The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Dennis Gormley Is this you?

Filter Reviews

19 Ratings • 11 Comments

3.4
  • 7
  • 2
  • 3
  • 3
  • 4

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
33 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Dennis Gormley?

Showing 12 of 19 Ratings

Five Stars

Posted on July 28th, 2017

Patient over ten years! I have received excellent care.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

missed a retinal tear

Posted on December 21st, 2016

After I presented the reason for my visit, Dr Gormley examined me and, finding nothing wrong, suggested I return in two weeks. He seemed put off by my questions and was sarcastic and condescending. The next day, I ran in to a friend who suggested I see her ophthalmologist, Dr. Vincent Goivannazo. He immediately diagnosed a retinal tear, telling me that one look at my eyes without instruments was enough for him to know that the retina was torn. He did a laser repair on the spot. How can an ophthalmologist do a retinal exam and miss a tear? Do not trust Dr Gormley

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

confident

Posted on September 21st, 2016

One Star

Posted on October 1st, 2015

He is rude, sarcastic and makes you feel like a dummy when you ask a question. Glad I'm not the only one that feels the same

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Go to Dr Mostafavi or Dr Kung instead.

Posted on February 19th, 2015

My son had a 720am appt. After 3 1/2 hours he final finished up. This doctor is a stuck up, rude, condescending and unpleasant. He said he " was kind enough" to speak to me about my son's condition. I told him kindness has nothing to do with it- it's your job and my insurance is paying you to tell me what is going on. He is very upset if you question his ego. Go somewhere else his office is dirty, old and most of the staff have the same smart aleck attitude he has. We waited over 3 and a half hours for drops and a few tests that took literally 1-2 minutes to do. He and the office/staff mismanages time.

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Permanent Damage To My Mother's Vision

Posted on July 5th, 2014

He did permanent damage to my mother's eye that made her 98% blind in that eye. When he used the laser he burned part of the eye. I wanted her to sue because she can no longer, read, sew, knit, see the TV or anything else for that matter. She is old fashioned and didn't want to sue. Another doctor is trying to save what little she has left in the eye, but all he can do is stop it from getting worse and the treatments are painful. TIME FOR THIS MAN TO RETIRE BEFORE HE DOES MORE DAMAGE TO OTHER PATIENTS. Now, years later my mother says she wishes she sued but it is too late. I hate him.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Condescending

Posted on August 16th, 2012

Although the ease of appointment and professionalism of office staff was very good, the doctor himself was very condescending and dismissive. He was very crabby and paid no attention to what I was asking. Will not return..there are many other eye doctors in SI to choose from.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Cataract Surgery

Posted on August 6th, 2012

The waiting room is dirty, a long wait, staff was rude however Dr Gormley got the diagnosis correct and the surgery was successful despite a nurse bumping the table while he was doing a stitch.Two years later the stitches in both eyes are coming out the cloudiness has reappeared and when he removed a partial stitch and said I couldn't see. He said your vision is 20/20. I have since had my eyes checked because they are worse than before the cataract surgery.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Mrs. Toby Horowitz

Posted on October 9th, 2011

I have just had cataract surgery last week performed by Dr. Gormley and found him to be an excellent surgeon. He did a thorough examination and saw a cataract in my right eye that two other opthomologists didn't see even though I insisted to each of them that I could barely see out of that eye. I was in and out of the hospital in 3 hours. His staff was courteous and extremely efficient. My vision couldn't be better thanks to Dr. Gormley to whom I am so grateful.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Two Stars

Posted on July 14th, 2011

Dr Gormley missed my retinal tear. He did a full examination and failed to see that my retina was torn. He has no bedside manner and is haughty and distant. Two days after Dr Gormley told me my retina was not torn, another opthalmologist diagnosed a sizable tear and did laser surgery that same day.

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

tried to make appt. for new patient....

Posted on March 16th, 2010

rude receptionist.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Four Stars

Posted on September 30th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Dennis Gormley is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Staten Island, NY.