The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Douglas Crane Is this you?

Vitals cannot verify whether or not this professional is currently practicing. We recommend that you attempt to contact the provider to verify their status. Please email us at support@vitals.com if you have any additional information.

Ratings and Reviews

8 Ratings with 5 Comments

  • Excellent
    6
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    1
  • Excellent
    6
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    1

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
21.4 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 8 Ratings with 5 Comments

5.0 Rating

March 25th, 2015

Absolutely Best Psychiatrist especially for addiction

Dr. Crane is a very caring doctor. He goes out of his way to help his patients. He is extremely knowledgeable in the field of addiction. He does have narcolepsy, which means he may dose off for a few seconds but it does not interfere with therapy. I once asked if I was boring him when he dosed off before I knew of his narcolepsy. He hadn't missed a word I said and repeated my words to prove it.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 24th, 2014

best in the industry

brilliant, best psychiatrist in South Carolina

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 31st, 2013

Would NEVER use this man/dr. again .He makes an obvious mistake Tries to make patient believe it is their mistake. Calls the patient names. He obviously has a SMALL MAN complex. His time is so fast in and out of the patient room, You cannot even ask him a question He is very cocky, and Not as smart as he thinks he is.. Not worth my time or money. An X=patient by choice

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 26th, 2011

Fantastic therapist

Very, very intelligent and insightful. As someone else said, he's not a control freak, and will consider your opinions and ideas. He seems to approach therapy with more of a teamwork perspective, which is my preference in any doctor I see for any reasons. He has an impressive breadth and depth of experience. Two things to be prepared for: he's narcoleptic, and sometimes nods off during sessions, though typically not for more than a few seconds. Also, it's not uncommon to wait at least half an hour for your appointment. This is because he frequently runs over as needed with clients. Everyone just accepts this, because they know he's going to run over with them at some point, too :) It's actually kind of cool how patient everyone is. He's the only one there, no receptionist or anything. I find that the wait is well worth it. I've had to leave a couple of times when he's been *really* backed up, just because I have kids and can't spare that much time away, but I've never minded. I appreciate that he shows the same care and concern during my appointments, and somtimes, I'm the person he's running over with. On the whole, I recommend him whole-heartedly, especially for issues with addiction or dissociation. However, if you're looking for someone who will just hand you all the "answers" on a silver platter and tell you what to do, he's not what you're looking for.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 30th, 2010

I wish all doctors were. . . .

. . . . like Dr. CraneI highly recommend him because he listens to what you are saying & what you are not actually saying. He's very intelligent and keeps up to date on a variety of subjects. He calls personally to reschedule missed appointments. He is not a control-freak and let's you make suggestions and ask questions about your therapy. He has a gentle firmness & genuine caring for his patients.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 25th, 2016

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

November 12th, 2015

3.7 Rating

June 21st, 2011

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Douglas Crane is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Charleston, SC.

  • Dr. Leonard Mulbry

    Psychiatry, Neurology, Orthopedic Surgery, Surgery of the Hand

    Charleston, SC 0.71 mi

    2.3
    (3)
    37
  • Dr. James Huchingson

    Dr. James Huchingson

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Charleston, SC 0.77 mi

    5.0
    (4)
    11
  • Dr. Joseph Zealberg

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Charleston, SC 0.77 mi

    4.0
    (4)
    35