The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. David Mcelwain Is this you?
  • 28
  • 1
  • 3
  • 0
  • 5

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
17.2 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. David Mcelwain?


37 Ratings with 5 Comments

5.0 Rating

October 24th, 2016

Dr. McElwain is the best! I have seen so many people. I have been under his care for 15 years. He has guided me and helped and is always there to answer questions. He listens to me, is not opposed to entertaining an alternative point of view, and he has his PDR at the ready, not relying on memory or inflexibility to be his guide. He is my absolute favorite doctor. I can always contact him through message/voicemail.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 22nd, 2015

Best Dr I have used in my 49 years

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 15th, 2012

Dr. David McElwain is very kind and caring, as well as capable and knowledgeable. I highly recommend him.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 23rd, 2011

Dr. David McElwain is a rare find in High-Quality Psychiatric Care. He is professional, caring, knowledgeable, courteous, up to date, and has integrity. And most of all - he is highly effective with Understanding Psychiatric Needs, and Prescribing Medicine that works [does the job, without tough side effects]. I have known Dr. David McElwain, MD Psych, in Tulsa, OK for a Decade. The professional comunity, and I, have high regard & respect for this Doctor

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 19th, 2011

No Call Back - No Appt

Out of all the different telephone numbers that I have found for Dr. McElwain (through web search and my insurance company's provider listing,) I cannot get through to anyone to make an appoinment with him. The OSU Physicians say they don't know who he is or how to reach him and the other phone numbers all lead to VM (that says it's his number and that of his office) but no one ever returns my call. I've been attempting to get a call back for over 2 weeks.

Easy Appointment
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 30th, 2017

5.0 Rating

January 30th, 2017

5.0 Rating

November 7th, 2016

5.0 Rating

March 17th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

4.0 Rating

February 16th, 2016

5.0 Rating

December 4th, 2015

5.0 Rating

September 23rd, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. David Mcelwain is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Tulsa, OK.

  • Dr. Jessica Jones

    Psychiatry

    Tulsa, OK 0.48 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    9
  • Dr. Brandon Kilgore

    Dr. Brandon Kilgore

    Psychiatry, General Surgery

    Tulsa, OK 0.48 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    10
  • Dr. Scott Mcintosh

    Psychiatry

    Tulsa, OK 0.48 mi

    5.0
    (3)
    8