The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Deanna Derusso Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Deanna Derusso?

COPD

COPD

Get the facts about chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), including symptoms and complications.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Deanna Derusso?

Ratings and Reviews

28 Ratings with 19 Comments

  • Excellent
    22
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    2
  • Excellent
    22
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    2

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
24.7 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 28 Ratings with 19 Comments

5.0 Rating

August 13th, 2017

Best I or my Husband has ever Visited

I have been going to my alternative homeopathy doctor and several other specialists for years. When I found Dr. DeRusso I finally began feeling like myself again. She was able to treat my illness and especially my thyroid problem and I finally felt alive again. I lost the weight I couldn't lose, got my energy back, was able to focus and "think" again, and my body stopped hurting everywhere! It was amazing. Thank you Dr. D for 'thinking outside the box', I have my life back again!

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 23rd, 2017

Great Doctor - knowledgeable and kind

Great doctor. Great personality, easy to talk to; staff is very accomadating. She does tend to run behind a little but that is because she is busy with a large following of patients. I'm not even sure I would go to a doctor who wasn't in such high demand. She is the best doctor around.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 21st, 2017

Brilliant Doctor of Internal Medicine

Our daughter was sick for months. We went to numerous doctors, neurologists, and even in and out of 2 very highly acclaimed hospitals with no results. Even though there were so many test done, nobody was able to figure out what was happening to our daughter and why she was not able to think or get out of bed. We were devastated until we finally took her to Dr. D, who spent a lot of time with us. Amazingly, she was able to figure out what was going on with our daughter and then treat her. My daughter began to recover on a treatment plan that the doctor created on her own. My daughter is fully recovering and thriving and all thanks to this doctor. We knew she doesn't take but one insurance plan, but she was so worth it. If you have something wrong with you, this doctor will figure it out.

Wait time
15 minutes
Promptness
Bedside Manner
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 4th, 2017

Great Doctor

My wife and I are amazed with what she has done for our family. She may not be on time, but I have learn over the years that she is the "go to" doctor when others can't figure out what is wrong; therefore, instead of shoveling people to some specialist, she is busy figuring out what is wrong with people. I guess it is too hard for her staff to know how long to schedule each person... Dr. DeRusso is brilliant and will figure out what is wrong with the patient and sometimes it take time. My wife started seeing her first, but when my doctor and a few specialist couldn't figure out what was wrong with me; my wife made me go to her. Best decision ever. Highly recommend. The least I can do is write her a few reviews.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 7th, 2016

Brilliant Doctor

Excellent doctor who figure out what was wrong with me... I spent so much time going to doctor to doctor, but Dr. DeRusson figured it out quickly.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 1st, 2015

15 year history - superior doctor.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

February 24th, 2014

Be Cautious

I have a love hate relationship with most doctors. But, for better or for worse, it takes quite a bit for me to start looking for another one. I think I've reached that point with this one. I've accepted that this doctor is always running late, that the hours are often impossible, and that she doesn't hide the fact that she is truly fee for service. I've accepted that despite stating she is a primary care doctor, she does not ever seem to know what was recommended by a specialist, and always says it's the other doctor's fault (they didn't send XYZ to her). She does not use much technology, so she cannot do what other doctors can do, and find lab results or information when you are in the office. She is not willing to stand up for you as a primary care doctor and help advocate for you. I accepted that she sees a lot of patients, and so doesn't remember things, but recently I was there 3-4 times in 6 weeks, and the test that was dine was one she ordered. She isn't very happy about giving you copies of labs, and if it is a test ordered by another doctor, she will not go over it with you. In the last 6 months she has yelled at me twice, although she later apologized for one of time. The last time she refused to send a test she had done to another provider, telling me I should go to a specialist I see who can do the test because the specialist gets paid more. Then, she BILLED MY INSURANCE for a test she never did. I now have to take additional time off work to go have the test done, pay another copay (this time to a specialist), and untangle the billing issues caused by the test she billed for being done again. I'm looking for a new doctor, and have no doubt that I'll get a bill for at least $100 in order to get my records from her. After all, if you charge $800 for a test you didn't do, copying paper is worth at least .10 per page.

Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 25th, 2013

teacher

I was so lucky to find her as I am new resident of the city. She is well informed and very caring! Her staff is just as wonderful!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 12th, 2013

The doctor would rip off your bank balance. Diagnosis is poor. Each small thing as a bruise on your hand would cost you $250. If you have extra money to throw, use the doctor. Would not recommend even to an enemy. Would have given a zero or negative rating if I could

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 4th, 2013

Best Primary Care Physician

Dr derusso was great! She searched and found what was wrong with me and diagnosed my problem! I was feeling horrible for so long and she finally found what was wrong with me. She didn't just hand me a bunch of "feel good" drugs to make me feel better; she was very interested in keeping me off all medications and really finding out what was going on.She diagnosed my illness and I finally feel amazing and on the road to recovery and fully medication-free!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 29th, 2012

Best internal medicine doctor in VA

I have been seeing dr Derusso for about 10 years. Since I am a little older now with several medical conditions, I need a doctor who understands the big picture, ie proactive and comprehensive. She is so smart and caring and I am sure she has saved my life a few times over. My husband also goes to her because of serious health issues. Her office stays very busy but she always spends as much time as needed. She knows the best doctors for referrals also and has extensive knowledge on about every medical condition there is. Highly recommend her to everyone.

Wait time
25 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 11th, 2012

Best In Practice

Dr. DeRusso is a very sharp and intelligent practitioner who is very persistent in getting a hard-to-find diagnosis. She is very capable, and exceeds the expectations. The wait in her office, however, can be gruesome. But, it helps to keep in mind that she takes the time with each and every one of her patients to get to the bottom of some very difficult problems. The biggest problem that I've seen with the practice is that she is only one doctor in the office and when the office is closed, there is no backup doctor to contact for help or questions. While that is a major problem in my mind, it still helps to know that once you are actually able to reach her for a problem that she has the competence and ability to handle the issues at hand.

Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Deanna Derusso is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Leesburg, VA.

  • Dr. John Hartley III

    Dr. John Hartley III

    Cardiovascular Disease, Interventional Cardiology, Internal Medicine, Cardiology

    Leesburg, VA 0.25 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    36
  • Dr. Muhammad Siddiqui

    Dr. Muhammad Siddiqui

    Hospice and Palliative Medicine, Internal Medicine

    Leesburg, VA 0.38 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    8
  • Dr. Michael Serlin

    Infectious Disease, Internal Medicine

    Leesburg, VA 0.38 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    16