Dr. Dawn Black MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.1
  • 40 patient ratings
  • 11 comments

Last 12 months:

4.2 (+ 1.1)

11 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    48%
  • Satisfied
    5%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    8%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    40%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 34.8 minutes

Showing 1 - 11 reviews

5.0 of 5
March 9th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Love her!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
April 1st, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
More concerned with getting off at 4:30 than her patients birth experience. Terrible bedside manner.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 16th, 2015
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The staff is horrible! I waited for 1 hours before the nurse came in the room to tell me that Dr. Black couldn't see me. After a month I received a bill from their office, I had to fight to get that take off my account because I was never seen. Please don't waste your time. Also, you have to pay $8.00 for parking which is not bad if you are actually seen by the doctor. Last note, the nurse has no customer service skills.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 24th, 2012
Nice Doctor, Terrible Staff
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Black works with a larger practice of OBGYN's called OGA in the Houston Medical Center. The phone service that services OGA and takes appointments is TERRIBLE. When you first call in, you're lucky to be on hold less than 15 minutes. Once a person finally picks up the phone, they ask you what you're calling for, and then proceed to "transfer" you, aka, you wait another 10-15 minutes listening to their annoying hold messages (which, by the way, contain outdated information. For instance, they no longer do Saturday appointments as they hold message advertises.) After you've finally been transferred to someone who can "help" you, most likely they will be rude and pushy, treat you like they're doing you a favor by getting you an appointment, and will then most likely tell you the wrong day, or in my case, month, that that appointment will take place. After they think they're done they will hang up on you, and good luck calling back in to confirm what time they said. Total nightmare. Once you arrive for your appointment, be prepared to sit in the waiting room for about 45 minutes, then be transferred to the examining room where you will wait for another 45 minutes to 1 hour. Dr. Black herself seems friendly and knoweledgable, but I am switching doctors because I cannot stand to be treated in such a ridiculous manner by the phone staff. I'm a paying customer for God's sake!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 16th, 2011
Poor Customer Service/ Staff
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am pregnant and experiencing lower abdomen pain, she would always say that is normal. I went out and bought the maternity belt, that didnt work, it would be times that I could not get out of the bed, hurting so bad that I would be in tears, again her response was the joys of having a second baby. I went online to research severe pelvic pain and found out that its not all that normal its a condition called SPD. Walking, sitting, just about everything I do will hurt. She then suggested that I would try for my STD, what a nightmare, her staff has been slow in responding to my insurance company, its been over 30 days and still the run around. I am almost 37 weeks and looking for a new doctor. I am tired, frustrated and ready for a change. She will not be my doctor ever again. Not only did I diagnose myself but I am leaving for a better doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 19th, 2011
Wonderful bedside manner
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My overall experience with Dr. Black was excellent. She has a wonderful bedside manner and made me feel at ease. She is very personable. I'm a shy person by nature and I felt very comfortable with her before, during and after my exam.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 23rd, 2010
Considering Suit
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I struggle with how much information to provide here. I want you to find another doctor, but am afraid that my right to file suit against her might be jeapordized by information I provide here. Bottom Line: She ignored warning signs, a call from a u/s doctor, u/s results, my calls, went out of town and kept me in the hospital over the weekend instead of performing the emergency c-section other hospital doctors indicated should be performed. Hours after she finally did perform it on Monday, she joked about not needing tampons while explaining that I was hemorraging and that she needed to perform an emergency hysterectomy. I didn't get to see my babies until they were 3 days old. Thank God they are healthy. If I still had a uterus, there is no way I would trust it to her.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 14th, 2009
Please read, do not select Dr. Black.
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I feel sick that I did not leave her practice sooner, there are so many wonderful doctors out there. I do not care who you select just please do not use Dr. Black. Dr. Black has zero bedside manner, does not make the birth of your child joyous at all. She is going through the motions at best. My children are nice and healthy but I feel sad when I hear wonderful stories about the delivery room from friends who had great doctors and I can't say the same. She is like a robot.I did not realize this until my second son was born and a very nice nurse filled me in on this but Dr. Black is one of the only Drs at Womens that does not use any form of pain medicine when doing a circumcision Awful! The pediatric surgeons use pain medicine, why wouldn't she? If you are thinking of using Dr. Black please visit with a few more doctors and you will be able to tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 3rd, 2008
dont use her
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
she is pompous and doesnt give any advise. you have to cajole her to get the answers. she dislikes going to weekends to deliver. i think she even has inside understanding with womans hospital not to accept her patients during weekends.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 16th, 2008
Cold and aloof
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She is cold and doesn't listen to patients. After the visit i had to contact her 5 times to get test results. I do not recomend her.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 6th, 2008
I love this doctor!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Black is wonderful! I had my second child with her and she is so professional. She has a wonderful personality. The staff is very nice, too. If you're a shy or private woman, she makes you feel very comfortable and at ease.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Dawn Black, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Houston, TX.

Doctor

Dr. Heidi Purcell

7 years experience

4.8 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Lisa Otey

27 years experience

4.7 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Theresa Robinson

32 years experience

3.9 of 5