ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. David Tom Is this you?
  • 25
  • 3
  • 5
  • 1
  • 15

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
48.6 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. David Tom?


49 Ratings with 11 Comments

4.0 Rating

July 21st, 2017

Waiting time to see the doctor is always too long

I have been a patient of Dr. Toms for many years and although he is a fabulous physician, the wait time to see him is often ridiculous. The waiting room is always packed with patients. I truly believe that they over book patients. Don't get me wrong, Dr. Tom is wonderful and so is all of his staff, but I have problems with my legs and the waiting time may just have me seek out another physician.

Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 4th, 2017

An Okay Doctor with horrendous staff

I went to the Old Greenwich office to see Dr. Tom. He was nice, and the majority of the staff was friendly, even though my wait was very lengthy. However, one of the medical technicians Grace was one of the rudest people I have ever met. She seemed to be hostile to fellow employees and I could hear her yelling at other patients as well. She was unsympathetic and dismissive when I asked questions prior to getting pictures taken. As a patient who was very scared, I am horrified that someone as RUDE as that is allowed to interact with patients.

Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 24th, 2016

I have been seeing Dr Tom for over 2 years for treatment of macular degeneration. He has been very courteous and caring and very capable physician. He took the time to explain my condition and my options and involved me in my treatment decisions every step of the way. I would highly recomment Dr Tom to my close family and freinds

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.0 Rating

July 11th, 2015

Rude staff. Do not recommend to anyone

The procedure was done promptly initially. The follow up appointment was a disaster. It has nothing to do with the Dr. All the staffs were rude and full of themselves. On my follow up appointment, after my eyes were dilated, I waited for over 2 hours. All the staffs from front desk to nurses have a don't care, we know better attitude. They are used to treating elderlies and they talked to them as if they are all stupid. The doctor looked at my eye for 2 minutes and he said it heeled nicely. No apology and no information was given while the emergency supposedly delayed everyone for one hour. Even with that the delay without the emergency was 1 1/2 hour. The doctor should be charged for my time spent there.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 7th, 2015

Excellent experience. Made me very comfortable. Took the time I needed to explain and answer questions.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 13th, 2015

DT. Tom and his staff were very knowledgeable, caring and compassionate.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 21st, 2014

Splendid

Great staff and a knowledgeable, caring doctor. I felt very safe being treated by Dr. Tom. Although there may be complaints about wait time; patients should resize that is a result of retina care and how much time Dr. Tom to each patient.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 12th, 2014

Rude

He rather talk about his vacations than discuss my eye problems.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

1.0 Rating

June 18th, 2013

Stay away

The staff is nice enough, but I waited over an hour to meet an angry, terse man who explained nothing and hurt me when he examined my eye.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 19th, 2012

Rude to his own staff and LATE

Spends more time yelling at his staff than examining patients. Did not explain what was wrong with my eyes (despite multiple visits).

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 4th, 2011

I was treated by Dr. Tom for a detached retina. My regular eye doctor called Dr. Tom's office at 10AM and I was being seen at 1PM the same day. I had in-office surgery to re-attach retina. Also had surgery 2 weeks later in YNHH on same eye. I found Dr. Tom to be very caring and didn't make me feel rushed. He answered all my questions and explained everything he was doing. I feel very comfortable with Dr. Tom and still see him every year to follow up on my eye. Since my original surgery, I have also had holes in the retina of my other eye and Dr. Tom corrected with laser surgery. I feel very comfortable recommending him to my friends and associates who have retina problems.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 24th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. David Tom is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Hamden, CT.

  • Dr. John Huang

    Dr. John Huang

    Ophthalmology

    Hamden, CT 0 mi

    4.4
    (11)
    17
  • Dr. Gregory Haffner

    Dr. Gregory Haffner

    Ophthalmology

    Hamden, CT 0 mi

    4.1
    (58)
    16
  • Dr. Juner Colina-Biscotto

    Ophthalmology

    Hamden, CT 0 mi

    4.0
    (3)