Dr. Edward Shen MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

4.3
  • 11 patient ratings
  • 7 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 0.7)

7 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    82%
  • Satisfied
    0%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    18%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Wait Time 34 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 7 reviews

5.0 of 5
September 30th, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
my entire experience with dr. shen, his staff and all those at queen's heart center in honolulu was excellent. they were all very caring, professional and gave me great confidence regarding the success of my procedure.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 11th, 2015
Top Notch, Caring Cardiologist
Wait time
55 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have seen Dr Shen each quarter since mid-2004 when he saved my life. Four months earlier another cardiologist inserted an undersized (defective) stent in my heart. That stent collapsed and began restricting proper blood flow. Fortunately Dr Shen, who was highly recommended was available to care for me. Dr Shen inserted a larger and proper type of stent inside the defective ( 50 cent kind) that the previous cardiologist had inserted, which had collapsed. Since May 2004, my heart has functioned properly. Aside of some current artery clogging of which is being taken care of at Queens Med Cen. Dr Shen remains on the top of my list for Highest Quality Cardiologists. He's Darn Good, thank God!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 30th, 2015
Best Doctor ever I could not say Thank you enough !!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Doctor and staff both are great . I had a wonderful visit every Time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 13th, 2014
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Waiting time just to get a first time appointment was over a month. The staff is very friendly. But waiting times are extremely long. Once in the examination room it still took a long time to be seen by Dr Shen only to have him spent less than 5 minutes going through my case. Didn't seem to review my previous tests or take any time to address my questions and concerns. Very disappointed with his bedside manners and not taking the time to discuss a differential diagnosis. It takes about another month just to get a follow up visit. Would recommend this doctor at all. Really bad experience overall.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 20th, 2013
Justice (ret.) Hawai'i Supreme Court
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Shen is a n exceptional doctor with excellent diagnostic skills and a warm bedside manner. As a result he has many patients, each of which is important to him and demands his full attention. Sometimes there is a waiting period in his office because another patient in the hospital needs more attention than expected by the doctor. This is to be expected when a doctor with Dr. Shen's skills is your doctor. Many patients need him, for good reason--he saves lives. If he is your doctor, you are very fortunate. I know I am.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 29th, 2012
Dr Shen slow to boat to China
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Waited 4 hours in his office to see Doctor. Not cool. Very common this Doctor is busy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 12th, 2010
Rating from a Patient's family member
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My dad was recently referred by his primary physician from the Big Island of Hawaii to Dr. Edward Shen. Dr. Shen was very courteous and professional in his dealings with my dad and our family members. He accurately diagnosed my Dad's heart issue. He was very caring with all of us, and I would certainly recommend him to others requiring his professional care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Edward Shen, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Honolulu, HI.

Doctor

Dr. Lisa Wong

19 years experience

4.4 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Lana Arakaki

9 years experience

3.4 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Denny Bales

38 years experience

4.8 of 5