The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Dean Altenhofen Is this you?
  • 48
  • 4
  • 4
  • 2
  • 6

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
30.3 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Dean Altenhofen?


64 Ratings with 14 Comments

5.0 Rating

October 4th, 2015

Best doc out there

Best c section I have ever had. He is super quick, the nurses sang his praises, because less risk of infection. He is one of those super smart doctors who stays informed!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 2nd, 2015

Best doctor ever.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 26th, 2015

patient, kind, delivered both of my kids, the best doctor ever

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 19th, 2015

Dr. Altenhofen delivered my youngest daughter in 1995!!! He was remarkable and is our doctor now for both of us. As long as he is in practice he will be our doctor for our woman health needs. He and his staff go above and beyond which is hard to find in a doctor anymore. We highly recommend!!!

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 17th, 2014

My Favorite OB/GYN

I have been a patient of Dr. Dean Altenhofen since I was 18 years old he delivered both my children which are now 21 and 16. I love his friendly staff. I have never had a bad experience at his office. I have recommended several patients to his office. He is a wonderful and friendly doctor, easy to talk to and a good listener. I will continue to recommend patients to him. I am glad he is my doctor I wouldn't trade him for all the tea in China.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 27th, 2013

Terrible Staff, Mediocre Doctor.

My appointment was at 9:15am. The night before, I'd written down my medical history so that when I got there, there'd be no mistakes in communication. I got there early (about 9:00) to get paperwork done. I was in the waiting room until 10:15am. Finished my paperwork, and was told that my endocrinologist hadn't faxed my tests and other things that he'd done to this office when according to the front desk person, he'd had a week to do so. Then I was told that they "lost" the paperwork. Then, when I went back to "talk to the nurse and get my vitals" It was more like the nurse YELLING at me, for things that happened in the ER that weren't within my control, and she NEVER took my vitals. Didn't weigh me, didn't take my blood pressure, temperature, nothing. THEN, when I told her that I had written down everything last night, she took it from me, ripped it into pieces and told me "The doctor will have no use for this, so..." Because of that happening, I was already mad and overwhelmed.. I was then sent back out into the waiting room for about ten minutes, and then I was placed in a room. Waited AGAIN for about five minutes before the doc came in, and he talked literally the ENTIRE time. I couldn't get a word in edgewise. He was in the room MAYBE five minutes, total. That whole time he was basically like "Oh well you MIGHT have endometriosis, and you MIGHT have PMDD, so we're just gonna put you on a birth control that stops your period." That was LITERALLY it. No "We'll do this for a certain amount of time and then schedule a follow up." He did absolutely NOTHING.Not only did he make me feel unimportant by not listening to me, but he talked over my SO as well when he tried telling him about certain symptoms I'd been having. Long story short, I paid for a doctor to talk over me and more questions, but no answers. Left that doctors office crying, and I guarantee you that I WILL NOT be going back. CANNOT believe that this was the doctor that delivered me.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 7th, 2013

Great Doctor!

Dr. Altenhofen is the best OB/GYN in the Pensacola area. He is very kind and respectful to his patients and their families. I have told him that he cannot retire until I'm done having babies. I will not go to anyone else for anything OB/GYN related. If you are needed a great doctor, he is it! And his staff is amazing. They have become, alomst like girl friends to me. They know me on a first name basis. They all, including Dr. A spend time getting to know you and making you feel as comfortable as possible!

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 24th, 2012

I AM VERY HAPPY WITH HIM AND HIS STAFF
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

June 13th, 2012

Not so much ...

I had gestationaL diabetes during my pregnancy and Dr. Altenhofen kept asking me if I had had a test. I had -but a one hour test that he would have seen if he had looked at the chart. In addition, when I complained of night sweats and the fact that I was broken out, he suggested I bathe more often. (I was, and am, and extremely clean person.) So, no, I do not even remotely recommend this doctor.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 20th, 2012

THE BEST EVER

Dr. A delivered my 2nd baby. You may have to wait awhile to be seen but you do have to understand he is a very busy Doctor. When I was in the hospital after giving birth, Dr. A came by to check on me every day I was in there. He has wonderful bedside manners and he cares about his patients.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 16th, 2011

Very friendly.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

March 17th, 2010

compassion?

Spent roughly 2 hours in the waiting room with 27 other people... some came in after me but were seen before me. At 1pm I was the only person left in the room and the receptionist put up her "Gone to Lunch back at 2) sign. The nurse came for me, escorted me to a room where the doc whisked in, performed a PAP, an ultrasound and then (without explanation) an endometrial biopsy. My tears of fear (survivor of extensive childhood sexual abuse) went unnoticed. As I left they had me sign the consent for the biopsy - guess in too much of a hurry to explain it before. While I sat sobbing and shaking in my car, the doc peeled out of the parking lot , kicking up gravel behind him as he left for lunch.Thanks... but no thanks

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Dean Altenhofen is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Pensacola, FL.

  • Dr. Emilio Antonetti

    Dr. Emilio Antonetti

    Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Pensacola, FL 0.11 mi

    4.3
    (67)
    33
  • Dr. William Keene

    Gynecology, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Internal Medicine

    Pensacola, FL 0.39 mi

    5.0
    (3)
    41
  • Dr. Usha Kundu

    Dr. Usha Kundu

    Gynecology, Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Pensacola, FL 0.64 mi

    2.8
    (53)
    46