ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Dermot Mcgovern Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Dermot Mcgovern?

Colonoscopy

Colonoscopy

Get the facts about colonoscopy, including how and why it's done and doctors who perform the procedure.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Dermot Mcgovern?

Ratings and Reviews

16 Ratings with 13 Comments

  • Excellent
    3
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    3
  • Bad
    10
  • Excellent
    3
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    3
  • Bad
    10

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
19.2 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 16 Ratings with 13 Comments

5.0 Rating

May 18th, 2016

Excellent doctor. Really took the time with my husband during a bad flare up while in the hospital. Easy to talk and very knowledgeable.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 18th, 2015

too busy for his patients

Dr Mcgovern was highly recommended by Dr. Dubinsky. However, Dr. McGovern acts like he doesn't care about me. I don't see him until the very end. I see his fellow who is a trainee or a nurse. I paid to see Dr. McGovern not nurses or student doctors. Also, never expect a call back directly from Dr. McGovern. He asks his student doctor to call me. This is a warning to his potential patients. He may be a smart doctor, but he is too busy to care about his patients which should be the reason why he is a doctor in the first place.

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

August 22nd, 2014

Transfer care to UCLA

I was referred to Dr. McGovern after my fav doc Dr. Dubinsky left Cedars. Dr. McGovern is as promised a nice person. However, I felt he try to push me to take certain drug called vedolizumab even though I feel well. After I reluctantly agreed, he wants me to do research and I had to give lots of blood tubes. Although he is nice, I feel I was pressured to do research to please him. I feel that he doesn't really care about me, only cares about what I can give him. I needed his opinion and advice after the clinic visit, but he is never around. I will transfer my care to UCLA as I heard they have a good IBD center. I hope I have luck finding another doc as good as Dr. Dubinsky.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 17th, 2013

He made me feel very small

Dr. McDermott and CCFA referred me to this doctor when I moved to Los Angeles. My experience with Dr. McGovern was terrible. First of all, I was seen by a fellow and only spend less than 10 min with Dr. McGovern. In the 10 min that I spent with him, 5 min was him trying to convince me to donate blood for his research. I refused because I wasn't feeling well. I donated blood for research before, but I just don't like to be pressured. When I refused, Dr. McGovern's wasn't as nice and cannot wait to leave. I still had questions to ask him but he told me my appointment was over which was quite rude. I called Dr. McGovern on several occasions but he is never around and returns my calls at most 40% of the time. Not only he doens't follow up with me, but he only occasionally returns my call requesting his call.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 2nd, 2011

Not a caring doctor

He does not care for his patient. He cancelled his clinic on me stating that he is sick. However, I saw him at a local bar having fun and a drink. He is very unprofessional.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 16th, 2011

Average at best

He is not as bad as other reviews, but not good either. Average at best. The reviews are correct in that he doesn't spend that much time with patients. He is not at all instructive. Dr. McGovern will call you back but you need to call him several times and remind him. My recommendation is that there are other good gastroenterologists at Cedars. Avoid him unless you need to see someone fast.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 15th, 2011

Nice man but a poor doctor

He is a nice man with a sense of humor. However, he is not very responsible to my needs, do not see me in clinic but send his fellow to see me and does not follow up.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

1.0 Rating

May 21st, 2011

agree with previous reviews

I agree with all the previous reviews. He is a nice man but a poor doctor.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

May 14th, 2011

Nice man but not knowledge

He is a nice man, but poor bed side manner. I was referred to see Dr. Targan but settled for Dr. McGovern because only he was available. His student Dr. Vora saw me for most of the clinic visit. He only saw me for 5 min. He promised me a lot of things such as calling me for results of my tests but did not call me at all. He also did not return my phone calls. He is a nice man but just doesn't follow through. He ran a lot of unnessary tests too.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 6th, 2011

don't waste your time

poor manners and diagnosis. I should have check his med backgound before seen him. He is not licensed in the US. Very poor beside manner and not up to date with modern medicine and treatment. don't waste your time.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 9th, 2011

Stay away

He is bad, terrible, horrible, nightmare, any negative adjuctive describes him. He is lewd and has inappropriate bedside manners. Woman...STAY AWAY.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 3rd, 2011

Do not see him!!!

He is bad...I was referred to see Dr. Targan but only he was available. He did not spent enough time with me only had me seen by his student Dr. Vora. I don't need a student doctor to see me!!!When he finally came, he spent at most 1 minute with me and then left. I am still in severe pain. If you are told to see Dr. McGovern by Cedars IBD center, tell them no! My advice is to wait for anyone but McGovern

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Dermot Mcgovern is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Los Angeles, CA.

  • Dr. Andrew Ippoliti

    Gastroenterology, Internal Medicine

    Los Angeles, CA 0.01 mi

    4.7
    (12)
    46
  • Dr. Christopher Chang

    Gastroenterology, Internal Medicine

    Los Angeles, CA 0.01 mi

    4.6
    (9)
    18
  • Dr. Eric Vasiliauskas

    Gastroenterology, Internal Medicine, Pediatric Gastroenterology

    Los Angeles, CA 0.01 mi

    4.3
    (6)
    28