Dr. David Hammett MD Patient Reviews

  • Neurology Columbia, SC

Overall Rating

4.0
  • 50 patient ratings
  • 20 comments

Last 12 months:

no change

50 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    70%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    6%
  • Poor
    8%
  • Bad
    16%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 32.9 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
January 24th, 2017
Find another Doctor -- this one wont even show up !!!
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My very first appointment was at 9am - I did not get to see him until 11 -- 2 hours !!!! no none else was there in the waiting room when I arrived. Every other time I have specified to the receptionist I WANT TO SEE DR HAMMETT -- I always just get to talk with his PA -- and all she does is push drugs that don't work !!!! FIND SOMEPLACE ELSE!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 24th, 2017
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Wonderful doctor! I have been going to Dr. Hammett for several years for cervical dystonia. He is kind, patient, answers questions and he truly cares about his patients!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 20th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Hammett and his staff were caring and expedited immediate treatment for me in Charleston at MUSC. The staff followed up on my condition and care. Wonderful, knowledgeable physician and staff! Great care!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 20th, 2015
Experiencing Dr Hammett
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have found Dr. Hammett to be accurate in developing the conditions I suffer from. After working in a CT college and setting up a medical assisting program, I always do background checks on my doctors information he has given me. I have always felt comfortable with both staff and Dr. However, I would like to see my phone calls returned sooner, especially when I need a clearance for surgery. Overall, I am confident and comfortable with my doctor and would recommend him to other individuals.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
October 26th, 2015
Doctor OK, staff needs work!
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My criticisms are primarily for the staff. While waiting 2 hours to be seen for my apt, not once did a staff member apologize or update me regarding my long wait. Also, for receptionist Kelsey: if I can see that your bra is coral colored with animal print trim, then you need to wear a shirt with more coverage. Unrelated to my visit....when I called Dr Hammett's nurse (daily for 3 consecutive days), I would have appreciated an apology for not getting back to me within 24 hours as your voicemail says that you will.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
August 20th, 2015
Wait at least 2 hrs for each appt.
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Beware. The medical assistant signed the prescriptions in front of me and spent more time with me but did not listen to a word I said. She also did not seem to know as much as one would think. She was more boastful about filling in for the doctor. They always reschedule appointments because he is out of the office. Unacceptable. Don't waste your time. It can't be safe.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
June 8th, 2015
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent headache treatment

1.0 of 5
March 6th, 2015
Run Forest Run
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Hammett primary job is to dope his patients up with Demerol and Valium. He doesn't explain medical conditions nor run test whatsoever. He complains about his past jobs at other medical facilities and how he was unable to contact previous patients for some reason. I recommend if you are looking for a neurologist to look elsewhere. You may be in the office anywhere from 3-4 hours in one visit. Office staff pass the buck from one to another.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 26th, 2014
Great Doctor - I finally found his new office
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Hammett has really proven to me that a doctor is capable of providing patient focused care. His is friendly, answers any questions, and truly cares about his patients. I would recommend him to any person, anytime, anywhere for neurological disorders. I have cervical dystonia which he has treated successfully.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 10th, 2013
Best Neurologist in Columbia
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr.Hammett is truly a wonderful neurologist!I have never been treated this well by a neurologist in Columbia and believe me I've been to alot of them.His staff was also the best,they actually care about the patients.I am trying to hold out for him to open a practice because I dread the thought of going to any other Dr. for my chronic migaines & neck pain. Please open soon!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 23rd, 2013
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Hammett was the first doctor to get to the root of my headaches. Botox is a life saver for me, but I'm overdue! I enjoy the comfort he always gave me and always greeted me with a smile. I'm in search for him, not a new doctor. Help
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 7th, 2013
Where are you?
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Best Neurologist ever! Where did you move to? I will need my continuing Botox injections to relieve my pain. Please contact to let me know where you are!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No


Nearby Doctors

Dr. David Hammett, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Columbia, SC.