The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Donald Shearer Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Donald Shearer?

Chronic Dry Eye

Chronic Dry Eye

Get the facts about chronic dry eye, including the causes, symptoms and doctors who treat this condition.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Donald Shearer?

Ratings and Reviews

15 Ratings with 7 Comments

  • Excellent
    8
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    5
  • Excellent
    8
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    5

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Wait Time
22.3 min
Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 15 Ratings with 7 Comments

5.0 Rating

April 7th, 2017

Highest confidence in Dr. Shearer's training and professionalism

I have been seeing Dr. Shearer for my eye exams for years (I am 51 years of age). I trust him explicitly. Despite having other ophthalmologists closer to my home town, I choose to return to the office of Dr. Shearer for his training, his professionalism and his thoroughness, qualities that I value in a medical professional. His staff is competent and delightful. On site is an vision boutique that, in my opinion, is the best in the area for selection and service. A side note: over the years, there has been virtually no turnover in Dr. Shearer's staff. Treated with respect and dignity, they comprise a friendly and professional family. Another fine reflection on Dr. Shearer.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 23rd, 2012

Physician

I don't know who these people are listed below, but I simply don't believe their nonsense. I have been going to Dr. Shearer for several years and have yet to experience the behavior they described about him and his staff. They are very efficient about getting you in and out the door which I appreciate. I suspect this is what is causing their misperception; but this is a visit to an eye doctor, not a masseuse, so get over it.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 17th, 2012

Never again

I have seen Dr. Shear for 2 years now and I am not going back. He is so rude and his office staff is also rude. He is very short tempered and yells at his staff. I continued to give him second chances but I am now going somewhere else.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 30th, 2012

I've been with Dr. Shearer for over 15 years and even after relocating 1-1/2 away, I still drive up to Loma Linda to have my eyes taken care of by him. I admit that he doesn't come off as a warm and fuzzy type, but he honestly does care. He is not arrogant or cold as many have stated - he truly is wonderful. He's very conservative and cautious. I guess you could say a little old fashion. I've always been treated fabulously by his office staff. It's the one office that does not overbook, I don't have to calendar 3 hours to wait in a room to see a doctor. They work with you if there is an emergency (so sometimes you have to wait a little bit, but I'd rather do that sometimes then EVERY time). Dr. Shearer and his office personnel comes highly recommended from me.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 31st, 2011

Patient Coordinator

1st.encounter was with a rather heavy set young women. Her 1st words: What ins.do i have instead of a smile & pleasant greeting.Dr.S.back off. assist. very good & pleasant. Dr.S. himself rather cold, errogant persona.No people skills. His front office recep.& optical tech. suddle but pleasant. The over all staff seems repressed due to their employer. The doctor sets the moral and it shows. I'm sorry I visited this office at all.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 18th, 2011

Terriblae MD

This guy thinks he is God. He must have some personal problems which he brings with him every single time I go to his office. Very rude, arrogant and even argues with me about how I see or how my eyes feel. I am surprised nobody has sued him yet. I am in the middle of switching doctors since he is a moody person. Doctors deal with human beings and their lives, they can't bring any problems into office. Donald Shearer, you should have learned it 40 years ago when you graduated from medical school. I would not recommend him to anyone.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 3rd, 2011

Run, don't walk!

I don't mind "arrogance" if you're good...but Donald Shearer (I won't refer to him as a doctor!) is THE MOST UNQUALIFIED Person I have ever met. (2) Eye Doctor's and (2) Neurologists have agreed and diagnosed my husband as "legally blind" (the problem is in his brain, not the eye lens) Shearer says my husband can see with appropriate glasses!...r u kidding me?...then prescribe these magical glasses!..Run from this man...very fast!

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 10th, 2016

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

4.0 Rating

September 28th, 2015

4.0 Rating

September 23rd, 2015

5.0 Rating

April 10th, 2015

5.0 Rating

July 2nd, 2012

Wait time
5.0 minutes
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Donald Shearer is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Loma Linda, CA.

  • Dr. Leslie Bruce-Lyle

    Dr. Leslie Bruce-Lyle

    Ophthalmology

    Loma Linda, CA 0.03 mi

    5.0
    (3)
    41
  • Dr. Heidi Eiseman

    Ophthalmology, Residency

    Loma Linda, CA 0.35 mi

    3
  • Dr. Jodi Smith

    Ophthalmology

    Loma Linda, CA 0.44 mi

    5.0
    (3)
    19