Dr. Dean Altenhofen MD Patient Reviews

  • Obstetrics and Gynecology Pensacola, FL

Overall Rating

4.4
  • 64 patient ratings
  • 14 comments

Last 12 months:

3.8 (-0.6)

64 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    75%
  • Great
    6%
  • Good
    6%
  • Poor
    3%
  • Bad
    9%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Wait Time 30.3 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
October 4th, 2015
Best doc out there
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Best c section I have ever had. He is super quick, the nurses sang his praises, because less risk of infection. He is one of those super smart doctors who stays informed!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 2nd, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Best doctor ever.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 26th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
patient, kind, delivered both of my kids, the best doctor ever
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 19th, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Altenhofen delivered my youngest daughter in 1995!!! He was remarkable and is our doctor now for both of us. As long as he is in practice he will be our doctor for our woman health needs. He and his staff go above and beyond which is hard to find in a doctor anymore. We highly recommend!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 17th, 2014
My Favorite OB/GYN
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been a patient of Dr. Dean Altenhofen since I was 18 years old he delivered both my children which are now 21 and 16. I love his friendly staff. I have never had a bad experience at his office. I have recommended several patients to his office. He is a wonderful and friendly doctor, easy to talk to and a good listener. I will continue to recommend patients to him. I am glad he is my doctor I wouldn't trade him for all the tea in China.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 27th, 2013
Terrible Staff, Mediocre Doctor.
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My appointment was at 9:15am. The night before, I'd written down my medical history so that when I got there, there'd be no mistakes in communication. I got there early (about 9:00) to get paperwork done. I was in the waiting room until 10:15am. Finished my paperwork, and was told that my endocrinologist hadn't faxed my tests and other things that he'd done to this office when according to the front desk person, he'd had a week to do so. Then I was told that they "lost" the paperwork. Then, when I went back to "talk to the nurse and get my vitals" It was more like the nurse YELLING at me, for things that happened in the ER that weren't within my control, and she NEVER took my vitals. Didn't weigh me, didn't take my blood pressure, temperature, nothing. THEN, when I told her that I had written down everything last night, she took it from me, ripped it into pieces and told me "The doctor will have no use for this, so..." Because of that happening, I was already mad and overwhelmed.. I was then sent back out into the waiting room for about ten minutes, and then I was placed in a room. Waited AGAIN for about five minutes before the doc came in, and he talked literally the ENTIRE time. I couldn't get a word in edgewise. He was in the room MAYBE five minutes, total. That whole time he was basically like "Oh well you MIGHT have endometriosis, and you MIGHT have PMDD, so we're just gonna put you on a birth control that stops your period." That was LITERALLY it. No "We'll do this for a certain amount of time and then schedule a follow up." He did absolutely NOTHING.Not only did he make me feel unimportant by not listening to me, but he talked over my SO as well when he tried telling him about certain symptoms I'd been having. Long story short, I paid for a doctor to talk over me and more questions, but no answers. Left that doctors office crying, and I guarantee you that I WILL NOT be going back. CANNOT believe that this was the doctor that delivered me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 7th, 2013
Great Doctor!
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Altenhofen is the best OB/GYN in the Pensacola area. He is very kind and respectful to his patients and their families. I have told him that he cannot retire until I'm done having babies. I will not go to anyone else for anything OB/GYN related. If you are needed a great doctor, he is it! And his staff is amazing. They have become, alomst like girl friends to me. They know me on a first name basis. They all, including Dr. A spend time getting to know you and making you feel as comfortable as possible!

5.0 of 5
September 24th, 2012
I AM VERY HAPPY WITH HIM AND HIS STAFF
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 13th, 2012
Not so much ...
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had gestationaL diabetes during my pregnancy and Dr. Altenhofen kept asking me if I had had a test. I had -but a one hour test that he would have seen if he had looked at the chart. In addition, when I complained of night sweats and the fact that I was broken out, he suggested I bathe more often. (I was, and am, and extremely clean person.) So, no, I do not even remotely recommend this doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 20th, 2012
THE BEST EVER
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. A delivered my 2nd baby. You may have to wait awhile to be seen but you do have to understand he is a very busy Doctor. When I was in the hospital after giving birth, Dr. A came by to check on me every day I was in there. He has wonderful bedside manners and he cares about his patients.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 16th, 2011
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very friendly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
March 17th, 2010
compassion?
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Spent roughly 2 hours in the waiting room with 27 other people... some came in after me but were seen before me. At 1pm I was the only person left in the room and the receptionist put up her "Gone to Lunch back at 2) sign. The nurse came for me, escorted me to a room where the doc whisked in, performed a PAP, an ultrasound and then (without explanation) an endometrial biopsy. My tears of fear (survivor of extensive childhood sexual abuse) went unnoticed. As I left they had me sign the consent for the biopsy - guess in too much of a hurry to explain it before. While I sat sobbing and shaking in my car, the doc peeled out of the parking lot , kicking up gravel behind him as he left for lunch.Thanks... but no thanks
Was this review helpful? Yes No


Nearby Doctors

Dr. Dean Altenhofen, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Pensacola, FL.