The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. David Chu Is this you?
  • 27
  • 1
  • 2
  • 2
  • 4

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
29.3 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. David Chu?


36 Ratings with 9 Comments

5.0 Rating

September 20th, 2016

Best Ophthalmologist

He saved my vision. I went to numerous specialists before I was fortunate enough to find Dr. Chu. His bedside manner is the best! staff is professional and courteous too.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

June 27th, 2016

Fort Visit

The staff was courtius and profession. The Doctor was Reserved but to the point. He covered everything. He was not the most affable person I've met. He was very good at his job.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 2nd, 2016

2 Hours Wait. 3-5 Minutes Check.

Had an emergency situation. I had no set appointment. Waited for 2 Hours (which was fine). Staff was professional and courteous. Unfortunately, I felt like I didn't get enough time to address my questions and concerns. I was examined by him between 3-5 minutes and he left the room to take another call. I don't know what the nature of the call was. I believe I was the last patient of the day around 2pm. I'm sure he's a good person, but I didn't feel like he wanted to be there with me.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 9th, 2014

Great experienced doctor

Dr. Chu is extremely knowledgeable and well-versed in his field. He was courteous and patient to answer all of my questions concerning my visit.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 26th, 2013

Chu is overrated and sub par! Waste of my time and money!

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 9th, 2012

The only dr who understands my condition

I was bounced around from doctor to doctor. Dr.Chu was recommended by a friend and he has been a blessing in my life. He was the only doctor who gave me a correct answer to my eye problems and explained to me why I was having all the problems.I wish I didn't have to wait so long during my appointment, but I will never change doctors.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 3rd, 2012

The best

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

October 17th, 2011

I had a very poor experience in seeing Dr. Chu. I waited for 3 hours with my son who is 10 years old. when I finally got in to see Dr. Chu, I was told that the cameras didn't work and he actually had his intern take a picture of my son's eye with his cell phone. I was then told to go back and wait again. I ended up leaving as I had a babysitter with my other children and didn't realize this appointment would take 4 hours. Then I got a bill for $500. When I called to tell them this was crazy and that Dr. Chu had barely seen my son, they told me they had Dr. Chu's notes and that it counted as a full office visit. I explained the long wait and the ridiculous picture with a cell phone, but no one would help me. I am a single mother who is now paying off a $500 bill for nothing to a stuck up doctor who has more money than I ever will. Do not use Dr. Chu if you can help it.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 29th, 2011

I was very impressed with Dr. Chu's care, concern and immediate diagnosis of something I had tried to discuss with previous doctors. He understood my concerns and patiently answered my questions. I waa equally impressed with Alison Rengel of Dr. Chu's team. Ms. Rengel's calm, efficient and caring demeanor is deeply appreciated and the most outstanding support I have ever received at any medical office or facility.

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 18th, 2017

5.0 Rating

June 18th, 2017

5.0 Rating

June 13th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. David Chu is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Newark, NJ.

  • Dr. Jonathan Huz

    Ophthalmology, Residency

    Newark, NJ 0 mi

    5.0
    (16)
    1
  • Dr. Larry Frohman

    Dr. Larry Frohman

    Ophthalmology

    Newark, NJ 0 mi

    5.0
    (8)
    37
  • Dr. Ronald Rescigno

    Ophthalmology

    Newark, NJ 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    26