Neurological Surgeons
26 years of experience

Accepting new patients
Kenmore Mercy Hospital
180 Park Club Ln
Ste 100
Buffalo, NY 14221
716-839-9402
Locations and availability (3)

Patient Reviews ?

Overall Rating:
2.0
  • Currently 2 of 4 stars
Total Ratings

21

Total Reviews

18

Ratings
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Ease of Appointment:
  • Currently 2.9 of 4 stars
Promptness:
  • Currently 2.8421052631579 of 4 stars
Courteous Staff:
  • Currently 2.95 of 4 stars
Accurate Diagnosis:
  • Currently 2.0555555555556 of 4 stars
Bedside Manner:
  • Currently 1.8 of 4 stars
Spends Time with Me:
  • Currently 1.85 of 4 stars
Follows Up After Visit:
  • Currently 2.0555555555556 of 4 stars
Average Wait: 22 minutes
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Shocked by the Negativity  |  show details
by Barbara Hulsing on Sep 5th, 2014

I am shocked to read the negative reviews of Dr. Moreland. I have had 3 surgeries done by him. The first two were very successful. The first, about 11 years ago, was on my lower back.. I have no lower back pain since then. Three years ago, we worked on C6 and C7, completely resolving my problem. Last week, I had C5 taken care of. It's a little too soon to say how successful, but I have every confidence that it will be fine. Dr Moreland even joked with me, apologizing to me. When I asked him why, he responded. "I can't give you a new spine."

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Jan 31st, 2013

His assistant examined me but he never did, instead he stood at the doorway & stated there was nothing he could do, that my problem was from aging. Thank goodness I got a second opinion , had surgery & now my problem has been resolved. I would never refer anyone to him!

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 2 of 4 stars
 |  He is very nice and friendly but seems confused at times  |  show details
Sep 26th, 2012

I had a pretty good experience, but not fully trusting your Dr. is hard to overcome.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Pretenious Liar  |  show details
Sep 14th, 2012

I do not like this Dr. he is nice to your face and then will write ridiculous off the wall things in a report about you. I don't think he seems to know what he is talking about and is very insulting.

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Thanks for the warning  |  show details
Apr 25th, 2012

My first visit with Dr. Moreland(consultaion) I agree with alot of what Im reading, Iam canceling 2nd appointment, I left with a bad vibe.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Talk is CHEAP!  |  show details
Mar 19th, 2012

I am coming up on 2 years from the surgery date with Dr Moreland. He told me 3 months to full recovery. Then at the 3 month mark, he changed his mind to 6 months, then it went to 1 year. For me, it was a very big mistake going with Dr. Moreland. I had two office visits after the surgery where he was a no show. Oh sure they took my co-pay but never did they call me to inform me he couldn't make it. The PA Jennifer walks in like shes some big shot. And she tells me, "well if your still in pain, you will just have to live with it." Are you kidding me? Listen up people, go to another doctor. This guy is not worth the risk and your health. I'm proof of that.

Mark as Helpful  | 3 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 2 of 4 stars
 |  Stay away from!!!  |  show details
Feb 15th, 2012

I would not recommend Dr. Moreland to anyone. He did two surgeries on me both neck and back which have to be done over. He is uncaring, rude, and lies. I was in constant pain in my lower back and he kept telling me it was fine. It finally blew out and caused permanent nerve damage. If you have seen him and he said everything is fine, get a second opinion. If you were a accident,he may even recommend his neighbor/friend to represent you.His PA Jennifer is also a joke. His PA Greg is the only decent and honest one, he should have been a doc.

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  horrible  |  show details
Feb 1st, 2012

went to him for 8 mo. for a fractured T-12 and fractured L-5 have had horrible pain since onset, has been telling me for months its going to take a good year to year and a half to heal because there is no surgery fot these types of breaks and plus i`m a horrible diabetic. went this week to him still complaining of nerve pain or something in my lower back annd legs, telling him i`m serious, i`ve had no life for 8 mo. first thing he asks me is, is there a lawsuit connected to your injury? i said yes...he tells me its lawsuit syndrome, i should be fine by now ? and tells me he`s done with me! and leaves out of the room! i personally feel after i`v had time to think about it, that he perhaps took a payoff from the place i`m suing!!

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Jan 8th, 2012

Never though I would rate a doctor but for what's it worth to anyone out there seeking information on this doctor.The first few office visits well. I did get a second opinion and had surgery with Dr Moreland. I have regretted it ever since. I wish I would have went elsewhere. I was told "this is the gold standard" for repairing the issue at hand. Years later I have nothing but pain. The follow up with him (when he showed up for an appointment) was a joke! In and out in less than 30 seconds. I was told by a PA, "whatever pain you have remaining, you'll have to live with it". So much much for professional care. I live with numbness and pain everyday. Do your homework folks because it's your life and no one should suffer AFTER surgery.

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Rude and Condescending  |  show details
Dec 21st, 2011

My visit with Dr. Moreland was a shock. He was completely rude, didn't even want to hear from me when I spoke, and in fact, cut me right off mid sentence more then once. He couldn't have been bothered to read the paperwork, the same paperwork I spent a lot of time filling out. He was asking questions I had written answers to on the paperwork, and I got to a point I actually got up from where I was sitting, and pointed the answer to the question he was asking me that was plainly written on MY paperwork he was holding in his hands. Acted in a frenzied hurry, couldn't wait to get me out the door, rude with zero respect for me as a person. Let this man do surgery on me? NO! Do NOT allow this man to touch you!And for those of you who consider Yoga as physical therapy, you will know that this man does not consider this therapy. If it's not physical therapy, what is it?

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Nov 28th, 2011

I have had surgery twice 1990 & 2010each time went very well.lower back firstupper neck lastI wouldn`t go to anyone else.......thank you,Harvey Tigue

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Jul 9th, 2011

As a health care professional I accompanied my daughter to see Dr. Moreland for possible back surgery. The expeerience could not have been more positive. The office staff was kind and courteous, the para-professionals (especially Greg the PA )were kind and caring. The nurse Liz was wonderful and Dr. Moreland himself was OUTSTANDING, He was thorough,direct with explaining what needed to be done,and very helpful in making the arrangements for surgery and follow- up. After traveling 100 miles each way for this consult his professionalism was greatly appreciated. Please consider Dr. Moreleand for any neurosurgery required

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  very rude,doesnt read reports or records and is cocky as if your stupid  |  show details
Mar 26th, 2011

this doc is the rudest. fast to get in the office, he has terrible attitude. they tell you oph bring all reports,xrays,etc,you fill out the office paperwork about conditions,medical history. then he comes in,acts rude and condescending. asks what your there for, does not read all the information they request. what is this guy doing? if he cant take time to read,or see who sent you to him(referring dox is next door) this is not a good doc. find another and tell everyone you know dont go here.

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  worst dr. ive ever met! extremly rude.  |  show details
Sep 30th, 2010

horrible bedside manner, told me my problems was "between my ears"?? and i need 2 see a psychiatrist. i can barely lift my legs while laying flat and point my toes,and my mri showed 2 herniated discs and mild disc degeneration. he told me i was fine and 2 get my head checked out?! and left the room. i left crying,limping and worst of all no explaination other than "its all in my head"?!!

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  my experience  |  show details
by Michael C on Jun 14th, 2010

a no nonesense doctor. professional and direct. answers questions well and likes a well motivated patient who wants to improve there quality of life. covers alternatives before surgery, I have had a neck issue for better than twenty years, I went in had the procedure and I feek great only wish I would have sought surgery sooner.

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Dr Moreland  |  show details
Apr 20th, 2010

In 1998 he performed my third surgery. The day after the surgery the pain started and its hasnt stopped since then. I think he did trauma to my nerves causing RSD. within a month of my surgery, I sought another opinion. I found that I had a blockage in my cervical and needed surgery immediately or elso I would of been paralized. I wouldnt recommen him. I would have a vet perform surgery instead of him.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Oct 13th, 2009

So far Dr. Moreland has been a wonderful person and Dr. He takes his time to answer even my dumbest questions and dosnt blink! Great guy and very confindent in what he is doing

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  no bedside manner  |  show details
by unhappy on Jul 23rd, 2009

Very poor in the area of following up with patients. two many "Chiefs". Doctors will not return calls. only associates. Think twice if you want real care. This is a rarity but in his case its not rare, it doesnt exist.