Dr. Mary Latimer MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

4.0
  • 54 patient ratings
  • 20 comments

Last 12 months:

3.7 (-0.3)

20 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    63%
  • Satisfied
    13%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    11%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    13%
  • Wait Time 32.9 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
September 9th, 2016
Steer clear
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
While her technical medical skills may be good, I would never recommend that anyone see her. Her follow-up (or lack thereof) and lack of regard for patient care is nothing short of medical negligence. Once she determined that my brother did not have PANDAS (her speciality), she completely lost interest in his case, and nearly 2 months later we are still waiting for a formal medical report and testing results to be sent to other physicians in order to complete additional testing and diagnosis. In the meantime, my brother remains untreated and in an acute state and the family has not been given enough guidance or recommendations on next steps in the meantime, despite repeated emails and calls. Her office staff has also been barely cooperative, and we have resorted to withholding final payment in order to try to prod them into sharing the results.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 1st, 2016
Dr. Latimer: Outstanding doctor
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Latimer is a one-in-a-million type of professional. She is in touch with the latest research, she actively sees patients, and she is publishing and presenting internationally to further effective treatments for a rare medical illness. Her brilliance is the type of help that you want on your side if you have a child with a rare and often times misunderstood crippling illness. We have two children who she has helped when no one else could do so. Our family will forever be indebted to her insightful efficacious treatments and medical care. We only wish she could expand her practice and train a team so more children could benefit from her experience and expertise.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 27th, 2016
STAY AWAY!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Complete quack! Put our child through plasmapheresis with zero office visit, no followup whatsoever and neglected to inform us that an IVIG was the proper course soon after. Hence the procedure failed - and what we put our kid through. Wow. I'm putting this up because there needs to be an honest review of this person with no holds barred. There are MYRIAD other doctors better suited to dealing with your kids. Go to them. Do yourself a humongous favor!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 28th, 2015
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Wait time is long, but it's because she spends the time necessary with patients instead of rushing important diagnoses and explanations just to stay on a schedule. The staff is very helpful about informing patients of long wait times and suggesting places in the area to spend time before an appt.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 19th, 2015
Best pediatric neurologist in the country!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Hands down the best pediatric neurologist we've ever seen in our long battle with adhd and add with our 5 year old kid.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 6th, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Extraordinary doctor. Worth every penny and more.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 8th, 2015
Improvement when no one else could even figure out what was wrong!
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She is a wealth of knowledge about an illness no one else seemed to be able to figure out, with regards to my son. She has been right on with every recommendation and we are seeing improvement we thought was out of reach. Things are not perfect, but compared to where we were 2-3 years ago...so grateful for her guidance and knowledge. You do need to stay on top of paperwork, prescriptions, forms etc. As it is difficult to get those completed if you are not there in the office. If you know that ahead of time, you can avoid that issue and have them completed at the time of the appointment. Super grateful for her knowledge to help us get our son back to us.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
May 8th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The door to her office was open during the appointment and the secretary heard everything. Diagnosis was right on, and she was very knowledgable and understanding.. Follow up seems to be a little lacking.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
May 7th, 2015
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Waited 1 1/2 hours past appt time for both visits
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
March 4th, 2015
surprised by all these negative reviews
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My child had an neurological condition (No, not PANDAS) that was misdiagnosed by many other doctors. Other doctors wouldnt even make the time to see us...but she did the day we called...and made the proper diagnosis in minutes. Subsequent testing has definatively confirmed this diagnosis. I tried in-network doctors over the years, but it never worked out. Dr. Latimer has always been there for us when other in-network neurologists failed to act in emergency situations time and time again. But yes, it does cost $$$, so be prepared.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 19th, 2014
Disturbing experience
If you take your child to Dr. Latimer, be prepared to be told that he/she may have PANDAS/PANS. This is a rare condition whereby the strep virus gets into the brain of a child. My son was having stomach aches and headaches for about 2 months, and Dr. Latimer told us very few things cause both of us. She had him do an MRI that day, which was normal. She said he has some "facial ticks", which theoretically is possible to a minor extent but no one doctor or family member had ever noticed them. She then says that she's not trying to fit every peg into the same shape hole, BUT ... he may just happen to have the one controversial thing she specializes in: PADAS/PANS. She then proceeds to write him a prescription for Augmentin antibiotic, telling us to try for 2 weeks and then maybe more will be needed, all on her completely unfounded suspicion of a highly unlikely diagnosis that, again, happens to be her specialty. If you're looking for something, you're going to find it. I was a nervous wreck looking into this uncertain/new issue, which can involve long-term neurological damage and the diagnosis and treatment of which is highly uncertain and controversial (months of antibiotics some suggest!). Turns out my son was having headaches purely for mechanical reasons (neck tension), which was relieved by physical therapy. And his stomach aches were due to the most common of issues, constipation. Why a child can't have 2 common things going on without being diagnosed with something extremely rare by a well respected doctor is beyond me. I do NOT recommend this doctor unless you are certain your child has neurological issues that need to be addressed by a neurologist!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 10th, 2014
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
We were lucky enough to be referred to Dr. Latimer by a psychologist we were seeing due to major behavioral changes (very sudden onset OCD) in our daughter. Dr. Latimer diagnosed our daughter with PANDAS 1 1/2 years ago-she is an amazing and caring doctor who has literally given us our daughter back. When we called with concerns about subsequent strep infections and a relapse of symptoms, she and her office staff replied promptly, got us in to see her and she prescribed a steroid burst which stopped the symptoms right away. We have found her to be extremely thorough and knowledgeable. Our experience has been very positive, Dr. Latimer and her entire staff are extremely dedicated and very professional.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Mary Latimer, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Bethesda, MD.

Doctor

Dr. Thomas Hougen

45 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Charles Conlon

37 years experience

4.8 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Jody Green

33 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor