The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. David McFarland Is this you?
  • 8
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
7.5 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. David McFarland?


10 Ratings with 5 Comments

5.0 Rating

August 22nd, 2016

thyroid removal

I think Dr. McFarland is a great doctor and has a good bedside manner! I had a lump on my thyroid 10 years ago; and it wasn't cancerous at the time; but since I'd had radiation treatments about 15 years earlier; he said that can sometimes cause cancer; so he removed it. He was very professional and answered all my questions and concerns. came thru the surgery with no complications and my scar is hardly even noticeable. I would certainly recommend him.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 17th, 2013

Colonic Resection

Dr. McFarland is a fantastic surgeon. He is very caring and has a wonderful bedside manner. He stays in touch with his patients before and especially after surgery. He is prompt and courteous. I would Dr. McFarland to anyone, I could not have asked for a better surgeon.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 8th, 2012

Had hernia surgery

I think the guy is great. I think this was the second surgery I've had with him, I think he removed a couple of enlarged parathyroids I had 4 years ago. He made me feel really at ease.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 18th, 2010

Poor Office/bedside manner

Dr. MacFarland was a perfect choice until I didn't agree with him on a treatment. Then he became irriate and told my family that I would die on the table if I had this surgery. He had seen ONE patient have poor results from a DIEP Flap re-constructive surgery after a mastectomy. He totally went off the deep end and I left his office in tears and my family was scared to death. Needless to say I cancelled the DIEP flap procedure and went without reconstructive surgery after the mastectomy. Later I decided to go with a implant. Due to lack of skin left after my mastectomy I was unable to obtain symmetry. So, I had THE DIEP flap. I came through with flying colors and was only out from work 1 week. MacFarland told my family I would be very sick if I made it out of surgery and ICU at all. Well he was WRONG!!! I healed nicely and now have the confidence that comes with achieving symmetry after a mastectomy. I would not recommend MacFarland to anyone, as if cancer was not bad enough!!

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 13th, 2010

Knockdown/reversal

Dr. McFarland was a fantastic, attentive, caring easy going doctor. Very concerned and knowledgable.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

September 21st, 2017

5.0 Rating

June 20th, 2016

5.0 Rating

January 26th, 2016

5.0 Rating

December 5th, 2009

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

July 11th, 2008

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. David McFarland is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Elgin, TX.

  • Dr. Derrick Wansom

    Dr. Derrick Wansom

    General Surgery, Anesthesiology

    Bastrop, TX 11.79 mi

    7
  • Dr. Clyde Smith

    General Surgery

    Bastrop, TX 11.79 mi

    3.7
    (6)
    48
  • Dr. Michael Armstrong

    Family Medicine, General Surgery

    Austin, TX 16.35 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    30