ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. David Ludwig Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. David Ludwig?

Bipolar Disorder

Get the facts about bipolar disorder, including the different types and symptoms of each.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. David Ludwig?

Ratings and Reviews

37 Ratings with 19 Comments

  • Excellent
    11
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    4
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    18
  • Excellent
    11
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    4
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    18

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
14.2 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 37 Ratings with 19 Comments

1.0 Rating

April 28th, 2016

Horrible doctor

I wasn't in crisis when I saw Dr Ludwig but I was after seeing him. He was authoritarian and dismissive of my concerns, and he made no effort to engage with me. He made me feel afraid and small.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 11th, 2016

Former Patient

Please be careful with Dr. Ludwig. He will very freely prescribe pills. He spends the first half of the session simply reviewing your file while you sit on the couch in awkward silence. He then has you come back as often as possible, presumably to get an extra insurance payment. His bedside manner is awful. His office assistant who takes your co-pay is beyond rude. My advice is to find another psychiatrist.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 7th, 2015

Terrible

I had to wait for a long time see him. Did not help at all! all he did was take notes. Not a good Dr.

Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 29th, 2014

I disagree with other reviews

I have been seeing Dr. Ludwig for 5 or so years now, and I completely disagree with the negative reviews. Yes, he does read your file at the beginning of the appointment, but isn't that better than him not having his memory refreshed? I find him to be very careful and very analytical with his treatment. He always weighs all options and is willing to listen to your input. He adjusts your medication in increments, if necessary, so as to avoid severe reactions. He listens to all of your issues and is very deliberative. He is a nice and genial guy, too. I mean, he has called me out of the blue when he has had follow up thoughts. Find a doctor in Manhattan who does that and takes insurance.... Yes, his receptionist is not a pleasant person, but who cares, she is not the one treating me....

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 16th, 2013

I just want to say that he is the by far the WORST Dr. I have ever been to. I wish i read all his reviews before going and seeing him, but i as well by many were refered by another DR. EVERYTHING NEGITIVE that everyone is saying is true. He pushed so many pills on me and i ended up in the hospital. His assistant is so RUDE. He is most concern with your co-pay and making you come in more then you should so he can get that CASH. Please do not put your trust in this man and struggle as i did, i should have been more aware of how much he was taking advantage of me with the pills, but i TRUSTED him as you should a Dr. I never make posts on anyones sites but HAD to get the word out that he is very dangerous and not someone you should trust your health to. Thanks and best of luck

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 8th, 2012

Simply the worst doctor I have ever dealt with.

I was generally mistreated by David Ludwig. I found him to be completely insensitive and detached as a physician. Moreover, his office assistant is EXCEEDINGLY rude and unpleasant to deal with. I know of at least two other people who were referred to Dr. Ludwig by the person who referred me, and they have also terminated their treatment with him for the reasons I have outlined above. In my case, I was prescribed medications that my current treatment provider believes were totally unnecessary (I was subsequently taken off of the medication prescribed by Dr. Ludwig over a year ago, and I am comprehensively healthier). If you are suferring with a mental health issue and need care, I strongly urge you to seek assistance elsewhere so that you can be diagnosed properly and respectfully.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 24th, 2012

HORRIBLE CREATURE

Please go to another doctor. This man should not be allowed to practice any kind of medicine.

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 4th, 2012

he is the worst dr ever DO NOT TRUST HIM

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 18th, 2012

all he does is push meds on you DO NOT go to this man- he is dangerous

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 11th, 2012

You can find much better psychiatrists

I've been seeing Dr. Ludwig for several years because I wanted to give him a chance. The negative reviews are exactly what I've experienced. He spends half your appointment "reading your file" and rushes you out after asking a few generic questions. He has a very controlling manner, atrocious bedside manner, and seems to just want your payment. You owe it to yourself to seek out a more compassionate psychiatrist.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

August 24th, 2012

He is above all a human being and I could point out his flaws.However I have grown to like and respect him and he has been supportive sxillfully thru thick and thin.No helper is good for everyone but he and I have benefitted on a mutual exploration /I have had chance to work out some issues thru relationshio with him.I dont need perfect therapist,just good enpugh.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 11th, 2012

Expect to sit there in silence

At the start of your appointment expect to sit there for 10 - 15 minutes while he reads your file. The awkward silence is ridiculous and very trying. My assessment of the man's people skills indicates that he probably has Aspergers Syndrome. Don't bother.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. David Ludwig is similar to the following 3 Doctors near New York, NY.

  • Dr. Roger Gould

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    New York, NY 0 mi

    3.6
    (3)
    54
  • Dr. Jeffery Borenstein

    Psychiatry

    New York, NY 0 mi

    2.0
    (1)
    32
  • Dr. Kent Shinbach

    Legal Medicine, Psychiatry

    New York, NY 0.04 mi

    4.5
    (2)
    50