Dr. Elise Carman MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.2
  • 36 patient ratings
  • 13 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 1.8)

13 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    44%
  • Satisfied
    11%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    8%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    36%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 18.9 minutes
  • Promptness
  • Bedside Manner

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
April 29th, 2016
Awesome Doctor
Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been a patient of hers for over five years. She has been a confidant and a great Doctor. Only complaint is that her old receptionist, I think h ...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
March 12th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I would recommend Dr.Carman to anyone looking for a smart, presentable, knowledgeable and approachable gynecologist. Both the doctor and staff were warn, friendly and knowledgeable. Dr. Carman has a great bedside manner. This is especially important for teens that need to start seeing a gynecologist. Doctor-patient relationships are crucial for nervous teens and the comfort of all patients in general.. Dr,. Carman ranked highly in this department. The only suggestion or constructive criticism I would make is that I would prefer to see the nurses and support staff to be dressed in scrubs or wearing lab coats over their clothing. It is preferable and more professional /sanitary for the nurses or anyone interacting with patients to be dressed appropriately.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 22nd, 2015
Worst Experience Ever!
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After finding out that I was pregnant we decided to move to the suburbs so I wanted a new doctor. I settled on Carman because of convenience and soon discovered it was not a wise choice. She has horrible bedside manner and communication skills. Because of her I almost missed my first trimester screening. Also, during one of my visits she was having trouble hearing my baby's heart beat. As I lay there crying she walks out of the room, comes back and rushes me out to get a vitality test done at the ultrasound place down the road. She never once said anything comforting or explained that this does not necessarily mean the child was miscarried. Lucky I did hear the heart beat at the ultra sound and everything is alright. When I returned to tell her, she made me wait an hour, came in the room and said "hmm not sure why I couldn't hear it" with no compassion or apology what so ever. I took my paperwork and started going to a new doctor that day!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 22nd, 2013
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very unprofessional. Gave differing advice on several occasions. The doctor was very condescending and made no effort to hide her judgement. I will never go back.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
June 27th, 2012
been with her for7 years
Wait time
20 minutes
I think this doctor is professional and she did a great job delivering my son. While including me,in the experience. I would love for her to deliver my next child.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 30th, 2012
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She's amazing!! love her to pieces!! Have been treating with her since 2006.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 19th, 2011
Extremely Disappointed
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Carman does not have good bedside manners, unprofessional, and sarcastic. My experience was not a good one. She should not have her own practice. She should work under someone more experienced so she could learn something.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 17th, 2011
Good experience
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My first visit I only waited 5 minutes and Dr Carman listened very attentively to all I said. Thorough exams and follow-ups were done. Encouraging and optimistic attitude and professional advice.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
October 1st, 2010
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Carmen tends to be a bit abrasive and have a terrible bedside manner.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 16th, 2010
patient
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Absolutely the worst doctor I have ever been to. Unresponsive, rude and incompetant. I am 28 years old. found a lump in my breast, went to see her an ...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 7th, 2010
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The best ob/gyn I've ever dealt with! She cared for me and my baby as if we were family!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 8th, 2010
Rude, Crude, ATTITUDE!
Wait time
15 minutes
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor is AWFUL! As a young, NOT sexually active girl experiencing my first visit with a gynecologist I was a bit uncomfortable and I gave Dr. Carman OBVIOUS hints that I needed to be put at ease. Instead, when doing our intial consultation she repeatedly questioned my virgin status by her snide remarks and seemed to get an attitude with me when I expressed, in what I feel was a very mature manner, that I am not currently interested in dating any young men as I want to focus on my life and school. She seemed to find it impossible to believe that I could be an upstanding young person! She didn't beleive that I have never taken drugs, or had sex, and kept asking me if I was pregnant - I have never been so offended in my ENTIRE life! Examination time was no better, she was VERY rough and not thorough at all. I swear she tore something inside of me with her abrasiveness! Then when I tried to explan to her my difficulty with menstrual cramps and how I would like some advising in the matter - she insisted on pushing birth control pills after I clearly stated I DID NOT want nor need them, and that I am afraid to take them due to the risk of developing a blood clot as this is a high risk among the women in MY family. She looked at me like I had 20 horns growing out of my head when I stated these very real and legitimate concerns surrounding the use of birth control. She used any opportunity to brag about herself and her accomplishments and turned any and every form of small talk into a dissertation about how lame I am and how I SHOULD have done things in my life (all non medical I might add-- just about what school I am enrolled in and what I decided to study!!!). She is a jealous woman and incompetent physician and she made me recognize that a male OBGYN may not be such a bad idea after all. I never saw her again, would never recommend her, and want nothing to do with her.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Elise Carman, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Montclair, NJ.

Doctor

Dr. Silvana Gaudino

34 years experience

4.4 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Karen Dias-Martin

32 years experience

3.8 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Reginald Jenkins

43 years experience

3.8 of 5