Dr. Donald Shearer MD Patient Reviews

  • Ophthalmology Loma Linda, CA

Overall Rating

3.5
  • 15 patient ratings
  • 7 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 1.5)

15 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    53%
  • Great
    13%
  • Good
    0%
  • Poor
    0%
  • Bad
    33%
  • Wait Time 22.3 minutes
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
April 7th, 2017
Highest confidence in Dr. Shearer's training and professionalism
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been seeing Dr. Shearer for my eye exams for years (I am 51 years of age). I trust him explicitly. Despite having other ophthalmologists closer to my home town, I choose to return to the office of Dr. Shearer for his training, his professionalism and his thoroughness, qualities that I value in a medical professional. His staff is competent and delightful. On site is an vision boutique that, in my opinion, is the best in the area for selection and service. A side note: over the years, there has been virtually no turnover in Dr. Shearer's staff. Treated with respect and dignity, they comprise a friendly and professional family. Another fine reflection on Dr. Shearer.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 23rd, 2012
Physician
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I don't know who these people are listed below, but I simply don't believe their nonsense. I have been going to Dr. Shearer for several years and have yet to experience the behavior they described about him and his staff. They are very efficient about getting you in and out the door which I appreciate. I suspect this is what is causing their misperception; but this is a visit to an eye doctor, not a masseuse, so get over it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 17th, 2012
Never again
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have seen Dr. Shear for 2 years now and I am not going back. He is so rude and his office staff is also rude. He is very short tempered and yells at his staff. I continued to give him second chances but I am now going somewhere else.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 30th, 2012
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've been with Dr. Shearer for over 15 years and even after relocating 1-1/2 away, I still drive up to Loma Linda to have my eyes taken care of by him. I admit that he doesn't come off as a warm and fuzzy type, but he honestly does care. He is not arrogant or cold as many have stated - he truly is wonderful. He's very conservative and cautious. I guess you could say a little old fashion. I've always been treated fabulously by his office staff. It's the one office that does not overbook, I don't have to calendar 3 hours to wait in a room to see a doctor. They work with you if there is an emergency (so sometimes you have to wait a little bit, but I'd rather do that sometimes then EVERY time). Dr. Shearer and his office personnel comes highly recommended from me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 31st, 2011
Patient Coordinator
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
1st.encounter was with a rather heavy set young women. Her 1st words: What ins.do i have instead of a smile & pleasant greeting.Dr.S.back off. assist. very good & pleasant. Dr.S. himself rather cold, errogant persona.No people skills. His front office recep.& optical tech. suddle but pleasant. The over all staff seems repressed due to their employer. The doctor sets the moral and it shows. I'm sorry I visited this office at all.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 18th, 2011
Terriblae MD
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This guy thinks he is God. He must have some personal problems which he brings with him every single time I go to his office. Very rude, arrogant and even argues with me about how I see or how my eyes feel. I am surprised nobody has sued him yet. I am in the middle of switching doctors since he is a moody person. Doctors deal with human beings and their lives, they can't bring any problems into office. Donald Shearer, you should have learned it 40 years ago when you graduated from medical school. I would not recommend him to anyone.

1.0 of 5
May 3rd, 2011
Run, don't walk!
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I don't mind "arrogance" if you're good...but Donald Shearer (I won't refer to him as a doctor!) is THE MOST UNQUALIFIED Person I have ever met. (2) Eye Doctor's and (2) Neurologists have agreed and diagnosed my husband as "legally blind" (the problem is in his brain, not the eye lens) Shearer says my husband can see with appropriate glasses!...r u kidding me?...then prescribe these magical glasses!..Run from this man...very fast!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 10th, 2016
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
September 28th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
September 23rd, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 10th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 2nd, 2012
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Donald Shearer, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Loma Linda, CA.