Dr. David Chu MD Patient Reviews

  • Ophthalmology Newark, NJ

Overall Rating

4.3
  • 36 patient ratings
  • 9 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 0.7)

36 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    75%
  • Great
    3%
  • Good
    6%
  • Poor
    6%
  • Bad
    11%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 29.3 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
September 20th, 2016
Best Ophthalmologist
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He saved my vision. I went to numerous specialists before I was fortunate enough to find Dr. Chu. His bedside manner is the best! staff is professional and courteous too.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
June 27th, 2016
Fort Visit
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
The staff was courtius and profession. The Doctor was Reserved but to the point. He covered everything. He was not the most affable person I've met. He was very good at his job.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 2nd, 2016
2 Hours Wait. 3-5 Minutes Check.
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Had an emergency situation. I had no set appointment. Waited for 2 Hours (which was fine). Staff was professional and courteous. Unfortunately, I felt like I didn't get enough time to address my questions and concerns. I was examined by him between 3-5 minutes and he left the room to take another call. I don't know what the nature of the call was. I believe I was the last patient of the day around 2pm. I'm sure he's a good person, but I didn't feel like he wanted to be there with me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 9th, 2014
Great experienced doctor
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Chu is extremely knowledgeable and well-versed in his field. He was courteous and patient to answer all of my questions concerning my visit.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 26th, 2013
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Chu is overrated and sub par! Waste of my time and money!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 9th, 2012
The only dr who understands my condition
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was bounced around from doctor to doctor. Dr.Chu was recommended by a friend and he has been a blessing in my life. He was the only doctor who gave me a correct answer to my eye problems and explained to me why I was having all the problems.I wish I didn't have to wait so long during my appointment, but I will never change doctors.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 3rd, 2012
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The best

2.3 of 5
October 17th, 2011
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had a very poor experience in seeing Dr. Chu. I waited for 3 hours with my son who is 10 years old. when I finally got in to see Dr. Chu, I was told that the cameras didn't work and he actually had his intern take a picture of my son's eye with his cell phone. I was then told to go back and wait again. I ended up leaving as I had a babysitter with my other children and didn't realize this appointment would take 4 hours. Then I got a bill for $500. When I called to tell them this was crazy and that Dr. Chu had barely seen my son, they told me they had Dr. Chu's notes and that it counted as a full office visit. I explained the long wait and the ridiculous picture with a cell phone, but no one would help me. I am a single mother who is now paying off a $500 bill for nothing to a stuck up doctor who has more money than I ever will. Do not use Dr. Chu if you can help it.

5.0 of 5
March 29th, 2011
Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was very impressed with Dr. Chu's care, concern and immediate diagnosis of something I had tried to discuss with previous doctors. He understood my concerns and patiently answered my questions. I waa equally impressed with Alison Rengel of Dr. Chu's team. Ms. Rengel's calm, efficient and caring demeanor is deeply appreciated and the most outstanding support I have ever received at any medical office or facility.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 18th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 18th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 13th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. David Chu, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Newark, NJ.