Dr. Derek Smith MD Patient Reviews

  • Neurology Norwich, CT

Overall Rating

3.5
  • 21 patient ratings
  • 6 comments

Last 12 months:

3.0 (-0.5)

21 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    48%
  • Great
    5%
  • Good
    14%
  • Poor
    14%
  • Bad
    19%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 15.6 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

3.0 of 5
July 14th, 2016
Derek Smith
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I really wanted to like Dr Smith. His bedside manner was good and he appeared to be a very caring physician but he didn't know things that he should have known had he been keeping up with the revised diagnostic procedures.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 7th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very disappointed. I have chronic pain, profound fatigue, numbness in my limbs, optic neuritis, etc. He offered no diagnosis nor treatment. Told me to go to my primary GP for medication. I left crying. I am suffering tremendously and this guy did nothing to help me. His flip comment on his way out was to tell me I need to address high blood pressure. Will not be going back. Agree with the other comments. Not sure what this guy thinks his job is, but his priority is not helping patients. He has luncheons for a prescription medicine, so maybe the pharmaceutical companies are paying him a lot, so he does not need to help patients.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 4th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
When Dr. Smith is with me it is as if he doesn't have any other patients waiting for him. He took the time to explain to my husband about MS and some of the problems I might experience. He does not dwell on the "what ifs" and encourages me to live my life to the fullest. I recommend him to other MS patients all the time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 15th, 2012
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I highly recomend Dr.Smith. He is very good, kind and will work with you to find the best treatment
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 27th, 2012
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
excellent doctor who fits every criteria. Everybody wants quality care I trust only Dr.Smith,He was very compassionate, respectful,and caring!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
May 13th, 2009
Dr. Smith does care
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
When I originally started with Dr. Smith it was my 4th opinion (after hearing 3 other times) to tell me that I had MS. He was in Boston at the time. When he left to CT, I followed him. I respect him and his medical knowlege about this disease, I wasn't looking for hand holding, just guidance and he's great.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
August 4th, 2017
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 of 5
July 28th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 22nd, 2017
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
February 20th, 2017

1.0 of 5
April 29th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
February 5th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Derek Smith, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Norwich, CT.