Dr. Ellis Schwied MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.0
  • 19 patient ratings
  • 11 comments

Last 12 months:

3.3 (+ 0.3)

11 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    42%
  • Satisfied
    0%
  • Neutral
    5%
  • Dissatisfied
    21%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    32%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 18.3 minutes

Showing 1 - 11 reviews

2.0 of 5
April 17th, 2016
My parents made me go see him after I was having some problems, and while I don't think he is a bad person, he wasn't a good doctor. i tried nearly 6 antidepressants in I'd say 4 months of seeing him. Also I dreaded the sessions because I just never felt comfortable opening up and my instinct was right because he would literally talk about himself and his life for nearly all of the appointment.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 28th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Schwied literally saved my life. My son died suddenly and on a moments notice Dr. Schwied was there to treat me and put me in his immediate care. I could not have gotten through the worst time in my life without him. Thank you E.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 22nd, 2011
Best Psychiatrist in the business, Very smart, easy to talk to True professional !
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
DR. Schwied is a great Psychiatrist I missed my first appointment, I called him later that day with an emergency due to a very close friend passing. I left a message and was called the next morning and Dr. Schwied made time for me without knowing me or if I would even keep my appointment and was still able to get to know me and do a proper analysis based on his skill and knowledge he is very easy to talk to and can read you and understand right away. There is no way you could say anything bad about this doctor he makes you feel like a human being not just another patient to deal with he really gets to know you and asks the right questions. I plan on going back and would recommend him to anyone that likes a Psychiatrist to actualy listen and get to know you so they may be given experienced Psychiatric care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
July 18th, 2011
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Schwied is a very nice man. I had to stop having him as a doctor though, I feel as he must have narcolepsy or something! He often started dozing off during sessions, I've never had anything like that happen to me, it was odd and I didn't even know what to say. I thought he was great until he started doing that. And I also noticed when coming to talk about my medications I always felt like I was pulling teeth, he would always say well what do you want to do? Well, I don't know, you're the psychiatrist, that's why I come here. I don't know enough about other medications. But honestly have a psychiatrist that is going to fall asleep on me isn't acceptable. He is a very nice man, and at times I felt I had finally found a good psychiatrist here in CA, but then he started falling asleep..
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 27th, 2011
former patient
Wait time
5 minutes
Promptness
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I agree with both the boundary issues comments as well as over prescribing meds -- just keep adding more if what you have isn't working. That is, if his records are organized enough to know that you're actually taking. Even more unnerving is the occasional lapse of patient confidentially. It may be occasional, but creates big problems.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 28th, 2010
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I would never recommend Dr. Schwied. He has boundary issues.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 21st, 2010
Dr Ellis Schwied M.D. a noteworthy and remarkable medical doctor
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Schwied is a brilliant man. He has a very caring nature. He is a remarkable businessman and medical doctor. I have know him for 13 years. He singlehandedly kept me against my will from several suicide attempts. I highly recommend him to anyone who wishes to make an appointment and walk through his office door. You will not be sorry.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 4th, 2010
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Schwied is a very outgoing, charming man. However, he has a serious problem with keeping his personal life/problems to himself. He involves his patients in his personal life, even revealing details about his sex life. While he seems to care deeply about his patients, he really uses them for his meet his own needs. I would not recommend getting sucked into such an arrangement.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 10th, 2010
Ellis Schwied is a Fraud
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Whomever this man is, he needs to have his medical license revoked. He is a nutjob. He clearly mis-diagnosed me and four other friends. Four other friends! We all had to go elsewhere, I wish I could have my money back. Watch out for this scam artist.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
April 5th, 2010
Horrible Pdoc Trust Me
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Ellis Schwied is pretty unprofessional and thats being kind. He's one of those Pdcos that will just throw pills at you, not even 'faking' to care about your problems.Save $250 find another pdoc thank me later.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 28th, 2009
Dr. Schwied is excellent
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
I would absolutley refer anyone including family mambers to Dr Schwied. He is an excellent doctor who gives wise advise, and is very educated in his profession. Myself and two other associates of mine see him and we all agree he is a keeper; as it is so hard to find someone you can actually "Get Real" with someone who cares.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Ellis Schwied, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Laguna Niguel, CA.

Doctor

Dr. Taya Varteresian

8 years experience

1.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Tom Noyes

43 years experience

1.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Kent Powell

2.0 of 5