The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. David Okonkwo Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. David Okonkwo?

Dupuytren's Contracture

Dupuytren’s contracture is a thickening of the tissue beneath the skin of the palm of your hand

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. David Okonkwo?

Ratings and Reviews

67 Ratings with 12 Comments

  • Excellent
    48
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    4
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    11
  • Excellent
    48
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    4
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    11

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
32.7 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 67 Ratings with 12 Comments

5.0 Rating

December 14th, 2016

I can not believe that some of these reviews are for the same surgeon that took care of my son. My son got the best care from Dr. Okonkwo. He was upfront about my son's surgery and the chance of it making things better. He spent as much time as we needed to digest and make a decision on whether to move forward or not. He showed genuine concern and understanding of an 18 year old boy.My son spent 6 1/2 years going from doctor to doctor , each one adding or changing the drugs he was on. Dr. Okonkwo recommended surgery to fix the problem. My son got his whole life back and is on no medication. We owe a lot to this Doctor and will be forever grateful for him taking the time to try and help us.

Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 28th, 2016

Past Patient 2015

This man told me he could relieve me of 90% of my LS Spine pain. 13 months after surgery I have 100% additional pain along with conditions I did not have prior to the operation. The waiting room for clinic is like a room filled with cattle; you wait a minimum of 2 hours and then you see a PA and see the Dr for about 10 minutes. I am a ghost of a women compared to what I was prior to the surgery. I would not reccomend thi

Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 6th, 2016

Amazing!!!

So what if you have to wait, he's excellent with an excellent personality and sense of humor! He spends ample time with you, cares and he orders the right tests. I would go back in a heartbeat. I was referred by an acquaintance and she was right, he's good!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 16th, 2016

HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

November 8th, 2015

wait Time

This comment has nothing to do with how well this Doctor performs. but if the average wait time is a reflection of how accurate the other categories are the they are all sadly inaccurate. I have been to this office twice. First time I waited in the exam room for 3 hours before seeing the doctor for ten minutes! Second time I arrived in the office at 11:30 am and left at 2:30 pm. So in my humble opinion he only thing these ratings are good for is a good laugh!

Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 20th, 2015

Did I see the same dr. as the rest of these reviewers? His PA spent about 15 minutes explaining my mri and possible surgery: i.e outcomes, risks ect. He came in to talk to me and his phone rang. He said he had to take the call and was gone about 10 minutes. In the mean time his PA comes back hands me a script for additional xray views (not told why) he then walks in and says .."oh good you got your script. see you in 6 weeks"........um no doc you wont!

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 22nd, 2015

Great Doctor

Very good and thourgh

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 27th, 2014

Life saved by him
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

May 21st, 2013

Patient

Dr Okonkwo is in my opinion the most thorough,and professional That I have ever meant.Unfortunately it was over a fall injury that resulted in a burst fracture to my back .He was very courteous and answered all questions or concerns..To Dr Okonkwo I say Thank You Best Neurosurgeon In United States in my Opinion!!!!

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 27th, 2011

Outstanding!!

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 6th, 2011

Brain Injury

Doc Okonkwo has performed 4 brain/skull surgeries on me. He is like my new BFF. Spend so much time with him. He is great, his bedside manner is awesome, and he is personable. treats you like a human being and not just another patient/statistic. He is so knowledeable and willing to share that knowledge. Answers all questions and takes concerns seriously!

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 25th, 2011

Dr. Okonkwo is an excellent doctor

Dr. Okonkwo is an excellent surgeon. He is respectful, LISTENS WELL, and speaks in lay terms when talking with patients. He is not a doctors doctor, he is there for the patient. He is not arrogant, condescending, or intimidating in any way. I felt extremely comfortable in his care and I am grateful that I found him and that he is my spinal surgeon. I have recommended him to several of my family members and friends.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. David Okonkwo is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Pittsburgh, PA.

  • Dr. Bradley Gross

    Neurological Surgery

    Pittsburgh, PA 0 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    7
  • Dr. Phillip Parry

    Neurological Surgery

    Pittsburgh, PA 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    9
  • Dr. Robert Richardson

    Dr. Robert Richardson

    Neurological Surgery

    Pittsburgh, PA 0 mi

    5.0
    (3)
    10