ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. David Coats Is this you?
  • 22
  • 0
  • 3
  • 3
  • 4

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
39.2 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. David Coats?


32 Ratings with 6 Comments

1.0 Rating

April 20th, 2015

Horrible doctor

Horrible doctor. Waste of time. Had an appoitment for 2:00 and did not see me till past 5:30. Literally had a nurse stand next to him and hand him files and saw me for less than a minute. Said that my issue is something that only sporadically shows so he would need me to schedule another appoitment. I would never do it ever again.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 29th, 2015

Simply execellent.
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

July 27th, 2012

Dr. Coats' nurse brought my 8 month old girl into a room within 10 minutes of waiting in lobby. She promptly dilated her eyes in preparation for examination and had us wait in subwaiting area. Dr. Coats made my 8 month old wait more than 2 hours while he had his lunch and did not apologize for the wait. Upon questioning him on the long wait he proceeded to tell me that it was due to time needed for focusing muscles to relax that is for proper dilation to occur. As a physician I know this is untrue and that proper dilation occurs as early as 20 minutes. He stated this in front of a resident. So he not only gave me inaccurate information but was also teaching this to a resident!!!

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 21st, 2011

Excellent Surgeon
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

2.3 Rating

June 10th, 2011

Unacceptable wait times with no reason or apology provided

Dr. Coats is a knowledgeable physician who is skilled at working with very small children and explaining medical conditions in everyday but not dumbed-down language. However, making a parent wait in the exam room with a 3-year-old for over an hour is unacceptable. During that time no one on the staff came in to explain the reason for the delay or to provide updates on when the doctor was expected. When I went to try to find someone I was (not unkindly) brushed off. When he finally did arrive he barely mumbled a brief apology and then reviewed the nurse's exam results. All the work is done by the nurse, he just looked over her exam results, and told me to stay the course and book an appointment in 6 months. For this I waited over an hour? He was in the room for less than 5 minutes. He could have spared me and my daughter the wait and discussed the results with me on the phone. I have an extremely low tolerance for being treated like a supplicant by a physician whom I am paying for service. Be prepared to wait a very long time or find another skilled physician.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

October 13th, 2009

Scheduling staff lacks professionalism. Will not return phone calls and has a total lack of concern and a very bad attitude

Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 26th, 2017

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

May 30th, 2017

5.0 Rating

April 25th, 2017

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me

5.0 Rating

October 24th, 2016

5.0 Rating

August 9th, 2016

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

February 1st, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. David Coats is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Houston, TX.

  • Dr. Veeral Shah

    Ophthalmology

    Houston, TX 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (12)
    7
  • Dr. Paul Steinkuller

    Dr. Paul Steinkuller

    Ophthalmology

    Houston, TX 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    46
  • Dr. Douglas Marx

    Dr. Douglas Marx

    Ophthalmology

    Houston, TX 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (15)
    8