spent as much time with me as I have needed. I would highly recommend him as a surgeon as well as Sports Medicine North as a facility for any sports injury. They are great and full service! They have x-ray and MRI available in the building!

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 4th, 2011

Outstanding physician

I was referred to Dr. Fehnel for a shoulder problem and he found that I needed surgery. He is an outstanding surgeon with an excellent bed-side manner. At office visits he gave me his full attention along with time needed to discuss my shoulder. If you have to wait a few minutes it's worth it. He is a warm, caring physician that I highly recommend.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 11th, 2011

Worst ortho I've ever had. 4 shoulder surgeries to correct failure of first. Had severe ortho infection he never acknowledged/ignored. Went to Boston for correct diagnose and proper treatment and further re-construction.Would never recommend him .

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 5th, 2011

Was rushed through diagnosid,surgery and follow-up.Mis=diagnosed infection.Causing major complications. I would not recommend Dr Fehnel for anything.

Wait time
55.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 25th, 2010

Very pleased with Dr Fehnel

Overall experience with Dr Fehnel has been absolutely positive!!! I have had 4 shoulder surgeries in the past 4 years, and from the beginning, he explained everything to me...followed up with calls at Home after my operations....and when there have been questions, he has spent as much time as i've needed to satisfy my concerns. I continue to recommend Dr Fehnel to others with Shoulder problems, as i feel he is the BEST Orthopedist specializing in Shoulder Surgery. He is Brilliant!

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 4th, 2010

very good

I was very impressed, diagnosed, scheduled operation and operation completed in 1.5 months, He explained everything, sat with me, pA was very nice also.

Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 4th, 2010

diagnosis; no cause, no cure for shoulder pain (frozen shoulder)

did not offer any solution or pain management. Just billed my insurance more than $3,000. Saw him for 30 seconds, his assistant actually evaluated me.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 8th, 2010

Did me wrong

I had many surgeries with this doctor. At first I had faith in him but after 2 failed shoulder replacements and nothing that can be done to help me, he should not be in practive .

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. David Fehnel is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Peabody, MA.

  • Dr. Peter Prokopis

    Dr. Peter Prokopis

    Surgery of the Hand, Orthopedic Surgery

    Peabody, MA 0 mi

    5.0
    (4)
    18
  • Dr. Sherwin Ritter

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Peabody, MA 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    51
  • Dr. Bojan Zoric

    Dr. Bojan Zoric

    Sports Medicine, Orthopedic Surgery

    Peabody, MA 0 mi

    5.0
    (8)
    14