Dr. David Mcdonough MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.3
  • 24 patient ratings
  • 14 comments

Last 12 months:

3.8 (+ 0.5)

14 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    50%
  • Satisfied
    8%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    4%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    38%
  • Wait Time 37.4 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
September 7th, 2016
Shocking
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I can't believe that a practice could go downhill to this extent. The doctor was excellent at one time, but something has happened. Employees leave, the practice has been at several addresses within the last 15 months, and I hardly saw any other patients in the office (for Dr. McDonough). I had to wait in the waiting room until almost all of the employees were gone for the day before I saw the doctor. I called about follow up care and received no call back. This is scary. I tried to remain loyal to the practice, but I'm done.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 3rd, 2015
Brilliant but Troubled
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've tried to remain loyal because he's clearly very smart. But his staff tells me he's routinely hours late for work (without even checking in with his office), with absolutely no follow-up after visits. Recently he was locked out of his new office by the landlord. My final appointment was at his apartment! Very sad to see such talent go to waste. Whatever his issues, I hope he has hit bottom and I wish him well.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 8th, 2015
Breath of fresh air
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was very impressed with the staffs professionalism. Everyone was sweet and I was greeted with smiles. This was my first visit with Dr D. I was very impressed by his knowledge of such a wide range of topics. He as able to take care of all my issues in one visit.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 1st, 2014
GREAT DOCTOR IF YOU WANT TO STAY HAPPY & ALIVE!
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been HIV+ since 1980. I have literally have more hands-on experience with HIV than many doctors do today. I have been around the block a couple of times. My first doctors were the brilliant eccentric Dr. Scolaro & Dr Tom Mcgee. 1986 I have hashed it out numerous times with most of the great doctors of our day. This guy, Dr McDonough, is without doubt among the greats for many reasons, most notably his uncanny ability to see through the XXXX and nail each issue right on the head. I give him, and his office, 100% TOP RATINGS.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
August 14th, 2012
Good doctor, terrible practice
Wait time
55 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Once (if) you get to see the doctor, you'll feel you're in good hands. However, be prepared to wait at least an hour and frequently longer until he enters the examining room. Staff turnover in the office is high, and the quality of the employees is not very good. Follow up is just downright bad; you should be told on the telephone about routine things rather than be forced to make another appointment, which costs you both time (a lot) and money. Dr. McDonough is a good doctor, but is incompetent at running a practice.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 19th, 2010
GREAT DR. - weaker staff
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
As much as I truly find Dr.McDoungh a answer to all my praqyers...people need to releize, this man is amazing with a ton of energy., hIS ONLY PROBLEM SEEMS TO BE HIS STAFF CAN'T KEEP UP....FEW FELLOW DOCTORS CAN!He so brillant, his staff and PA-C's struggle to work with such a genious doctor and diagnostic physician. Have patents, he will save your life...isnt that worth an extra 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 6th, 2010
BAD PRACTICE
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Every thing wrong with the Health Care System can be found in Dr. McDonough's office. From outrageous over-billing, to excessive lab tests, to incompetent staff. Emphasis is on selling botox and other ridiculous (and costly) plastic surgeries. (Why not just set up a full bar in the lobby and make some real $$ !!!) You will never get to see the Dr. himself, you will be assigned a Physician's Assistant who hasn't a clue. Yet, the lab tests keep getting ordered . . . . unnecessary prescriptions filled....the money machine keeps moving forward -----This is the neighborhood where Michael Jackson got most of his drugs.BAD PRACTICE!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 26th, 2010
The best of the best!
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
In my life time I have yet to meet a more caring and intelligent doctor than Dr McDonough. I would not be alive today if it had not been for a friend who recommended him to me. From my first appointment I knew that no stone would go unturned in solving my medical problems. I have sent countless friend and family to him and we all agree "He's the best".
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 23rd, 2010
Shame on You, Dr. McDonough
Wait time
55 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. McDonough:I suppose theres enough fat on the insurance log for you to make a generous living off of people in need, regardless of the lack of respect with which you and your office staff choose to treat your patients. For my part, I find that nothing short of offensive and truly shameful. Really. It's disgusting.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 25th, 2010
Meet the PA, doc is AWOL
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
While Dr. McDonough seems to be very good, you will rarely get to see him. Instead, he relies on inexperienced and dangerous physician assistants who apparently can't read your chart. If you complain -- or just demand to talk to the doctor -- the PA will just cut you off with a letter dropping you as a patient. We have not been able to talk to the doctor in the last 5 visits, and this happened. And the office manager tries to sell you Botox. So, beware of this practice. Too bad, because that first visit with the actual doctor was promising.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
January 6th, 2010
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. McDonough is very knowledgeable no question. After years of seeing him it has become an outright joke as to the disorganization of his office. Two hour wait times are common place. Incorrect insurance billing, over billing and double billing have become common place. You will not find a doctor who will go into more detail (once you finally see him). After the ridiculous wait times you will find yourself settling for a Physicians Asst. but you will still be billed for McDonoughs time. I don't have any severe medical issues so I would say that if you are like me you may well want to choose another doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 9th, 2009
A MEDICAL MARVAL
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
I am truly shocked at the 'first rating'. I have been with Dr. Mcdonough for approx. 12 years, and he is by far the most gifted medical doctor that I have had the pleasure to know. What I find most fascinating about Dr. McDonough is that he is not only a exceptional medical physician, but he is equally gifted in the area of chemistry. I have never seen him refer to any book on the current medication(like most doctors due). He knows the medication, side effects, drug interactions, and every dosage of virtually any medication for every disease in Internal medicine. He is such an outstanding physician, and is held in very high regard by his colleagues.I am sorry that you are upset with your 'facial filler' and the cosmetic disadvantages of hiv. But, that sounds like an issue for a doctor in the field of psychology.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. David Mcdonough, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Beverly Hills, CA.

Doctor

Dr. Scott Leeds

17 years experience

4.6 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Stephanie Fein

19 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Alec Pearlstein

42 years experience

4.8 of 5