The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. David Shoemaker Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. David Shoemaker?

Diabetic Macular Edema

Get the facts about diabetic macular edema, including the different types and the doctors and specialists who treat it.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. David Shoemaker?

Ratings and Reviews

46 Ratings with 17 Comments

  • Excellent
    32
  • Great
    3
  • Good
    4
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    5
  • Excellent
    32
  • Great
    3
  • Good
    4
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    5

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
18.1 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 46 Ratings with 17 Comments

3.0 Rating

March 3rd, 2017

Review of dr David shoemaker

Dr Shoemaker was my surgeon in 2016 I had cataract surgery No follow up only if there would have been a problem I found him to be aloof Very sure of himself Short tempered and had this pompous attitude that he was my doctor I felt as thoughI was being tested and eventually passed He has an imposing stance and acts as though he is doing you a favor by being your doctor Very little warmth He is kind of scary physically I was a little frightened of him

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 28th, 2016

Eye check-up

I have always been very pleased with Dr, shoemaker and the staff at Center for Sight. He sis my cataract surgery 12 years ago and my eyesight, unaided, has been great since!

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 24th, 2016

M.D.
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

June 1st, 2015

This was all for my husband when he treated him and performed eye surgery on him. Not only was my husband cured of his eyes problems and treated very well by all the staff but also so was I. Amazing people. Thanx to all.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 17th, 2015

Great experience from beginning to end. Everyone was friendly and concerned.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 27th, 2015

Clean facility and courteous staff.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 3rd, 2014

I Can See Clearly Now!

Center For Sight is an amazing place. From the time you have your appointment set there are follow up calls, arrange for ride, do you understand your meds and timing. Entire staff is extremely courteous and Dr. Shoemaker makes sure you and family are in good hands and gives thumbs/smile up when procedure is done. It was such a quick procedure no discomfort and yes if you need any eye health please see the Center For Sight

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 16th, 2013

Cataract Experience

I was impressed by the professionalism of all of the people I encountered in the initial appointment which took several hours. The waiting room areas were very pleasant. The exam rooms and bathrooms were all neat and clean. On the day of the surgery, the surgical staff was very supportive and efficient. My husband watched the procedures on both eyes. I was delighted to be able to see both procedures on a DVD when I returned home. I feel very fortunate that my eye doctor recommended Dr.Shoemaker. He is an extremely skilled surgeon and I'm thrilled with the results.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 3rd, 2012

I had cataract surgery, extensive measurements took longer than the procedure. Not a lot of face time with the doctor, but I was kept well informed, and am pleased with the outcome.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 13th, 2012

Wm. Scott Bennett

Upon being sent to the Center for Sight by my own Doctor I was put through a battery of tests to diagnose the problem with my Sight. This included an actual review and testing by Dr. Shoemaker. He thourghly diagnosed my problem and recommend a specifi treatment. I had the surgery within the next three weeks do to my own delay's and now see better than I have in years. I would totally recommend Dr. Shoemaker and his staff to anyone needing Cataract Surgery.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 15th, 2012

I highly recommend Dr. Shoemaker & Center for Sight for all optical needs.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 16th, 2011

Great Experience

I couldn't recommend Dr. Shoemaker enough. Thank you, Center For Sight.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. David Shoemaker is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Sarasota, FL.

  • Dr. Michael Parrott

    Dr. Michael Parrott

    Ophthalmology

    Sarasota, FL 0 mi

    4.7
    (74)
    9
  • Dr. William Lahners

    Dr. William Lahners

    Ophthalmology

    Sarasota, FL 0 mi

    4.6
    (46)
    21
  • Dr. Joshua Kim

    Dr. Joshua Kim

    Ophthalmology

    Sarasota, FL 0 mi

    4.6
    (69)
    17