The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Diane Stein Is this you?

Filter Reviews

32 Ratings • 18 Comments

3.5
  • 18
  • 1
  • 2
  • 0
  • 11

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
22.9 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Diane Stein?

Showing 12 of 32 Ratings

Wonderful physician

Posted on August 30th, 2016

My daughter has been a patient of Dr Steind for over 6 years for various medical challenges. Dr Stein has gone above and beyond To help us get my daughter the correct diagnosis and treatments. The other day , after the ER dr consulted with Dr Stein about my daughter, he came back into our room and said " Dr Stein is great, you are lucky to have her".

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on October 19th, 2015

My daughter has been a patient under Dr. Stein's care for five years since aging out of the CHOC system. After 20 years of searching (by four major So Cal pediatric epilepsy teams), Dr. Stein correctly diagnosed my daughter with a rare epilepsy syndrome (which was subsequently verified by genetic testing). Having an accurate diagnoses after twenty years was powerful knowledge, which set us on a path to a much safer treatment plan for seizure control and quality of life. We are forever grateful.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Different child now

Posted on July 31st, 2015

It is unbelievable the difference in my daughter from when we started with Dr Stein and now! I am blown away

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

wacked on crack

Posted on July 29th, 2015

Dr. Stein is a nice lady but Brad the office guy is on crack and never stops talking. I don't know what his qualifications are but he blurts out diagnosis and med prescriptions as if he's the doc and this is before you have a diagnosis from the doc. Also the staff there for some reason can't get it together and can be rude. Also stein is behind the times when it comes to epilepsy treatments and just pushes toxic meds.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Great doctor

Posted on December 20th, 2014

Love Dr Stein!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Avoid this doctor!

Posted on February 19th, 2014

I have never had such a poor experience with a doctor. She is rude and seems to have some kind of mental problem.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on December 30th, 2013

The assistant Brian who represents Dr. Stein is very narrow minded. (I would think he got the instruction from Dr. Stein). You are not allowed to question their opinion. Nothing great to say about her office.

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

48 hour EEG for nothing.

Posted on July 14th, 2013

Strapped my son who is on the spectrum up for a weekend EEG to check for seizure and found out the following week the EEG did not even record. It was very inconvenient for my entire family and was very uncomfortable for my son as you can imagine, and we ended up doing it for absolutely nothing. I still do not understand how they can make this kind of mistake. Dr Steins staff also made several other mistakes which I thought was absolutely unacceptable.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Quick to label, unprofessional attitude- DO NOT TAKE YOUR CHILD THERE

Posted on May 30th, 2013

I wish I read the reviews before I took my son to Dr. Diane Stein. Her staff is friendly but not Dr. Stein. I went a few times, no testing was done. She rushed through the appointment and diagnosed my son with 6 different things based on her 10 minutes observation. Giving her 1 star is being nice. I remember one of her comments to me was that for fun her and her husband sit in the park and point out all the autistic children. So unprofessional and insensitive. She doesn't think about what her opinions do to the parents. If you're a parent looking at this and you have an appointment to see her, cancel and request to see someone else. I regret going to see her.

Wait time
55 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Beware for quick labeling

Posted on May 13th, 2013

She saw my son for about 15 min and she gave 7 diagnosis. I was not quite sure so I took the diagnosis to school and show it to teachers and the director. They all disagreed with her diagnosis and asked not to go back to her. I felt that she just want to label quickly without spending enough time with her patient. The school director thought she had poorly written on the explanation for the diagnosis that had too many grammar mistakes and so on. It sounded very unprofessional. The school recommended for me to take him someone else.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on March 22nd, 2013

I am beyond disapointed. I paid 400.00 out of pocket to see her. She made her evaluations and prescribed my son meds and told me to come back for testing when I had insurance. Apparently there was a misunderstanding. I sent her a form that his school needed in order to dispense meds per her directions ( that takes 35 seconds to fill out )and got a response telling me my son was no longer welcome at her office. I was in tears!! I scraped together everything I had to get meds that cannot be used, and an evaluation that is no longer valid to get him an iep with the schools. I'm worried my child is going to be kicked out. Now not only can I not afford another immediate apt as I paid her 400 and 100 for meds but so much time has been wasted. I have always been respectful and polite. If something was wrong I feel she AT LEAST could have called me. Her letter was rude. Her facts were wrong. And she put me down as if I had bad intentions.... after I have coughed up thousands over the last 2 yrs out of pocket on a single mom salary to try and get my son in a good place. Never ever have I been treated so rude and poorly and all in a cowardice lettet

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

She's the best!

Posted on August 2nd, 2012

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Diane Stein is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Irvine, CA.