The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Dennis Mahan Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Dennis Mahan?

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 diabetes is a chronic disease in which your body is unable to maintain a normal blood sugar (glucose) level.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Dennis Mahan?

Ratings and Reviews

10 Ratings with 5 Comments

  • Excellent
    6
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    3
  • Excellent
    6
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    3

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
18.6 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 10 Ratings with 5 Comments

1.0 Rating

November 16th, 2015

I was a patient there for yrs....and give incorrect information on several occasions including results of blood test and lack of proper blood testing being done....incorrect information given to other doctors for example while a patient in local hospital(Maria Parham) heart doctor was given information that i was not type 2 diabetic and there forth improper treatment was received .... later that yr resulted in heart attack and by-pass times 5 done at another hospital.

Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 28th, 2014

I made a lot of mistakes over the years, but you wonderful people were not one of them. Thank yous for sharing Jesus, his love, and his teachings of grace with us. we love yous too, have a wonderful years end, and a victorious, prosperous,always in Christ Presence, New Year!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

July 10th, 2012

To the contrary

I read a review where Dr. Mahan said that theyre policy on calling in refills is strict unless unless we have an established relationship with the patient. This is a total crock! Ive been seeing him for almost 20 years for the same health issue and he still refuses to call in refills. They give the same excuse to me, that I have to be seen. Heres the typical scenario when you require refill: You show up for my appointment, they make sure you pay up front, you wait 15-20 minutes in their waiting room, youre called to the back where they get your vitals, youre then shuffled off to a back room where you wait another 10-15 minutes, Dr. Mahan shows up and asks you what you need, you tell him refills, he jots down a few notes, asks you what pharmacy you use and tells you that your prescription will be called in and then he leaves. Now tell me how, what just transpired is trying to help keep our citizens healthy as Dr. Mahan put it??? Hes not concerned about keeping anyone healthy. Hes more concerned with making money. 99% of the time I have to see him is for refills, which do not require blood work or any other test. Dont get me wrong, I dont have anything personal against Dr. Mahan, I enjoy his dry humor and his laid back approach to his patients, but it just seems to me that a person becomes a doctor for two reasons; a strong desire to treat and help their fellow man OR to get rich..doesnt take a rocket scientist to determine why Mahan decided to get into this field of work.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 5th, 2011

THIS MAN IS A HORRIBLE "DOCTOR" HE RECIEVED HIS EDUCATION IN MEXICO, (Universidad Autonoma De Nuevo Leon) I WONDER WHY! I HAVE NUMEROUS, NUMEROUS REASONS WHY THIS MAN SHOULD NEVER BE VISITED. NOT ONLY HAVE I HAD AN APPOINTMENT WITH HIM (WHICH AFTER I NEVER RE-VISITED HIM AGAIN!), BUT LOTS OF MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY HAS AND THEY ALL HAVE THE SAME OPINION. HE IS NOT PROFESSIONAL AT ALL. THIS IS THE TYPE OF DOCTOR WHO ONLY CARES ABOUT A PAYCHECK. END OF STORY. HE MAY CHOOSE HIS FAVORITE PATIENTS WHO CAN HANDLE IS STUPIDITY AND UNPROFESSIONALISM, BUT NOT I, MY FAMILY, OR FRIENDS.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 30th, 2010

He was treating me for a problem I was having over several weeks [he told me to take the medication and he had told me to], I asked to be referred to another doctor or specialist- he refused. Ended up on my own having to go to a specialist, I had been mis-disgnosed. When my new doctor contacted Doctor Mahan- Doctor Mahan refused to admit that he was in error. So since Doctor Mahan refused to admit his error and agree to the referral to another doctor- my insurance would not pay. I did not have a sinus infection like Doctor Mahan told me- I had cancer, which I learned from the specialist. Insurance would not pay the bill for the referral or the immediate surgery needed because Doctor Mahan would not admit he was wrong.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 18th, 2016

5.0 Rating

June 24th, 2015

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

August 6th, 2014

5.0 Rating

January 11th, 2012

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

September 5th, 2010

Wait time
20.0 minutes
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Dennis Mahan is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Oxford, NC.

  • Dr. John Strittmatter

    Family Medicine

    Oxford, NC 0.05 mi

    4.7
    (5)
    35
  • Dr. Thomas Koinis

    Family Medicine

    Oxford, NC 0.05 mi

    4.4
    (7)
    36
  • Dr. Cheryl Monical

    Family Medicine

    Oxford, NC 0.05 mi

    4.2
    (5)
    26