The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. David Summer Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. David Summer?

Chronic Dry Eye

Chronic Dry Eye

Get the facts about chronic dry eye, including the causes, symptoms and doctors who treat this condition.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. David Summer?

Ratings and Reviews

21 Ratings with 5 Comments

  • Excellent
    16
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    2
  • Excellent
    16
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    2

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
33.8 min
Bedside Manner

Showing 21 Ratings with 5 Comments

5.0 Rating

August 5th, 2016

I praise this doctor for his work. He has performed two eye surgeries for me, and I can now see as well as I did when I was 20.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 28th, 2016

Dr Summers saved my eyesight in right eye 20 years ago after getting a bacterial infection from a rose thorn that cut my eye when i was pruning it.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 30th, 2015

Cataract surgery - monovision

I had both cataract surgeries done by Dr. Summer. He explained the procedure and answered all of my questions. Because I had worn one contact for reading and my distance was fine Dr. Summer di monovision cataract surgery - one eye for distance and one eye for reading a computer. I can also read print, even phone books, without glasses unless the light is dim.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

June 26th, 2012

There are better eye doctors

Have been a patient of Dr. Summer for years but staff and waiting room time have deteriorated over past few years. Staff is surly, abrupt, waiting room times average over more than one hour, dr. is rushed and one never knows if he is talking to you or his nurse. No apologies ever provided. I will find a new eye doctor.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 28th, 2011

Rude and Dismissive

I have never in my life experienced such a rude doctor. After waiting well over an hour to finally see Dr. Summer, he wasarrogant, condescending and dismissive to my elderly mother. When she asked him a question, his response was "I already told you" and then graced us with having to explain it again. He was rushing through his diagnosis and obviously wanted to move along to the next herd of cattle. Office staff was equally as rude. No smiles in that office except for Kimberly who was a breath of fresh air. She actually took her time with my mother and even smiled. We're changing doctors. We've been putting up with this horrible bedside manner for years and it's time to make a change. Dr. Summer has forgotten that his patients pay his bill. What a disgrace to the medical profession.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 7th, 2016

5.0 Rating

May 9th, 2016

5.0 Rating

April 26th, 2016

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

September 22nd, 2015

5.0 Rating

August 28th, 2015

5.0 Rating

August 27th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

February 18th, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. David Summer is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Fairfax, VA.

  • Dr. John Essepian III

    Ophthalmology

    Fairfax, VA 0.01 mi

    29
  • Dr. John Baldinger

    Ophthalmology

    Fairfax, VA 0.09 mi

    3.1
    (3)
    37
  • Dr. Jonathan Taylormoore

    Dr. Jonathan Taylormoore

    Ophthalmology

    Fairfax, VA 0.12 mi

    4.7
    (10)
    14