Dr. Douglas Hegyi DO Patient Reviews

  • Otolaryngology Lapeer, MI

Overall Rating

3.7
  • 24 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

Last 12 months:

4.5 (+ 0.8)

25 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    58%
  • Great
    4%
  • Good
    4%
  • Poor
    13%
  • Bad
    21%
  • Wait Time 18.9 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

2.0 of 5
October 8th, 2015
Good for adults, not kids
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had ear pain and then vertigo and saw him twice. He did a great job quickly handling my exam and prescribing effective medication. But when I took my teenage daughter to see him, he was just a jerk. She was chewing gum and he just lit off on her. Never performed an exam and walked out of the room. Arrogant, rude and mean. On all 3 visits, his office staff is usually quite curt and quite demeaning. Being a doc is a hard job, I know. And I don't have to be totally catered to, but I will walk when I feel disrespected. So I'm looking for another ENT now to treat my deviated septum. I also waited over an hour in his waiting room to be seen.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 3rd, 2015
JOKESTER
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was in a lot of pain, and he wouldn't even listen to me, he spent two min with me, and was acting like everything was funny, like a jokester. I am going to see a different ENT after months of dealing with this pain. I do not reccomend him at all.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 15th, 2013
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Unable to hear for a month. Dr. fixed my problem in a few minutes. Would recommend.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 30th, 2012
1st time surgery
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This was my first surgery, and I found Dr. Hegyi to be VERY clear, caring, and understanding of my anxiety. The recovery and results were great! Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 9th, 2012
Awesome.
Wait time
2 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had this guy when I got my tonsils out. He was a breeze. His bedside manner isn't the...jolliest? He is a realist, and that is what I liked about him, but to others I can see how he can seem gruff. His staff is amazing, always joked with me, and made everything easy. I love him!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 10th, 2012
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
All of the staff are rude. They want to charge you for things that insurance says is free. So check before paying. They want you to sign a paper giving permission to give out your medical info. They say you don't have to but its "Strongly encouraged". It wasn't just me everyone in the wait room were not treated well. Dr. treats you like a mindless twit and does not listen to why you are there or what the problem is. There is to much to write. If services were free I would not go or refer this Dr.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 9th, 2012
mother
Wait time
10 minutes
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
We scheduled a consultation with Dr. Hegyi because he was a specialist and we were searching for answers to our son's mysterious health issue he was having. I had several questions to ask Dr. Hegyi during our visit. I gave the doctor a very brief description of what had been happening with our son. After a very brief exam, I began to ask Dr. Hegyi my first question. He proceeded to write in the chart, walk out of the room, hand off the chart and walk into the room next door. No discussion...no acknowledgement that I was speaking to him...no consultation. I decided to dispute paying the bill because I felt that no consultation was given and that was the reason we scheduled an appointment with him. I believe I was nothing less than courteous and respectful in my conversations with his staff in regards to why I felt we should not have to pay our co-pay. He and his office staff were unprofessional in how they handled the situation. They told me twice that they would call me to tell me what would be done, yet they never did. I always had to call them back. They even withheld important information and lied to me about details of what they had done in regards to our bill. This has been an extremely frustrating experience for us. Based on the personal experience in the exam room and the unprofessional behavior of his office staff, I would NOT recommend Dr. Hegyi to anyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 21st, 2010
Success where others failed
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Hegyi was confident he could help me and he did a perfect job. Through bone contour, cartilage and soft tissue manipulation he was able to restore symmetry. Where others had said they were "reluctant" to try or "no guarantees" he convinced me he could do it and he succeeded! Also no visible scar now where the stitches were! I am very happy now.

5.0 of 5
June 26th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 18th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 4th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 4th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Douglas Hegyi, DO is similar to these 3 Doctors near Lapeer, MI.