The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. David Herminghuysen Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. David Herminghuysen?

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 diabetes is a chronic disease in which your body is unable to maintain a normal blood sugar (glucose) level.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. David Herminghuysen?

Ratings and Reviews

26 Ratings with 12 Comments

  • Excellent
    12
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    8
  • Excellent
    12
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    8

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
28.3 min

Showing 26 Ratings with 12 Comments

1.0 Rating

October 15th, 2013

Arrogant, rude staff, and incorrect diagnosis

Doctor is neither professional in his appearance, nor manner. After waiting over an hour to get into the exam room, I was run thru the normal questions by a nurse, who was kind, and professional. After waiting another 30 minutes for the doctor, he bursts into the room and, shouts, "has anybody told you your neck is huge?" Before me stood a person who looked more like he was going to a Jimmy Buffet concert than treat patients. His floral shirt was hideous. After looking at my chart, he says I need biopsies of my thyroid. Out he went. The nurse comes back in and commences to lay out needles, lots of needles. She rubs some stuff on my neck to numb it (was is not very effective). The doctor comes back in, with a student, and begins the biopsies. He goes into great detail explaining to the student every thing he is doing. He shows her the little "lights that look like stars" on the screen monitor. He says that when you see those lights it is "cancer." After 30 minutes of numerous needle inserts into my neck, he determines that I have thyroid cancer and need immediate surgery to remove the thyroid. He makes me an appointment with a surgeon. When I go to see this guy, he says that the biopsy results are non-conclusive. I may or may not have cancer. Surgery is scheduled for a total thyroidectomy. Surgery went well, and the results of the biopsies taken from the surgical removal showed NO cancer cells. I made a follow up appointment with Dr. Herminghuysen. Upon my arrival, I was met with a very rude receptionist who declared loudly, so that everyone in the waiting area could hear, "you have an old balance of $600.00 that has to be paid before you see the doctor. I explained to her that I had been only once before, and had not received a statement. She repeated that I could not see the doctor until it was paid. I told her I really didn't need to see the doctor, since I did not have the cancer he said I had, and that I had a surgery that I did not need to have, so, no, all you are going to get is what my insurance covers. I left. One man in the waiting area winked and tipped his hat to me as I walked across the waiting area to the door. Unless you want a comedy show, and a poor one at that, this doctor is not for you.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 30th, 2012

The staff in this office are the most unprofessional and rudest I have ever been involved with. They present a very abrasive attitude towards the patients, whether on the phone or during an appointment. The wait time in the office has also been over an hour every time I had an appointment scheduled.Dr. H is also unwilling to call any patient back and always insists on a follow-up appointment instead of answering even simple questions over the phone. He cares much more about getting patient's to pay for unnecessary office visits than about the well-being of his patients.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 22nd, 2012

Present Patient

With gratitude I thank a physician friend (who also happens to be a patient of Dr. H) for recommending that I see Dr. Herminghuysen. He did all of the necessary testing and diagnostics and is now treating me in a very professional and capable manner. I feel safe in his care. The good sense of humor is a bonus.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 5th, 2012

Highly satisfied

Was refered to this Dr. with thyroid issues a year ago. Issues have been resolved and Im feeling great. At last visit there was a new receptionist who was exceptional. Nursing staff was friendly and explained everything to me in detail at my discharge. Doctor spent a great deal of time with me explaining things. He is not your "run of the mill" Dr, But I have been very happy and satisfied.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 8th, 2011

what happened

I have been a pt there for a couple of years. I always hated going in because of receptionist and then one day to my surprise there was a new one !!!! She was friendly, caring and professional , not to mention beautiful smile . Well she is gone now and the old one is back ..... Y ? His new staff in the back is not so nice and I even heard her talking about the nice young lady in front . Looks like he keeps the wrong staff . And he himself is not so professional himself.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

October 20th, 2011

Very good doctor, staff is rude

It's unfortunate that his staff is so terrible, because he's a really good doctor. But the staff argued with me about insurance requirements (over which I have no control), were belligerent when asked to provide copies of my own personal records, and at one point actually called me a liar about what time I had written on the sign-in sheet. Abhorrent behavior for supposedly professional staff. But once you get through the front desk, Dr. Herminghuysen is actually a very good doctor.

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 19th, 2011

Fixed me!

I had alot of Endocrine problems that others doctors could not seem to figure out. He fixed me and I am feeling much better!!I have referred family and freinds to him, and they have had no problems.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 17th, 2011

Worst

This doctor is arrogant. He did not want to hear anything that I had to say. He is so superior to me that I have no logical or pertinent input. He walked in the room and gave his thoughts and walked out. He would walk out while I was speaking to him about things I thought were important.

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 16th, 2011

Highly Recommend!

If you are looking for a doctor who does not rush you in and out, who takes time to explain what he is doing, and why, and has a wonderful sense of humor, then this is the doctor for you!

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 16th, 2011

DON'T waste your time & money here

This doctor has superiority and ego issues which would be more palatable if he could actually make an accurate diagnosis and successfully treat a medical issue. I could give you the horrid details, but trust me, just move on and go elsewhere.

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 10th, 2011

disgusted (former) patient

If this is the doctor you want help dealing with an endocrinology problem, better go elsewhere. He is a very arrogent, opinionated uncaring doctor. Makes medical observations without showing any medical facts. Refused to do blood work (TSH, T-3, T-4, free T-3) and relied on blood work (incomplete from a PAC) Never answered any relevaent questions, left the exam room, never came back, leaving no diagnosis, no answers to my problems. I WILL NOT GO BACK TO HIM FOR ANY REASON WHATSOEVER.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 6th, 2010

EXTREMELY RUDE AND UNPROFESSIONAL RECEPTIONIST

The receptionist is extremely rude. I was warned by a coworker who also used to see Dr. Herminghuysen, and I believed she was exaggerating, but one visit proved me wrong. I've never come in contact with someone in a physician's office so uncaring and extremely unprofessional. It's obvious she hates her job, and she makes sure everyone in the waiting area knows it. I know how stressful it can be dealing with the public as I have done so for many years, but she is rude to the point of being cruel, even to the nicest people. It's stressful enough dealing with diabetes on a daily basis, and no patient should have to endure that kind of treatment. Everyone else in the office is very pleasant and professional. The receptionist needs to find another job, one where she has no contact with others. She is damaging the reputation of an otherwise nice group of people.

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. David Herminghuysen is similar to the following 3 Doctors near New Bern, NC.

  • Dr. Kenneth Wilkins Jr

    Internal Medicine

    New Bern, NC 0 mi

    5.0
    (10)
    36
  • Dr. David Oliver

    Cardiovascular Disease, Internal Medicine

    New Bern, NC 0 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    42
  • Dr. Ronald Moore

    Internal Medicine

    New Bern, NC 0 mi

    4.8
    (4)
    44