Dr. David Chen MD Patient Reviews

  • Urology Philadelphia, PA

Overall Rating

4.7
  • 19 patient ratings
  • 11 comments

Last 12 months:

4.5 (-0.2)

11 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    79%
  • Satisfied
    16%
  • Neutral
    5%
  • Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Wait Time 14.5 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 11 reviews

5.0 of 5
March 25th, 2017
Prostate Cancer Treatment
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been a patient of Dr. Chen's since 2015, when he operated on me for prostate cancer. Dr. Chen has been very involved in my care, encourages your questions and answers them in a professional and caring manner. He maintains an open dialogue - I have been able to call Dr. Chen and ask questions during my recovery and have found him to be most patient and available. During my post surgery visits, Dr. Chen continues to be open, frank and provides options to any topic discussed and I have never felt rushed during office visits.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 1st, 2016
A physician with both ethics and knowledge
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
End of 2005, a cytologic diagnosis showed that, there were Positive Malignant cells in my urine. I then went to a top cancer hospital for a biopsy. Nothing was found in my bladder. Since then, I had a cyctoscopy on my bladder every 6 months, and, always, nothing was found in my bladder. Also, always, almost all the cytologic diagnosis showed that there was “Atypical Cells Present” in my urine. Not until early 2014 that my then doctor found, for the first time, at a routine cystoscopy, that there was a red semi-circle around the distal end of my urethra, which was never carefully surveyed in all my previous cyctoscopies done by him before. He then hurriedly arranged a biopsy for me a few days later. Only then I was told that the biopsy would be done in the forms of “frozen sections”, i.e. my private part would be kept being cut off section by section and examined until it was sure that no more cancer cells remained in my private part. I refused to take this kind of “biopsy” and left that hospital. After that, I spent several months to look for a good doctor to take care of me. An intern in a renowned cancer hospital that is far away from my then residence suggested Doctor David Chen of Fox Chase to me. I went to see Doctor Chen. I found that he was very knowledgeable of my disease. He was very patient and took time to explain to me my disease and ways to treat it. I found that he was the doctor I was looking for. He then did a biopsy for me. A tiny specimen was taken away from my urethra for diagnosis. It turned out that my cancer was “non-invasive high-grade papillary urethral carcinoma.” I asked him to allow me a watchful wait. He granted my request. Early this year (2016), it was found that my cancer was getting more protruding. He then ordered a surgery. The surgery was very successful. Only a short section of my urethra was taken away. My private part is basically kept intact. A few days later, the catheter was taken away, and I could urinate standing. I had a cystoscopy recently, and nothing was found in my urethra. I feel lucky to have found Dr. Chen, who is an expert in genitourinary cancer, and with both ethics and knowledge. I will recommend him without reservation to anyone who has a need of his expertise. Also, his support team is marvelous, and in particular, Sue Burke, who is very warm and professional.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 28th, 2016
Prostate Cancer
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
What is memorable about Dr Chen is that he talked me out of an operation to remove my prostate. I went to him when I was diagnosed with prostate cancer. It was discovered when I couldn't urinate an had to use a Foley Catheter. I wad told that I would have to deal with the prostate cancer, either thru surgery or Chemo, or other means. When I went to Dr Chen, he told me that I had a mild case of prostate cancer and that I should not take any action at that time but wait and watch. He did do an operation called a TURP which opened up channel thru my prostate and enabled me to urinate. That minor operation was so successful that I had no more problems with urination and should have that operation years earlier.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
March 30th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I would gladly recommend Dr Chen to anyone with urological problems. He's very professional and spends time explaining every aspect of your ailment and treatment.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 12th, 2015
Fox Chase is the Best
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After my prostate cancer returned after 4 years, following treatment at another hospital I went to Fox Chase. Dr. Chen was able to do a salvage prostatectomy. He has been instrumental in helping me beat this cancer.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 30th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This man saved my husbands life. I will forever recommend him to others with the threat of kidney cancer.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 12th, 2014
Mr.
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Chen is extremely knowledgeable and exudes confidence. He explains procedures thoroughly and makes you feel assured. Dr. Chen and his entire team are very competent and caring.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 15th, 2013
Accurate diagnosis, accurate surgery
Wait time
5 minutes
Dr. Chen has an excellent bedside manner that inspired confidence when I went in for what he suspected correctly was a cancerous tumor. His leadership in planning follow-up over the last several years at Fox Chase Cancer Center ensured that i did not have to undergo any unnecessary treatments once the tumor was removed. I am grateful to him and to his wonderful staff for their excellent treatment.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 11th, 2013
The Prostate Surgeon You Need
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Tests showed my prostate was riddled with caner. My urologist mentioned Fox Chase Cancer Center. On their Internet site I could research every doctor who could preform prostate surgery. I chose Dr. David Chen. He performed da Vinci robotic assisted surgery and removed my prostate. It's been six months, and all tests have shown I'm cancer free. I made the right choice.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 9th, 2013
Best decision I ever made
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
When I was diagnosed with cancer in both kidneys, the South Jersey doctors wanted to take one kidney and do laproscopic surgery on the other. I went to Fox Chase and Dr Chen saved both kidneys. When he operated, he discovered the kidney they wanted to do laproscopic surgery on was actually worse than the other. They would not have found out if they did it their way. Five years later, I am alive and well with two functioning kidneys thanks to him. He was caring and easy to talk to; he went over all the options before the surgery, and since has followed up with great care. He and the staff at Fox Chase are amazing! Cancer is all they do, so you know you are getting the best, most up to date care!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 2nd, 2012
Patient and Thorough
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Chen was reassuring about my wife's diagnosis of cancer, completely explaining the expected treatment and her likely outcome. He was completely correct in his predictions for her, and now she is cancer free and quickly back to normal after her surgery. The first doctor recommended a big operation and she was going to need to lose her kidney, and Dr. Chen was able to preserve her kidney and perform the surgery with really small cuts. We would recommend you always get a second opinion, especially with an expert like Dr. Chen!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. David Chen, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Philadelphia, PA.

Doctor

Dr. Rosalia Viterbo

17 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Philip Abbosh

12 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Alexander Kutikov

14 years experience

4.9 of 5