The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. David Kamelhar Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. David Kamelhar?

Ratings and Reviews

33 Ratings with 16 Comments

  • Excellent
    19
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    8
  • Excellent
    19
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    8

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
31.5 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 33 Ratings with 16 Comments

5.0 Rating

November 26th, 2014

A great doctor!

Dr. Kamelhar is a nice and caring person, and a brilliant doctor. He spent a lot of time (which, as everybody knows, is not typical of many doctors) patiently listening to all of my complaints, asking many additional questions, analyzing my x-rays (not only the last one, but the previous ones as well!), reviewing the blood test results, and, finally, on a thorough physical examination. Then he explained to me possible reasons for my problem, the ways to treat it, and answered all my questions. To summarize, I am extremely happy that I made a call and scheduled an appointment with Dr. Kamelhar!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 9th, 2014

He's a miracle worker and the most thorough doctor I've ever known. Also a thoroughly nice man.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 7th, 2013

Brilliant doctor. Usually has a very, very long wait time. Many (most?) of his patients are older to elderly and often arrive late themselves. He NEVER turns them away. I've seen this occur many times. As many have mentioned he does not apologize for making you wait, so don't get irked by that. But he spends a lot of time with you. If he seems like he is moving on from a subject you want to talk about, all you need to so is ask for him to stay on the subject. Dr. Kamelhar is most amenable to patient needs. You just have to advocate for yourself. Personally, he is a lovely man. He went out of his way for me when he did not have to, returns calls, if not same day, within 2-3 days. I called with an important call once, and he had his partner call me back because he was unable to same day. His office, manner, and style can sometimes be frustrating, but no one is perfect. Small price to pay for his knowledge and the fact that he cares, though it might not show. He is a very caring doctor.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 23rd, 2013

Way the best

A person in the office said he thinks Dr. Kamelhar is probably the best pulmonologist in NYC, and I think that is likely. Dr. Kamelhar amazed me with his expansive knowledge, is thorough and careful, and takes the time he needs. He is kind and caring, which is huge. His office staff warned me that he is often very late for appointments, and even though I haven't experienced a wait yet, I consider it totally worth it.

Wait time
5 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 28th, 2012

Reading reviews expected the worse

Read some of the reviews above and I understand that you can't be everything for everyone. I had a great experience with the staff and with the Dr. The staff was polite and professional. Tom, the person that administered the breathing test, put me at ease and was very personable and efficient. When I met Dr.Kamelhar, I understood why I was informed that the wait to see the Dr. could be long, Dr. Kamelhar wants to know a lot about you, he is attentive, personable and thorough. If you are looking for a pulmonologist, Dr. Kamelhar should be your chice.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 16th, 2012

David Kamelhar is a brilliant doctor and a very caring person. He diagnosed me and saved my life. He is extremely thorough and knowledgeable. He is also very patient and never misses even a tiny detail pertaining to his patients condition.HE IS BEST OF THE BEST. His staff is also very caring and accommodating. In addition Dr.Kamelhar has one of the best respiratory lab which is one of the most valuable diagnostic tools.

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 4th, 2012

He's one of the best doctors I've seen for my complicated health situation. He correctly diagnosed me for pneumonia, when another doctor thought I had asthma!The wait can be long, but worth it. Follow-up is excellent.

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 23rd, 2011

Excellent

***** I believe Dr. Kamelhar is the best doctor I have. He never takes the easy way out and I believe he always has the best interests of his patients behind every decision he makes. At first he appears intimidating, but once you've spoken to him, and discussed your case with him, you come to realize he is a kind and caring physician who only wants and demands the best for his patients. I would highly recommend Dr. Kamelhar to everyone who needs a pulmonologist. In addition, his office staff is helpful, polite, kind and they interact with the patients beautifully.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 25th, 2011

Very knowledgable and experienced doctor

Dr. Kamelhar is an extremely skilled and experienced doctor. He has helped me greatly with getting control over my lung issues including bronchitis, astma, breathing difficulties. He monitors the status of his patients and has top knowledge in his area. Some complain that it is too long of a waiting time in his office but it is worth it to get the best of care! I am very comfortable with his skills and feel he really cares about my overall health.

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 4th, 2010

Best Doctor Ever

Smartest, best doctor ever. He takes his time making a diagnosis - and doesn't take the easy way out - thorough!

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 16th, 2010

He saved my life

I have been his patient for over 20 years and he is the best diagnostician you could ever find - and a very caring person

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 27th, 2009

Tons Better

Rude Rude Rude. Moneymill

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. David Kamelhar is similar to the following 3 Doctors near New York, NY.

  • Dr. Katherine Keil

    Internal Medicine

    New York, NY 0 mi

    4.8
    (35)
    27
  • Dr. Trenton Collier

    Internal Medicine

    New York, NY 0 mi

    4.5
    (19)
    10
  • Dr. Stuart Lewis

    Dr. Stuart Lewis

    Internal Medicine

    New York, NY 0 mi

    4.2
    (15)
    28