Dr. David Carlson MD Patient Reviews

  • Family Medicine Garland, TX

Overall Rating

3.5
  • 41 patient ratings
  • 17 comments

Last 12 months:

2.8 (-0.7)

17 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    41%
  • Satisfied
    24%
  • Neutral
    2%
  • Dissatisfied
    7%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    24%
  • Wait Time 36 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
March 21st, 2017
This doctor is rude and condescending.
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He misdiagnosed me, and caused me a lot of harm. He didn't take time to find out what was really wrong with me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 21st, 2016
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After a recommendition form my farther I thought I give him a try. I have found him to be extremely knowledgable and have been very satisfied with him and his office staff. Sometimes you may have to wait but he is taking the right time with patients.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 16th, 2016
Uncaring
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Worst DR in Texas! Does not care about your well being when you try to help yourself .
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 17th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Rude customer services!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
June 15th, 2015
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
I had a first time appointment with Dr. David W. Carlson. I was expecting a fair amount of time to talk as this was a new Dr. for me. I got about 12 minutes. The Dr. was loud, scatter minded, he much preferred talking than listening. This was a very disappointing meeting. I will find a compassionate Dr. and leave this one alone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 30th, 2013
Bad service
Wait time
5 minutes
I waited 3hrs with a baby for a 5min service.... And only to walk out of the doctors office with him wanting to prescribe me vicadin and thats after i told him i breastfed and all i got from him was a shrug at the shoulders. I am not happy with the cash pay price either... Way too expensive for what I could of accomplished at CareNow... I do not recommend this doctor to anyone...RUN!!! Much better service at CareNow and much cheaper!!! Oh and during my less than 5min exam he pushed on my stomach where it hurt and so I flinched and put my hand on his and he told me ""Don't touch me". Really?! Like I said really bad experience... I should have listened to all the bad reviews but I thought I would give him the benefit of the doubt. The reviews were definately on the spot!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Doctor's Response

Dr Carlson sees walk-ins and appointments. Tina did not have an appointment and had to be worked into the schedule. It was a really busy day. It is always a good idea to check with your insurance before you visit any healthcare provider. If you have not met your deductible, you will be required to pay your insurances contracted price. Tina would have had to pay the same price no matter where she went.


5.0 of 5
November 13th, 2012
retired
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been seeing Dr Carlson for 15 years. I have found him to be extremely knowledgable and have been very satisfied with him and his office. My husband has heart problems and the Dr he referred him to is great also he has a good connection with the best specialist Drs in the Dallas metroplex
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
September 17th, 2012
Satisfied
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been seeing Dr. Carlson for years and can honestly say he and his staff are good as they come. Yes there have been times when the wait time has been extended but I knew that when I made the appointment. I read the review from 6-13-11 and can honestly say the office manager I can talk to did not come come across rude nor does that even sound like something she would do. That person or patient must have mixed her up with someone else. I have seen the stress levels on all employees but when you deal with sickness day in and day out, who wouldn't come across like that at times. I for one, and my entire family, see Dr. Carlson and highly recommend him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
August 6th, 2012
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
went to see paula as a walk in. only reason i see paula is usually it is a lot quicker. receptionist not friendly at all. ive been going here off and on for over 10 years. paula comes in and first thing she says is i see your blood pressure is still high. i ask why is that. she says because im overweight and not checking my blood pressure on a regular basis. i say well i know a lot of people heavier than me and their blood pressure meds work fine. i give her a couple of examples and it makes her mad. so now she orders all kinds of tests and i tell her i have no ins let me see dr carlson. she says fine and walks out. nurse comes in and tells me to go back to waiting room where i had already been for over 45 minutes plus 15 minutes in exam room. needless to say i left and went to another doctor who saw me in 30 minutes total and was 25.00 cheaper for office visit plus give me a 3 month supply of meds instead of 30 day no refill. wont be going back to dr carlson and wont recommend anyone to his office esp seeing paula
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Doctor's Response

In May of 2013 we hired Toni Smith-WhiteEagle PA. She is very kind hearted with an extremely upbeat personality. She has 16 years of experience in Family Practice and really listens to our patients. I hope you give us another chance - I am trying hard to only hire intelligent and caring employees.


4.0 of 5
August 3rd, 2012
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Carlson is caring and professional. The wait time for my appointment was a little lengthy but I knew it would be going into the appointment. I had a problem with one of the staff members and the office manager intervened and helped me out. Now, if I encounter a problem, I ask for her specifically, knowing she will take care of my needs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 27th, 2012
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been seeing Dr Carlson for 15 years. I have found him to be extremely knowledgable and have been very satisfied with him and his office. He treats my entire family and my elderly mother. I find him especially thoughtful when prescribing meds/alternatives for my 87 year old mother. He has really stayed on top of her care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
March 6th, 2012
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been here for years also and Dr. Carlson goes the extra to really get down to the root of the problem. He spends time and often just ask how life is going. Amanda his nurse has always been a big help whenever I needed something that didn't require the doctor. The staff is very stressed and we all have bad days but where can you go these days and be seen the same day? Most days they deal with sick grumpy people and they still come back to work every day to help you!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. David Carlson, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Garland, TX.