ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. David Sugarbaker Is this you?
  • 21
  • 5
  • 2
  • 4
  • 4

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Wait Time
36.8 min
Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. David Sugarbaker?


36 Ratings with 15 Comments

5.0 Rating

September 30th, 2016

Dr. Sugarbaker is the best!

Dr. Sugarbaker is the best, he saved my life. I was diagnosed with mesothelioma 8 years ago and given 6 months to live by a local doctor. I had two young children at the time and with his help, I will see my second daughter graduate high school this year. We got an appointment within a week of my diagnosis and had surgery a month later. He is a brilliant, warm, caring, compassionate man and I would recommend him to anyone. The staff at his Houston office is great too. Last month I climbed to the top of Angel’s landing at Zion National Park with one lung. Thank you Dr. Sugarbaker!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 5th, 2016

Terrible personality!!!! Very rude

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 12th, 2016

Professionalism and excellent skills mixed with kindness

This is the Dr that we were sent to specifically by our radiologist and he was everything we were told he would be. He is just simply a kind professional who has set up a staff to provide the support that is needed to get his patients thru a most difficult process to beat their lung cancer totally. When we have had to wait a bit, we are sure if WE were the cause of his delay, we would want him to finish our procedure before moving on...so it is acceptable. He proactive approach gives people their functional lives back...Thank you so Much Dr Sugarbaker

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

May 3rd, 2016

Hope

We went to see Dr Sugarbaker on the advice of our oncologist. We had been given little hope. We trusted Dr Sugarbaker. He came through after having told us of the risk of the surgery. It all went very well but was a lot of work. He told us the fact that a cure for mesothelioma is still in the future. Never the less long term survival is a reality for patients. We have been given hope and we are moving forward.

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

April 27th, 2016

My Father was recently treated by Dr. Sugarbaker. He and his staff are a wonderful group of caring and compassionate people. We had hoped my Father would live another 3 years after being diagnosed with Meso but he only survived 10 months after surgery. He had no pain with the surgery but I'm not sure if it did much to extend his quality of life. He also went through 3 rounds of chemo which I feel did nothing. Think and pray hard before you make the decision to have surgery or not. A final thought, there are some pretty good clinical trials going on that may be a better option than surgery. Dr. Sugarbaker is a wonderful surgeon and man, we appreciate all he did for our family during such a life changing event. Prayers for you and your staff that you make great strides against such a horrible cancer.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 28th, 2016

Terrible doctor and staff!!! He is very rude, egotistical and thinks he is a god! My father went through his surgery and was told by him he was at the very early stages of mesothelioma, he opened him up and the tumor was around his aorta, he messed w the tumor for over an hour and then decided to give up because of the severity of the location of the tumor....my dad woke up being told he went through the entire aggressive process for nothing and to add he was paralyzed from the surgery because Dr S messed around with a nerve around the aorta. So not only r we dealing w a deadly cancer and the expensive surgery for nothing but now my dad is paralyzed. He was rude and lacked any compassion and his young staff are just as egotistical and would fight w each other like children. He has taken the remaining time my dad had and made it miserable and full of suffering. Go to Manhatthan for your treatment if you have mesothelioma!

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

October 22nd, 2015

The entire staff is amazing. My father was treated by the Sugarbaker Team but unfortunately lost his battle with Mesothelioma last month. He came through surgery well but 7 months afterwards he had a recurrence and passed three month later.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 13th, 2015

Mesothelioma

I completely agree that he is full of false hope! He used my father as a ginny pig and PROMISED another 5 years before he saw any signs of cancer. ..my father passed away a month and a half later after going through H_LL from this mans life prolonging surgery...think twice before you allow your loved ones to go through this PLEASE

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 30th, 2014

Wonderful MD and person

Because of this man I was able to dance at my son's wedding and see my first grandchild being born! Excellent! Excellent! Excellent!

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 26th, 2014

Egotistical and rude

If you don't have mesothelioma he is not interested because you are helping him advance his stats positively. He sucks patients in at first with false hope then drops them like a jot potato if they cannot help him. He never even visited one time once the diagnosis was non small cell instead of mesothelioma. Finally, one of his fellows said if I were you I wouldn't take out any long term life insurance policies. Unforgivable. Look elsewhere.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 19th, 2013

Patient

He is an excellent surgeon capable of doing even difficult operations and worth the wait, if waiting is a problem for you

Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

July 28th, 2011

NOT a Nice man

He insisted that he know all about my aunt's tumor type and promised she's be fine before he ever examined her. Then postponed her biopsy for 2 weeks, without so much as an apology or explanation. His assumption was totally wrong and when he got the pathology report, he totally abandoned her. He's way too big for his britches and was very rude and insensitive to a very ill patient.

Wait time
50.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. David Sugarbaker is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Houston, TX.

  • Dr. Tam Huynh

    Dr. Tam Huynh

    General Surgery, Vascular Surgery

    Houston, TX 0 mi

    5.0
    (6)
    27
  • Dr. Gabriel Loor

    Dr. Gabriel Loor

    General Surgery, Thoracic Surgery

    Houston, TX 0 mi

    5.0
    (5)
    12
  • Dr. Peter Lin

    Dr. Peter Lin

    Vascular Surgery, General Surgery

    Houston, TX 0 mi

    4.4
    (7)
    25