The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Douglas Spiel Is this you?

Filter Reviews

49 Ratings • 20 Comments

3.4
  • 26
  • 1
  • 5
  • 1
  • 16

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
28.5 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Douglas Spiel?

Showing 12 of 49 Ratings

Waste of time.

Posted on May 6th, 2017

I agree with last person...waste of time. Injections did nothing, they kept trying to justify it. Then they ran!

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Pelvis pain

Posted on April 2nd, 2017

Great doctor. Blockers useless. Very disappointed. They must have known that blockers only work for small percentage, next phase $$. Too risky! Staff shaky in returning calls, living in pelvis pain worst thing in the world and when not one doctor can help makes you feel disgusted.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Pelvis pain.

Posted on April 1st, 2017

Great doctor poor results! Injections was a hassle and once that did not work they disappeared on me! Odds of blockers working for pelvis pain is like 10 percent, waste of time !! Don't bother. Next step is well I'm still waiting for someone to call me .

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on March 26th, 2016

Don't bother with this dr. You will wait forever for an appt and than he will cancel. Doesn't care about you or your time.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on February 15th, 2016

Simply the best

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on March 23rd, 2015

Professional and caring

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on February 24th, 2015

He is great and beyond full of knowledge def. worth my time would recommend Dr. Spiel to any family member in need, as you are treated like family by him

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

If you are in pain, You need Dr Spiel

Posted on January 15th, 2015

You cannot find a better Pain Mgt Doctor than Dr Spiel. Not only is he an expert in his field, he has a great bedside manner, eases your stress before a procedure by talking with you, not at you, And his staff, way above the field. I totally trust his skill, and he even found bulged /herniated discs that the hospital Radiologist missed...

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Excellent!

Posted on May 8th, 2014

Great experience!! Upon concluding a brief discussion of my discomfort, Dr. Spiel quickly isolated the potential causes of my pain, immediately ordered an MRI and read the results minutes after the scan was completed. He gave a comprehensive and easy to understand diagnosis. Treatment based upon Dr. Spiel's recommendation was extraordinarily successful. In fact, because of Dr. Spiel's expert judgement the therapy I underwent re-discovered a prior ailment I've been living with for years, and believe it or not - completely forgot about! He is wonderful; very personable, compassionate and attentive to the needs of his patients - 4/4 without a doubt in my mind! I will continue to only go to Dr. Spiel for any pain I experience as long as he is in practice! I whole heartedly disagree 100% with all of the negative comments. This leads me to believe that the only reason someone could have provided an opinion that COULDN'T be further from the truth is a former disgruntled employee. For the record, from my multiple visits to Dr. Spiel's office, all of his current staff are very happy and treated well. The relationship between Dr. Spiel and his employees represents that of a family bond. I've only had exceptional experiences with Dr. Spiel and his staff. Highly recommended, do yourself a favor and get treated right the first time!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dr Spiel Stop my Neck and Back Pain

Posted on November 11th, 2012

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Don't do it!!!

Posted on February 2nd, 2012

Please, if you are on this site...you are relying on others for the truth. I have been the joke of 3 physicians because I was a Spiel patient. In their words...they have all had Spiel patients who needed to be corrected. Another said.."He oversteps his boundaries." He is not qualified to perform his "procedures". There are so many competentphysicians. He gives Interval Pain Management a bad name. He did so many procedures and I am worse than when I began!!!! Research!!! Arrogant, narcissitic and unprofressional are just a few words to describe him!!

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Chronic pain patient

Posted on December 30th, 2011

Dr. Spiel is a nice doctor, and it takes time to understand and know he cares about you. He comes off as he does not care and your a dollar sign. Or it might be the fact as your rolling on a stretcher and he doesnt even acknowelge your there since he is too busy on his phone. Or the fact he never comes to see you after injections. Despite all the negative comments I know he does have a good heart and will give you the best care. You cant have everything in life..I would reccomend him to anyone because he is a smart doctor, but dont expect any respect even from the staff. In the beginning thay treat you like gold, but afterwards your just a number.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Douglas Spiel is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Edison, NJ.