Dr. David Tom MD Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

3.3
  • 41 patient ratings
  • 9 reviews

Last 12 months:

no change

9 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    51%
  • Satisfied
    2%
  • Neutral
    10%
  • Dissatisfied
    2%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    34%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 47.6 minutes

Showing 1 - 9 reviews

5.0 of 5
February 23rd, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been seeing Dr Tom for over 2 years for treatment of macular degeneration. He has been very courteous and caring and very capable physician. He took the time to explain my condition and my options and involved me in my treatment decisions every step of the way. I would highly recomment Dr Tom to my close family and freinds
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
July 11th, 2015
Rude staff. Do not recommend to anyone
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The procedure was done promptly initially. The follow up appointment was a disaster. It has nothing to do with the Dr. All the staffs were rude and full of themselves. On my follow up appointment, after my eyes were dilated, I waited for over 2 hours. All the staffs from front desk to nurses have a don't care, we know better attitude. They are used to treating elderlies and they talked to them as if they are all stupid. The doctor looked at my eye for 2 minutes and he said it heeled nicely. No apology and no information was given while the emergency supposedly delayed everyone for one hour. Even with that the delay without the emergency was 1 1/2 hour. The doctor should be charged for my time spent there.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 7th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent experience. Made me very comfortable. Took the time I needed to explain and answer questions.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 13th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
DT. Tom and his staff were very knowledgeable, caring and compassionate.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 21st, 2014
Splendid
Great staff and a knowledgeable, caring doctor. I felt very safe being treated by Dr. Tom. Although there may be complaints about wait time; patients should resize that is a result of retina care and how much time Dr. Tom to each patient.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 12th, 2014
Rude
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He rather talk about his vacations than discuss my eye problems.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 18th, 2013
Stay away
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The staff is nice enough, but I waited over an hour to meet an angry, terse man who explained nothing and hurt me when he examined my eye.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 19th, 2012
Rude to his own staff and LATE
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Spends more time yelling at his staff than examining patients. Did not explain what was wrong with my eyes (despite multiple visits).
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 4th, 2011
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was treated by Dr. Tom for a detached retina. My regular eye doctor called Dr. Tom's office at 10AM and I was being seen at 1PM the same day. I had in-office surgery to re-attach retina. Also had surgery 2 weeks later in YNHH on same eye. I found Dr. Tom to be very caring and didn't make me feel rushed. He answered all my questions and explained everything he was doing. I feel very comfortable with Dr. Tom and still see him every year to follow up on my eye. Since my original surgery, I have also had holes in the retina of my other eye and Dr. Tom corrected with laser surgery. I feel very comfortable recommending him to my friends and associates who have retina problems.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. David Tom, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Hamden, CT.

Doctor

Dr. Juner Colina-Biscotto

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. John Huang

17 years experience

4.8 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Gregory Haffner

16 years experience

4.0 of 5