Dr. Dennis Buchanan MD Patient Reviews

  • Obstetrics and Gynecology Fullerton, CA

Overall Rating

4.2
  • 16 patient ratings
  • 5 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 0.8)

16 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    63%
  • Great
    13%
  • Good
    6%
  • Poor
    19%
  • Bad
    0%
  • Wait Time 16.7 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
July 23rd, 2013
Amazing Doctor
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This man saved my life 5 years ago when I was 14 years old, after not having a period for 6 months my mom brought me in to see him. He instantly found my problem, which was Hyperthyroidism due to an autoimmune condition called Graves' Disease. I know I scared him that day, but he remained professional and did everything in his power to make sure that I was going to be ok. He probably spent a good hour trying to get a hold of endocrinologists down at CHOC hospital. It turned out that I was actually going into a life threatening complication of this disease, so he sent me to the emergency room down there. The next morning he even called my mom to see how I was doing, and when she said that I might not get into the doctor he called and within 10 minutes the specialist's office called and asked if we could come in that day. If it weren't for him catching it that day and taking loads of time to try to get me into an endocrinologist, I honestly can say I probably wouldn't be here today. I recently just saw him again for the first time for another reason ,and he remembered me. He is still the most caring compassionate doctor ever, I would highly recommend him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
December 21st, 2010
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had Dr. Buchanan as my obgyn for my 2nd pregnancy. He was seemed to rush the appointment and always was giving quick answers. The disssapointing experience I had with him was that right after he delivered my son, he dashed right out of the delivery room. He also did not ask my husband if he wanted to cut the baby's chord. Like I said, he was always in a dash.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
November 6th, 2009
Staff is curt & not patient friendly
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor is fantastic but extremey busy. He will answer any question you have, but is difficult to schedule.His staff was so rude the last time I was in, I switched doctors. The staff is only concerned with the numbers game and to get all their forms signed. Forget that the name on the sheet is an actual person.The office manager is almost impossible and not the right person in my opinion for this wonderful doctor,
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
January 19th, 2009
mom
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Dr. B was a nice man and knew his stuff. I never felt that he spent much time or took a personal interest in me or my pregnancy. My hubby and I actually timed a visit one time at 90 seconds - no kidding. I felt safe in his care, but largely ignored. Also, the wait times at his office could be horrid. If you want to in and out quickly, this is your doc.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 20th, 2008
Great doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My wife and me had our pregnancy supervised and baby girl delivered by Dr. Buchanan and I basically have only praises for him. Of course, not all is perfect but he does stand out from the crowd. One advice for his prospective patients is have all your questions written down before the visit. He doesn't spend more than 5 minutes per visit unless you have questions for him to answer. By no means a bad thing, simply maximimum effectiveness. When you ask him he will always answer in great detail, so just be prepared to ask. The office has somewhat weird financial policies, but this is life.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 18th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
October 22nd, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 23rd, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 5th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 17th, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 22nd, 2014

5.0 of 5
September 28th, 2011
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Dennis Buchanan, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Fullerton, CA.