Dr. Edward Simmons MD Patient Reviews

  • Orthopedic Surgery of the Spine Buffalo, NY

Overall Rating

3.6
  • 49 patient ratings
  • 17 comments

Last 12 months:

no change

49 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    49%
  • Great
    14%
  • Good
    6%
  • Poor
    8%
  • Bad
    22%
  • Wait Time 22.6 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

3.0 of 5
April 19th, 2017
sold out to corporate
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been a patient for many years. Was very happy with this doctor & staff until about a year ago. Terrible experience since physician" sold out" to corporate, he lost his dedicated office staff, Tanya ,Denise, Anita, & Deanna & now the office is a joke. NO ONE returns calls or cares about the patients. it's all about $$$.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 5th, 2017
post operative infection
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
after 4 days post op I called the office to speak with Dr Simmons. I was not feeling well after anterior fusion of the cervical 6/7. I was given to the PA-physicians assistant who belittled me on the phone telling me that I was exaggerating my symptoms and I wasnt a doctor literally raising her voice telling me my symptoms were normal. I advised I had two previous fusions where I did not feel ill afterwards. Something is wrong. 2 days later I was rushed into the hospital by ambulance because I could not get out of bed. An severe infection had proliferated systemically. I spent 2 months in the hospital with near death experiences. had severe edema, thrush developed, vital were extremely low. I acquired heart damage and damage to adrenal glands. This PA was negligent in her actions and is a reflection of the physician Dr. Simmons. I asked for Dr. Simmons I got an inexperienced uneducated PA with an ego. I should have filed a complaint with the dept of professions. Before choosing this physician assure that the PA is qualified experienced and if they dotn listen t you go elsewhere
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 3rd, 2017
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Good people very classy
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 25th, 2016
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was very impressed at my new patient appointment from the personell at the check in window to the medical assistant, and the PA that I saw . FYI the xray tech Theresa was the nicest one I have ever had the pleasure to be xrayed by. That girl deserves a RAISE!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 27th, 2016
Had my surgery 11 years ago
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is an amazing surgeon. He fixed my spine. No need for pain killers or subsequent surgeries. He runs a tight ship and while his bedside manner is a little brisk, I wasn't there to make friends. I'm sure we both have enough friends. For a surgeon, I want a professional, not a joker. A + Dr. Simmons!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 29th, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Office staff went out of there way to get surgery authorized by my insurance company. The dr. is very patient, knowledgeable, & understanding.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
October 16th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This surgeon is excellent. I highly recommend him. He fused me from L-3 to S-1 and I feel much better.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
September 18th, 2012
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
good experience, friendly staff, doctor has excellent bedside manner-explained all options in a way the average person could understand

5.0 of 5
January 27th, 2012
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Simmons has been my back doctor since my accident 3 years ago and I have had 2 surgeries. He has been really great. Patient doctor. I am feeling way better now. last appointment I got new assistant Tonya who was very nice. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 5th, 2012
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Rude staff and constantly reschedule my appointments on me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 16th, 2011
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Simmons has really helped me. I have a complicated problem. He really has followed me along and stuck with me. He told me the truth about me back problems. no sales pitch.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
November 10th, 2011
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was under Dr. Simmons' care for scoliosis for a number of years. I have no complaints with the care I received. I am generally doing well and am managing associated pain. On my last visit, I was told that yearly visits weren't necessary. I could call if I had a flare-up of pain. When that flare-up happened, I was told I could see Dr. Simmons in three months. Thankfully, I worked through it, but decided to keep the appointment. The day before the appointment, I was called and the appointment was cancelled because I needed to be seen as a new patient because it had been so long since I'd been seen. Fair enough, except the next available appointment was THREE MORE MONTHS in the future!! So...you wait SIX MONTHS to see this doctor if you follow directions when you're doing well?? I'm currently in the process of finding a new doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No


Nearby Doctors

Dr. Edward Simmons, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Buffalo, NY.