Dr. Desmond Mcguire MD Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

4.0
  • 26 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

Last 12 months:

4.5 (+ 0.5)

8 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    62%
  • Satisfied
    12%
  • Neutral
    8%
  • Dissatisfied
    4%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    15%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 15 minutes

Showing 1 - 8 reviews

3.0 of 5
July 5th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. McGuire is an outstanding retinal specialist. I credit him for saving my husband's eyesight after experiencing a detached retina. Five star ratings for everything!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 20th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor is the complete package. He is smart, totally honest with diagnosis,has a great bedside manner and sympathetic with his patients. He also has Hollywood looks. I'm so glad I was referred to him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 28th, 2012
Arrogant, rude and extremely unprofessional. He never read the reports or the medical history. He refused to take the time to answer any questions and had no concept of how to deal with an elderly patient. He was so insulting that we walked out.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 19th, 2012
Mr Rock Star
Wait time
10 minutes
Dr. McGuire put my fears to bed with the first appointment I had with him. He scheduled me for surgery two days later and was successful in restoring my vision. I can't recommend him more highly!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 14th, 2012
Not as professional as expected
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Arrogant attitude. Expedient. Non- responsive to some questions.Did not read previous surgery reports relevant to case. Evidently qualified for posterior chamber surgeries, but attempted an anterior lens replacement which was supposed to be a 45 minute general surgery and due to not reading previous surgery reports ran into problems. Surgery took 2.5 hours and patient woke up on table after 1 hour. Post surgery examinations by 3 other surgeons diagnosis demanded immediate removal of badly implanted lens and damage to eye requiring 4 additional surgeries. Not recommended! Office staff disjointed and incompetent.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
August 21st, 2011
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I found Dr. McGuire to be a competent physician, HOWEVER, the front office and billing dept. failed. The billing dept. incorrectly billed our insurance...refused to contact our insurance to resolve the issue. The front office refused to intervene. In the end while we had PPO insurance to cover this procedure, without notifying us they turned the claim over to a collection agency. Our next step is small claims court. Do not get involved with this dysfunctional office.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 12th, 2010
Judge and Mrs. Jonathan Cannon
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
We are grateful our paths crossed with Dr. McGuire..he has helped us manage a difficult vision problem with his expertise and wisdom...we are very appreciative...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 24th, 2009
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Highly highly recommend
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Desmond Mcguire, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Santa Ana, CA.

Doctor

Dr. John Hwang

9 years experience

4.9 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Lillian Kim

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Paul Brailsford

39 years experience

4.9 of 5