The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. David Mahon Is this you?
  • 22
  • 2
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
12.8 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. David Mahon?


26 Ratings with 5 Comments

5.0 Rating

November 14th, 2016

I was diagnosed with acute appendicitis in the ER at Northwest Community Hospital after being transferred from a Northwest Community Immediate Care Center. While I clearly received outstanding care in the emergency room and at the treatment center, I wasn't quite sure "everything would be all right" until I met Dr. Mahon. He took time to explain the surgical procedure in detail to me, while offering some insight into the post-surgical recovery period. I was extraordinarily uncomfortable, had not slept in 36 hours, and was concerned about the fact my husband was hundreds of miles away on a business trip. He was competent, compassionate and understanding.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 23rd, 2016

Dr. Mahon took care of my dad's wound and was able to heal it after no one else could. He is a Navy veteran -- as in my dad -- and he took the time to listen to my dad's stories and sincerely seemed interested. We were very happy with Dr. Mahon and appreciated his kindness as well.

Doctor's Response

The following response was written by a representative of the NCH Medical Group on behalf of the physician. Thank you for your kind review. Take care.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 19th, 2015

Highly Recommend

I had a scheduled gallbladder surgery with Dr. Mahon. He was wonderful, answering all my questions throughout. When visiting him in the office prior to the surgery and post surgery he was right on time. I would recommend him to anyone needing surgery.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

June 28th, 2015

I am very impressed with Dr. Mahon. So much that I highly recommend him. He was my surgeon for an emergency surgery. I find him to be very professional and kind. He treats you like you really matter. He has great bedside manners and you feel comfortable around him. Please book an appointment with Dr. Mahon for your surgical needs. You will be happy you chose him.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 30th, 2011

Took Good Care Of Our Son

After experiencing persistent abdominal pain, we ended up taking our young adult son to NW Community Hospital's Emergency Room, where he was diagnosed with appendicitis. The surgeon that night was Dr. Mahon, who was very reassuring and upbeat, helping to ease an uncomfortable patient (and parents!)...Dr. Mahon didn't just "treat him like a number" but answered specific questions about anticipated recovery, and even wrote a special "note to his college teachers" addressing possible delay of final exams before he was discharged from the hospital. The only difficulty was getting in to see Dr. Mahon for a follow-up appointment after surgery, but overall, his care was great!

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 31st, 2017

5.0 Rating

May 31st, 2017

5.0 Rating

December 4th, 2016

5.0 Rating

December 4th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

4.0 Rating

November 21st, 2016

5.0 Rating

September 1st, 2016

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

July 25th, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. David Mahon is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Arlington Heights, IL.

  • Dr. Catherine Hunter

    General Surgery

    Arlington Heights, IL 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    12
  • Dr. Adam Murphy

    Dr. Adam Murphy

    Urology, General Surgery

    Arlington Heights, IL 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    9
  • Dr. Alan Loren

    Dr. Alan Loren

    General Surgery

    Arlington Heights, IL 0.01 mi

    4.8
    (11)
    36