The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Ely Tamano Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Ely Tamano?

Ratings and Reviews

54 Ratings with 12 Comments

  • Excellent
    44
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    7
  • Excellent
    44
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    7

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Wait Time
11 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Promptness
Easy Appointments

Showing 54 Ratings with 12 Comments

5.0 Rating

July 26th, 2017

Kind and caring.

All that my Dementia/Alz plagued husband had been looking for. We found a friend we trust.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 17th, 2016

Have My Brain Back...

I'm dealing with chronic pain & major depression that's related to several issues including 2 parents who were recently put in nursing homes. Dr. Tomano was outstanding in listening to my issues. I had tried every anti-depressant known to man with nothing but side effects and no help. I was prescribed a new medication Viibryd and within days I was feeling much better, after a month I am my old self again. This medication I cannot say enough good things about it especially no side effects well except one, my libido... It has me chasing my wife around the house because I'm so aroused and feeling so good. Dr. Tomano is a true gift from God and has made me enjoy life again. He helped with my chronic pain and severe depression, I would recommend him to anyone dealing with depression or other issues.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 2nd, 2014

Very Disappointed

I was extremely disappointed in Dr. Tamano. I was 15 minutes late to my appointment because I got lost. When I got there he had already called the front desk and said he could not see me. I drove from Missouri to Kansas to see him! And he won't let me schedule any future appointments! Do not recommend him to new patients!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 14th, 2014

I went to Dr Tamano at a very critical time in my life. He spent a considerable amount of time evaluating me and came up with a completely different diagnosis than I had recieved before. It took some time but with his treatment, care and concern, I found myself a making great strides and accomplishing great things in my personal life. I stopped seeing him because I could not tolerate the condescending, rude office staff. I desperately want to see him but I can't get past the front office staff. They treated me in a judgemental manner, made me feel diminished in spite of all of the progress in was making.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 22nd, 2014

Hospital Visits

I was admitted to the hospital. I saw him at least twice out six days while inptient. He was very demanding and, redirecting My answers. There are many incorrect statements in his dictation.

Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 19th, 2013

Mixed Bag

After more than a year of visits, Dr. Tamano was still unable to remember the details I had provided about my past health history and treatment. I spent a great deal of my allotted time answering questions I had already answered several times before. At times, Dr. Tamano seemed scattered, impatient, irritated and unable to filter his own (sometimes harsh) responses, which was very damaging to me as a patient.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 26th, 2013

Awesome, very effective doctor.
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

June 16th, 2012

I would recommend Dr. Tamano - would not say this for just any psychiatrist.
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

November 19th, 2010

An honest and trustworthy psychiatrist

Dr. Tamano will take the time to interview you and find out your full history. His evaluations are right on the money and he diagnosed me when no one else knew what direction to go.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 11th, 2010

A psychiatrist who CARES

I have a long history with psychiatrists and most of them stay detached to avoid transference issues. Dr Tamano is that rare doctor who lets me see the concern in his eyes, who listens intently and allows me options. I am thankful to God that I found this unusual man.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 1st, 2010

Great Psychiatrist

I found Dr. Tamano to be a great doctor. He took time to listen to my clinical and situational symptoms and explained the treatment options with me before deciding on treatment. I would not hesitate to refer my friends of family to Dr. Tamano and in fact have already done so.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 3rd, 2010

Horrible Dr.

Dr. didn't listen to me or beleive me. Based his entire diagnosis on what my STBX wife was saying.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Ely Tamano is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Leawood, KS.

  • Dr. Christopher Van Horn

    Dr. Christopher Van Horn

    Psychiatry, Child Psychiatry

    Leawood, KS 0 mi

    4.7
    (25)
    20
  • Dr. Irfan Handoo

    Dr. Irfan Handoo

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Leawood, KS 0 mi

    4.5
    (27)
    12
  • Dr. Dennis Owens

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Leawood, KS 0 mi

    4.3
    (13)
    35