ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Edward Whelan III Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Edward Whelan III?

Colonoscopy

Get the facts about colonoscopy, including how and why it's done and doctors who perform the procedure.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Edward Whelan III?

Ratings and Reviews

29 Ratings with 7 Comments

  • Excellent
    19
  • Great
    3
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    3
  • Excellent
    19
  • Great
    3
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    3

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
11.9 min

Showing 29 Ratings with 7 Comments

3.0 Rating

April 15th, 2017

Poor Post Operative Care

Did his usual competent hip replacement job in the operating room but when the incision became infected, he treated it repetitiously and ineffectively for 4 months. I finally saw my primary care physician who cured it in 2 weeks. His current office on Stephenson has no x-ray facility as did his former office at the main Optim facility on Eisenhower, which was convenient and quick. Now if x-rays are required, you must go to Coastal Imaging for more paperwork, expense and waiting.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 25th, 2017

Very competent
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me

5.0 Rating

July 10th, 2014

Amazing hip MD

Great Hip MD. Had surgery in May and was back to normal within a few weeks. Very kind, compassionate Doctor. Highly recommend! Hips are his specialty.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 28th, 2013

2nd hip replacement

After replacement of right hip and many issues with it, went to Dr Whelan and had him replace left hip using anterior method. What a difference in the recuperation. Walking in my kitchen with no help after 3rd day. It took more than four weeks to get to this level the first time. Dr. Whelan is tops and several friends have had the same experience, one had both hips replaced and was out on the dance floor in just three weeks. Can't say enough of this doctor and his staff.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 14th, 2013

Dr. Whelan did my hip for me way back in 2000. I had had two hip replacements on that hip prior to that - one in 1971, in Boston, and in 1990, in Atlanta. After my family and I moved to Savannah, I asked my wife, who was a nurse in one of the hospitals, to ask the nurses on the orthopedics floor who they would go to if they had to have a hip replacement. Their answers were pretty much unanimous - "Dr. Whelan!" After I had my first visit with him, I knew I had the right person. When my second hip gave out, he did the hip replacement for me. It has been over 13 years now, and my hip has served me well. I don't remember much about my surgery or my hospitalization, except it had been a good experience. I would go back to him in a heartbeat if we didn't live so far away now (Minneapolis, MN). He is a good man, a good doctor, and a good surgeon.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 2nd, 2013

Sir Edward truly knows how to make a hip work again.

drove to savannah arriving at the hospital at seven a.m. was wheeled into the surgical suite and waved to eddie as he scrubbed. 90 minutes later I am in recovery. an hour later I am in my room. later I walked down the hall. the next morning climb stairs. and could have gone home that afternoon, but doc eddie smiled and said why don't you sleep over and have room service. next morning road home, shotgun. don't doubt my word. this guy is for real and so dadgum pleasant...

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 29th, 2013

After doctoring for about 2 years for a bad back in Port Huron, MI, I went to Georgia to visit my son and family. I went to a back doctor who told me right away that it wasn't my back but my hip. I was lucky enough to be referred to Dr. Whelan for a total hip replacement about one year ago. I cannot say enough about this wonderful doctor. I was operated on a Friday, went home on Sunday and walked with a walker for a couple of weeks, (it could have been less but I had a bit of a fear of letting go of the walker). The physical therapist came in on that Thursday and making a long story short, I went up 18 steps to my bedroom. WOW! I felt like a little kid just learning to walk. I then used my cane for 3 weeks and I was on my own power. I recommend this wonderful man 150% Thank you Dr. Whelan. I'm still talking about you in Michigan.

Wait time
5 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 4th, 2017

4.0 Rating

March 13th, 2017

5.0 Rating

August 3rd, 2016

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

April 18th, 2016

5.0 Rating

March 23rd, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Edward Whelan III is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Savannah, GA.

  • Dr. Gregory Kolovich

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Savannah, GA 0 mi

    4.6
    (36)
    6
  • Dr. Thomas Alexander Jr

    Sports Medicine, Orthopedic Surgery, Residency

    Savannah, GA 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    4
  • Dr. Jonathan Christy

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Savannah, GA 0 mi

    4.6
    (14)
    9