Dr. Eileen Oreilly MD Patient Reviews

  • Medical Oncology New York, NY

Overall Rating

3.4
  • 31 patient ratings
  • 9 comments

Last 12 months:

no change

31 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    42%
  • Great
    13%
  • Good
    10%
  • Poor
    10%
  • Bad
    26%
  • Wait Time 48.2 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
June 9th, 2017
No interest in patients, more interested in research and teaching than in patient care
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was in her care (or rather uncare) for over a year she never sat during the consultations and my questions were rarely answered Even in difficult situations,she has never been in the room for more than 20 mins A few patients labeled her a cold fish, how right ! She functions well maybe in the Msk mill but not as a caring doctor How can she be still employed by such a reputable institution with the types of reviews about her Pancreatic cancer patients should stay away from her ! She is probably a medical convention rat, giving the most empty talks among experts
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 23rd, 2017
Total Mess
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Her office is very disorganized. I hope this review helps others so they don't have to go through what we did in terms of the hassle of getting accurate information on medical summaries (she delegates too much without reviewing the work properly), promptness (over 2 hour wait time), arranging follow-ups (unclear directions regarding next steps), and care (rude staff - we encountered at least 2 people who were inconsiderate). Total chaos.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 23rd, 2017
Total Mess
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Her office is very disorganized. I hope this review helps others so they don't have to go through what we did in terms of the hassle of getting accurate information on medical summaries (she delegates too much without reviewing the work properly), promptness (over 2 hour wait time), arranging follow-ups (unclear directions regarding next steps), and care (rude staff - we encountered at least 2 people who were inconsiderate). Total chaos.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 6th, 2016
She saved my life!
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I, my family and especially my father-in law have no clue what the previous review is talking about. I write it off to the stress and emotional strain that cancer places on us. Dr. O'Reilly is a supreme professional who has dedicated her career to dealing with the deadliest of cancers. She saved my life! Yes it's difficult to get an appointment but it's also difficult to buy the new Tesla. Her staff is superb, attentive, and extremely helpful. This is life and death and the odds are remarkably improved when you go to Memorial and have one of its best Oncologists. She's not at all cold, she's busy! Her sweet Irish brogue takes getting used to but she makes sure you understand what's going on and her staff nurses always follow up. This is simple. You want to go to a place who has doctors that are not guessing! Know exactly what's going on. I love this doc! Cancer hates her. But as is true with everything in life nothing is garanteed, but a great fighter is nothing without his great trainer.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 13th, 2016
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
What a horrible doctor who is as cold as ice. Very sorry, looking back that we stayed under her care. Not sure she's even an oncologist. On one of her experiments to make her statistics and data good. Didn't give a rats behind about the patient. What a nightmare. Never cared about the patient. Go to anyone else for pancreatic. If i could have given a zero instead of ones I would.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 27th, 2015
NO CERTIFICATION AS AN ONCOLOGIST
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr O'Reilly is a graduate of Trinity College in Dublin< Ireland , She is not a board certified oncologist either in Ireland or the US. She professes to be an expert in oncology...reality is she is a marketer of herself and touts being highlighted in Castle+Connolly's 100 Best Doctors..which is merely a popularity contest amongst doctors...the doctors are the ones that rate eachother. There is no feedback from patients or a look at success and failure of her treatment. Cold, uncaring demeanor....she enjoys talking about giving talks at professional meetings. Stay away from this very strangely odd woman.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
May 7th, 2015
A Teaching doctor
Doctor O'Reilly has a pleasant demeanor and is know as a "Great Doctor" in Sloan Kettering by those around her. She will not spend as much time with patient as most other doctors but she is thorough and knowledgeable. To me, she seems so driven to teach her young interns around her that it affects the family of patients with cancer. When final stages of Cancer takes its toll, she will send her interns to do most of contact with dying patient to give young docs experience and teach them. This is a terrible feeling as if the patient is being used as a medical exhibit. A good person dying of cancer does not need to be "observed" by up to six people at a time to learn. The patient needs his/her doctor by their side more than interns. In my opinion , she is a very good doctor who is so driven to teach it affects her support.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 1st, 2015
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
If I could have given a zero I would have. Had to wait 2 weeks to get results of test. Totally disinterested in my moms care. This was a crisis for my family and she was extremely cold and had no bedside manner. One of the worst sorry we were in an experimental study, too much suffering.

1.0 of 5
March 12th, 2015
GOD WILLING
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
EXPERIENCE WAS CHILLING....everything said was prefaced by God Willing...ie., the chemotherapy may be effective, God willing...very little time spent with patient..even though dr was consistently late...never called to see how patient was after having emergency treatment and hospitalization...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 18th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 18th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
April 23rd, 2017
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Eileen Oreilly, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near New York, NY.