Dr. Dean Cestari MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.6
  • 30 patient ratings
  • 10 comments

Last 12 months:

4.0 (+ 0.4)

10 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    60%
  • Satisfied
    0%
  • Neutral
    10%
  • Dissatisfied
    3%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    27%
  • Wait Time 37.1 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 10 reviews

5.0 of 5
September 8th, 2016
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
All preop appts were good. Each time a different Dr. took readings and each time Dr. Cestari did too--so I knew the readings would be accurate. Surgery went great and recovery id too. He is the best.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 26th, 2014
Double vision Surgery
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My issue was double vision, went through many many tests prior to seeing him. First visit was 4 years ago and I got prisms for my glasses. Jump to 2 years later and the double vision is more frequent & needed a stronger prism. Just last week I had very successful surgery. Yes the wait time can be long in the office but in the end it's worth it. ( and the drive into Boston horrible). Reminder this is a teaching hospital . Dr Cestari has always been very professional and very pleasant to deal with. He called the day after surgery and so did the hospital the next to see how I was doing. He took the time to answer questions and concerns. I would highly recommend him. And let the staff and any doctor know if your not happy about something, wait time, answers etc. I truly believe they are there to help.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 29th, 2014
Waste of time.
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was referred to him because i was told he was the best in the field to diagnose my acute forth cranial nerve palsy. Waited over two hours to see him. No tests were done and was told secondary to diabetes. He was in the exam room for less than 1 minute. I was referred by my ophthalmologist to see him because he thought it was a good possibility that my double vision was caused by MS. Dr. Cestari was informed of this and dismissed it all together. Asking him questions seemed to make him irritable. Years later and newer symptoms and suffering because other doctors didn't look into MS after that because Dr. Cestari said it was secondary to diabetes. I also waited 3 months to see him. Picture going to your normal eye doctor for double vision and getting told that its very common that cranial nerve 4 palsy is caused by MS and waiting 3 months to see a specialist just to be told that its diabetic related. No other doctor would even suggest MS because of Dr. Cestari's findings. Years later after suffering I was diagnosed with MS. Thanks Dr. for wasting my time and making my quality of life worse. Personally I believe that any good reviews are from his staff.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 22nd, 2012
Cestari is fantastic
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was extremely pleased with Dr. Cestari and his team. I had surgery for an unusual onset of double vision and I could not be happier with my outcome. Dr. Cestari always took lots of time with me, was pleasant, interested in my problem and was very caring and took my eye problem very seriously. He has a fantastic personality and great sense of humor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 30th, 2012
Doesn't live up to the hype
Wait time
55 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Cestari was referred to me as an "expert" in treating my problem. After waiting for nearly an hour, I spent most of the visit being examined by arrogant, cocky, and obnoxious fellows and residents. Dr. Cestari then met with me for around 10 minutes. After ignoring most of my questions and reported symptoms, he told me there was nothing wrong with me. Later visits to a more competent physician yielded a proper diagnosis of a problem that had existed since birth that Dr. cestari missed.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 30th, 2012
Best doctor in boston!
Dr cestari is kind, energetic and knowledeable. He fixedMy problem when countless other doctors said nothingCould be done! He is the best!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 12th, 2012
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is extremely knowledgable and personable.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 21st, 2010
Fine diagnostician, lovely person
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
For more than a decade, top eye specialists couldn't correct two eye problems. Dr. Cestari did. I had a dozen questions and Dr. Cestari encouraged me to ask them all. And what a relief to see well and be fully at ease driving. Dr. Cestari is talented, modest, good-humored and kind. Definitely among the best of Boston.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 10th, 2010
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Had a resident attend to me. Seemed to be in a rush and spent roughly 5 minutes visiting me and gave me no explanation to the reason for my problems. I would find a more professional and capable doctor for your medical ills.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 23rd, 2008
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
He is very empathetic and courteous with his patients.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Dean Cestari, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Boston, MA.

Doctor

Dr. Ivana Kim

19 years experience

3.3 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Veena Rao

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Sotiria Palioura

6 years experience

4.7 of 5