The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Donald Switzer Is this you?

Filter Reviews

25 Ratings • 9 Comments

2.9
  • 8
  • 1
  • 2
  • 6
  • 8

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
22.9 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Donald Switzer?

Showing 12 of 25 Ratings

Five Stars

Posted on June 3rd, 2016

Excellent, patient, kind doctor. Put my very anxious daughter at ease before her procedure , and communicated very well before and after.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Four Stars

Posted on December 15th, 2015

excellent, professional

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Highly unsatisfied

Posted on January 9th, 2014

Upon entering the room Dr. Switzer barely says hello, does not shake your hand or ask you how you are doing. After reviewing the test results my daughter had done several weeks earlier he looks straight ahead at the wall in front of him when speaking to you, hardly ever making eye contact with you. He appears very cold, uncaring and in a rush. He makes you feel you should not question him( or even ask any questions). He offerered NO solutions to my daughter's problem. He is by far the most uncaring doctor we have ever meant. He maybe spent 10 minutes with us and let us know that our time was up by standing up and walking out. I would not recommend this doctor to anyone. I plan to contact Buffalo Medical Group's Chief Officer to let them know how highly unhappy we are with Dr. Switzer.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Aweful experience

Posted on January 9th, 2014

To make a long story short, I was recommended to him by my primary care doctor because my other cardiologist seems to keep writing off my symptoms as inappropriate sinus tachycardia. When I went to see Dr Switzer I told him how I think I have Pots Syndrome, he agreed and I had a tilt test done. The first time I met with him, he was very short with me and rude and would rarely look me in the eyes when he's talking. For my follow up visit I went with my mom, he was even worse than the last time. He informs me it's not Pots, when I ask him any questions he's very rude and short. By the second question, he says well it's not Pots, so.. And gives this rude smile like I'm annoying him. As my mom asks a question he stands up as if he has no time for us and is in a rush to leave. We were talking to him for less than five minutes. Do you really expect as a Doctor to tell your patient something about there diagnoses and for them to have no questions?! He's by far the worst doctor I have felt with. Very rude, ignorant and conceided. I knew he was incorrect about my diagnoses. I went to see an award winning Dr who specializes in autonomic dis functions. Sure enough I have mild Pots syndrome. I'm glad I stuck to my gut and found a good Doctor. Do yourself a favor and find yourself a good doctor. It's hard to come across a good doctor know a days.

Wait time
5 minutes
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Terrible, cocky, disrespectful. Wouldn't send my dog to him.

Posted on July 9th, 2013

Don't waste your time with him. Very unprofessional. The most rude and cocky MD I've ever met. He will rush you out the door and will not listen to you long enough to find out your individual needs. HATES being asked questions about his treatment choices, gets very defensive and rude and just lists off his credentials (he must be insecure as an MD since he isn't comfortable defending his rationale). I simply asked if there were any treatment alternatives - he got very angry and yelled "if you want to diagnose and treat yourself, go see another doctor" and stormed out of the room, even though I have a doctorate degree in a related profession- utterly disrespectful.

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on February 27th, 2013

Definitely wouldn't recommend.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Think Twice........

Posted on August 20th, 2012

Dr. Switzer and his staff, included his nurses, are probably the least professional medical staff I've ever met. I'm 25 and have an extremely high heart rate & blood pressure, and this dr. didnt even listen to my heart, take my blood pressure, or any sort of a physical exam. Instead, before entering the room, I overheard his nurses discussing how they dont think anyone is going to be able to help me since ive already been seen at the cleveland clinic. He walked in arrogant, annoyed, and quite rude. He explained he was only seeing me as a favor to my neurologist who sent me to him and that there isn't anything he can do for me except give me the name of a good therapist. I was floored. No EKG, not one glance at the records I brought with me..nothing. I ended up driving about an hour to see the director of Electrophysiology at Strong Memorial, and that was certainly worth it. He helped a great deal. If you can take some extra time to drive out there I highly suggest weighing your options before you place your care in Dr. Switzer and his staff's hands. Shame on them.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Excellent Doctor !

Posted on July 20th, 2012

I feel very confident in Dr. Switzer. I had a very pleasant experience with this Doctor ! I am very happy to be under his care ! Office staff is also very courteous !

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

I wouldn

Posted on May 20th, 2011

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Two Stars

Posted on July 29th, 2017

Two Stars

Posted on July 29th, 2017

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Three Stars

Posted on October 14th, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Donald Switzer is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Buffalo, NY.