ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Donald Mccain Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Donald Mccain?

Lung Cancer

Lung Cancer

Get the facts about lung cancer, including how many people get it and what increases your risk for developing it.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Donald Mccain?

Ratings and Reviews

25 Ratings with 9 Comments

  • Excellent
    16
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    5
  • Excellent
    16
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    5

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
20 min

Showing 25 Ratings with 9 Comments

5.0 Rating

February 9th, 2016

A blessing to medicine and all in his path.

Dr Mccain demonstrated in the most humble way an incredible amount of confidence and superior knowledge. He spoke with clarity and comfort showing how sure he was of being able to perform a successful surgery leading to an excellent health prognosis. Truly he made our family feel as if we were old friends and never spoke to us as if he was above us as many doctors do. Without a doubt his #1 gift is his intelligence and skill as a surgeon but that matched with a humble heart makes him a dream come true and a rare species in the medical field. To put the icing on the cake he is an animal lover and LOVES dogs!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 15th, 2015

Dr McCain is incredibly knowledgable and seems to work consciously thinking of the patients best interest. He was very humble and kind. After reading about his past surgeries it is clear that this doctor has a gift and is a blessing to the medical field. I would have preferred if he spent just a little more time with us at our visits but I he did answer all our questions and I can understand that he is very busy. He is very confident in his work but is not like many doctors that talk down to you or make you feel like they know it all and you are ignorant. I recommend him forever and am so grateful we found him for my mom's surgery.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

November 4th, 2014

PROS AND CONS

After first consultation was confident in my decision. Although Dr. McCain was professional, knowledgable and had a great bedside manner, his assistant lacked compassion and made me feel extremely uncomfortable. Cancer was successfully removed but experienced complications and follow-up was unacceptable.

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

September 3rd, 2014

DOCTOR WELL QUALIFIED - DISAPPOINTED WITH ASSISTANT AND FOLLOW-UP

Dr. McCain is professional, knowledgeable and has a good bedside manner. His assistant was very cold; never smiled nor showed no.compassion. She made me feel extremely uncomfortable. Complications do happen, but send me pictures on your phone and I will see you in a few weeks is totally unacceptable. In addition, I feel there should always be a back-up doctor instead of having to go to the hospital in case of emergencies.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 14th, 2014

Surgery

I would never use Dr. McCain again. His office staff is unprofessional and undermining especially when it comes to your insurance. They misled me from my first phone call to make apt. until after surgery. Procedure was to be easy, yet Dr. claimed it to be more difficult than anticipated and the costs were unbelievable. Do your research before using this Doctor

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 22nd, 2013

Compassionate and Incredible Surgeon

The office staff was amazing, as well as Dr. McCain. His bedside manners and ease of explanation reassured me that I would be okay. I hope I never have to have surgery again, but if I do I would definitely choose Dr. McCain.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 2nd, 2013

the very best

dr mc cain removed my enormous spleen....i needed no pain medication afterwards and everything related to the surgery went perfectly. i feel fortunate that such a wonderful doctor was available to me.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 25th, 2012

BEWARE - Liver resection patients

I walked out 5 minutes before surgery began on my liver. I was uncomfortable with Dr. McCain's explaination on the day of surgury, which was much different than the office visit. Fortunatly, after second opinions by THREE major NYC hospitals, all concured that I would NOT HAVE SURVIVED that procedure. Please do your research. The hospital that he had his residency in, would not hire him. For good reasons....I now believe!!! Please, get second opinions if a resection of your liver is diagosed! I'm alive today because I walked out!

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 16th, 2012

dr. mc cain is as credentialed as a doctor can be viz. his office wall...i am sure he is in great demand...and i do not mind waiting when i have been accepted as a patient by such an exalted doctor. he was aware of my case from the referring doctor and from the records i forwarded to him....he comforted me by relating a comparable case which seemed much worse than mine that he dealt with...i feel fortunate that i have access to such a highly regarded and kind man.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 3rd, 2017

4.0 Rating

May 28th, 2017

1.0 Rating

April 23rd, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Donald Mccain is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Hackensack, NJ.

  • Dr. Nazly Shariati

    Dr. Nazly Shariati

    Vascular Surgery, Thoracic Surgery, General Surgery

    Hackensack, NJ 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    22
  • Dr. Jenifer Marks

    Dr. Jenifer Marks

    Vascular Surgery, Thoracic Surgery, General Surgery

    Hackensack, NJ 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    11
  • Dr. Perry Ritota

    Plastic Surgery, General Surgery

    Hackensack, NJ 0.01 mi

    4.7
    (9)
    27