The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Ellen Shapiro Is this you?

Filter Reviews

18 Ratings • 5 Comments

3.7
  • 10
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1
  • 4

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
43 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Ellen Shapiro?

Showing 12 of 18 Ratings

Three Stars

Posted on May 18th, 2016

Dr. Shapiro is very good at what she does. However, she is WAY over scheduled and you often have to wait for hours to get in.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Trusting

Posted on June 29th, 2012

When my daughter was born the pediatrician told me she needed to have surgery on her kidney and recommended Dr. Shapiro. A few pediatricians scared me about my daughter's condition and the Internet didn't help either. Dr. Shapiro eases my mind about the situation and she explained in detail what my daughter had and the surgery she needed. She seemed extremely knowledgeable and caring. She even went to see us at the hospital even though she was on vacation. My daughter is scheduled to have surgery soon and I know I can trust Dr Shapiro.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

disturbing

Posted on May 17th, 2011

We waited a total of 7 hours for 2 visits with my 7 month old baby. He had to have surgery with Dr. Shapiro. The stitches were done extremely poorly and his wound began opening very soon after the surgery. During our follow-up Dr. Shapiro did not even know what incision she was looking for. I'm sure she would be a competent doctor, but unfortunately her staff is boggled and inefficient, and as a result she is often rushed and disconnected. I believe she is better known for her kidney expertise, but for other urological issues we had a horrible experience. I am almost horrified at the care we received with this practice.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Horrible wait time.

Posted on November 1st, 2010

After arriving for a scheduled appointment, we waited over 2 hours to see the doctor. When it started to look like 3 hours we had to leave, without seeing the doctor, to pick up our other child at school. I can understand doctors running 20 or 30 minutes late, but 2 hours, without warning from the staff, is entirely unacceptable. She may or may not be a good doctor, but the total lack of respect for our time has us reconsidering. If you go, be prepared to wait, or find someone else.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dr. Shapiro is the kind of doctor you instantly trust

Posted on October 9th, 2008

She was kind, gentle and knowledgeable with my baby. After just one visit, I feel like I can really trust her. I really recommend her!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on June 24th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on March 3rd, 2017

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Four Stars

Posted on March 22nd, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on October 5th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on July 17th, 2015

Five Stars

Posted on March 11th, 2015

Five Stars

Posted on October 19th, 2014

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Ellen Shapiro is similar to the following 3 Doctors near New York, NY.