Dr. David Mitten MD Patient Reviews

  • Surgery of the Hand Rochester, NY

Overall Rating

4.0
  • 40 patient ratings
  • 12 comments

Last 12 months:

3.1 (-0.9)

12 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    63%
  • Satisfied
    13%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    10%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    15%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 16.3 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
October 23rd, 2016
For Sophia
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Mitten is the best doctor. My daughter was born with a floating thumb. She had surgery around ine years old to have the thumb removed and replaces with her index finger. She is now 13 years old and her hand looks as if she never had surgery. This doctor is a miracle worker. I recommend him to everyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
April 21st, 2016
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The only problem I have had with this office is that my job gave me paperwork to have filled out but I have not been able to get in contact with the secretary to find out if I can fax the paperwork or if I have to bring it in to the office. Otherwise Dr. Mitten and nurses are fantastic!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 25th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Amazing Dr and outstanding staff all around!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 30th, 2015
Amazing Doctor
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Mitten is simply the best of the best. I have never had a doctor go to bat for me like he has. I ended up in care after serious complications from surgery with another doctor. When all other doctors turned my case down he saved the use of hand. He went above and beyond. Even had medical equipment suppliers at my appointments to meet with me. Any equioment that wasn't covered he got for me at no change. Very thankful each day for this man. Without Dr. Mitten I would ne permanently disabled and I am still working today!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 2nd, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Great professional staff; accurate w/ diagnosis and treatment...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 30th, 2014
Not the best
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Would not recommend.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 9th, 2011
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
If you want to retain the use of your hands, stay away from this man. He maims people. His physician's assistant permanently damaged the nerves in my mother's hand, and his botched surgery could not reverse the damage. She walked in with full use of her hand and a minor problem with a finger, and now can no longer grip with her hand. As a result, she can no longer remain independent because she needs both hands to use her walker.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 2nd, 2011
recent successful basal joint arthroplasty
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. David Mitten is a competent, pleasant surgeon. He is technically superior to area hand surgeons. His assistant, K. Swallow, PA, is likewise talented and has a good bedside manner. As with most surgeons, Dr. Mitten's focus is on the surgery itself. He is otherwise inaccessible and patients are fielded post-op to his PA. The only true mar on his practice is the front desk secretary, Paula, who is plainly rude and consistently has told me what she thinks Dr. Mitten and/or his PA will say/not say regarding any questions. No patient is allowed to speak directly w/ the medical professionals without revealing explicit content of even a personal nature to her. If you think the staff reflects the doctor, you might not care for this surgeon. How unfortunate if he is unaware and shame on him if he condones her behavior. He has the best hand surgery reputation in the city and is highly regarded my my other top notch surgeon (different field). However, I cannot wait until I no longer have to deal with his front desk person and I am tired of being patronized by her.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 17th, 2010
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Dr. Mitten was very quick to come into the examining room. His bedside manner was cordial and he was very thorough in explaining answers to all my questions in an easy to understand manner without talking down to me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 4th, 2010
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Needed surgery to complete my TKR. Dr Mitten explained everything down to the smallest detail. Dr Mitten and Dr Drinkwater made me mobile again after 30 years of leg braces and crutches. Had trigger thumb surgery 4 days ago and not one ounce of pain and the thumb works perfect now.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 4th, 2009
Amazing doctor!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Mitten has been one of the most caring doctors I have had the pleasure of dealing with. He has done an amazing job taking care of me since my accident last April. He has answered every question, addressed every concern I have, and has a great bedside manner. He always greets me with a smile, always puts my mind at ease, and has provided with the greatest care in and out of surgeries. I do not know how I would have dealt with my traumatic injury if I didn't have a doctor who had such a positive attitude and was caring as he is. I think he was more upset with the loss of my thumb than I was. He has done a fantastic job creating a new one for me and in dealing with the other injuries that happened at that time. I will be forever grateful to him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
April 30th, 2009
He should have waited
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
i was suppose to have surgery but i was a little worked up about it. so instead of waiting for me to calm down they made me leave. then 5 minutes later i was calmed down and ready to do the surgery but they would no longer accept me. so now i cant get my surgery. he is the worst doctor with kids!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. David Mitten, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Rochester, NY.